We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of Hillside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillside Motel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I recently stayed at the Hillside Hotel with a group. There were 10 of us. Although the decor is a bit dated, the rooms were clean, the price was right and the owners were extremely accommodating. We were all on motorcycles and sometimes we find that the stereotype follows us but not so at this motel. They were very welcoming, great with recommendations for places to eat in the area and they have complimentary coffee in the am.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieW41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

I used the previous reviews to book my stay and found the motel to be as described. The room was clean. Yes, the place needs a lot work, but it was convenient and reasonable. There were a microwave, fridge, and stoneware coffee cups in the room. I enjoyed the beautiful flowers planted on the grounds and a view of the ocean. Kant was extremely helpful regarding attractions and directions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopefulinnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

After reading all the reviews we knew we would be staying at this little place and it was good, Mr Kant was so nice and very helpful Only spent one night but it was clean and comfortable. Motel it old and in much need of repair but the service makes up for it. Even had real cups and saucers in room. Glad we stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The room was extremely clean and comfortable. Mr. Kant went out of his way to get us to a good restaurant. He even put on decaf coffe in the morning. Highly recommend this motel.
It was located near restaurants and close to major highways and gas stations

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ED G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Old but well kept up. Fast WIFI and plenty of hot water. Microwave and fridge in the room. Five minute easy drive to the DIgby Ferry. Check out the park just up the street for a view of Reversing Falls.

Room Tip: AJ's just up the road for family dining and all breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We just returned from a trip to New Brunswick and PEI. We stopped in St. John for a night and stayed at the Hillside Motel. It was very pleasant and clean. Kant was very kind and helpful. The hotel was a ten minute drive to the city center and Kant recommended a very good, very cheap place for breakfast right around the corner. I was less impressed with St. Johns.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelriley627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This place is old, but clean and very accomodating. People who can't handle old, and you know who you are, should go elsewhere. We did laundry, commuted back and forth to the City Centre, and visited the Reversing Falls multiple times (a must). We even slept with the windows open. It's that secure. We even came back on our return trip, but it's old.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#8 of 19 in Saint John
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
316 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
3.4 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
582 reviews
2.8 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Motel

Address: 1131-1141 Manawagonish Rd, Saint John, New Brunswick E2M 3X5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Price Range: £43 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hillside Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to exceed your expectations to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Providing the best hospitality is one of our main business. If you need additional service e.g. internet access, fax access, extra towels, extra blankets or pillows please contact Housekeeping or motel manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hillside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Saint John
Hillside Motel Saint John, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing