We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what I was looking for”
Review of Hillside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillside Motel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Twin Mountain, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just what I was looking for”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I was travelling with my dog and wanted a reasonably priced place to stay. Hillside Motel was perfect. It's convenient to the highway (but not right on top of it), the rooms are very clean and mine had a microwave and sink. I had no problem getting on the internet (and staying on). The bed was very comfortable and my bad back is pretty fussy. Mr. Kant was very accommodating and helpful, giving me nearby restaurant suggestions. The motel is also close to the Irving Nature Park, a wonderful place to walk along ocean cliffs or on the beach. I would definitely recommend the motel and plan to stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitemountains_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    89
    31
    12
    16
See reviews for
43
79
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2013

As we were traveling on a budget and with pets and needed to stay for a couple of nights in Saint John we were looking for a reasonably priced place to stay. The Hillside Motel fit our requirements and we were exceedingly satisfied with the service Mr. Kant provided to us. Although the rooms are dated, as had been mentioned in the reviews we read, ours was definitely clean and the beds provided a comfortable nights sleep. The availability of a fridge and microwave in out room was a bonus.

Mr. Kant, besides being a genuinely friendly and accommodating person, is a fountain of knowledge about places to see and eat and did a great job at making our stay a very good experience. Would definitely stay here and again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed one night at this establishment and we had a different experience than the other reviewers. Yes, the Manager was friendly and helpful but I expect more than that.

Unlike others, we had NO Wi-Fi reception at all in our room, no matter what we tried. When I spoke to the Manager he told me I could use my iPad in the Front Office. My husband went to the end of the building closest to the Front Office and had some reception. When hotels etc offer Wi-Fi, patrons should at least be able to access it in their rooms.

The bathroom had no power point for any appliances nor did it have a hair dryer. The front door to our room needs some maintenance - once shut, it was very hard to reopen. Also, when I tried to open the window over the kitchen it wouldn't budge.

Perhaps it may also be time to replace the mattresses as I found mine not too supportive. Our room also looked a little 'tired'.

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonkai48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonia, NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I recently stayed at the Hillside Hotel with a group. There were 10 of us. Although the decor is a bit dated, the rooms were clean, the price was right and the owners were extremely accommodating. We were all on motorcycles and sometimes we find that the stereotype follows us but not so at this motel. They were very welcoming, great with recommendations for places to eat in the area and they have complimentary coffee in the am.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieW41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I used the previous reviews to book my stay and found the motel to be as described. The room was clean. Yes, the place needs a lot work, but it was convenient and reasonable. There were a microwave, fridge, and stoneware coffee cups in the room. I enjoyed the beautiful flowers planted on the grounds and a view of the ocean. Kant was extremely helpful regarding attractions and directions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopefulinnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabrook, Texas
Level Contributor
220 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

After reading all the reviews we knew we would be staying at this little place and it was good, Mr Kant was so nice and very helpful Only spent one night but it was clean and comfortable. Motel it old and in much need of repair but the service makes up for it. Even had real cups and saucers in room. Glad we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The room was extremely clean and comfortable. Mr. Kant went out of his way to get us to a good restaurant. He even put on decaf coffe in the morning. Highly recommend this motel.
It was located near restaurants and close to major highways and gas stations

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ED G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#9 of 19 in Saint John
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Motel

Property: Hillside Motel
Address: 1131-1141 Manawagonish Rd, Saint John, New Brunswick E2M 3X5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hillside Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to exceed your expectations to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Providing the best hospitality is one of our main business. If you need additional service e.g. internet access, fax access, extra towels, extra blankets or pillows please contact Housekeeping or motel manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hillside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Saint John
Hillside Motel Saint John, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing