We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The truth on this Inn”
Review of Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonial Inn
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Moncton , NB
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“The truth on this Inn”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I recently stayed here on Feb 9 , 2013, I will say my stay was ok , I paid for a 3 star Inn and thats what i received. The place could be updated however i wasn't expecting glamerous accomodations. The pool here is really nice and large , it also has a hot tub and sauna, which my kids liked. The stay does come with a Hot continental breakfast so I though this was excellent and we did get a discount on our room as we have a goverment rate. so all i n all , it's not a bad bang for the buck. If you want a 5 star , then pay for one !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LONDON232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    10
    19
    62
See reviews for
20
33
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I have to say I would rather stay in A HOMELESS SHELTER AND LET MY WIFE DO THE SAME .
oh it was our honey moon .the Bridal suite was a complete mess the bed sheets were not changed when I asked for them to be dealt with I was given a look of scorn , and handled a set of sheets not folded so were they even cleaned ? ... the food was disgusting but even that is a kind statement .absolutely the worst place on the planet .. I wish the health board was not bought off by these terrible people this place should be shut down and the owners sued for our money back

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graydon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint John hotels

Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

filthy....if there is a board of health in st.john...they have not inspected this property....1st room had a broken airconditioner.....thick dust and grime...and..for the crowning touch...a thick level of mold both surrounding and in the bathtub.....2nd room had water issues....and the kicker was that the 3rd room offered was renovated and clean.....so....why were we put into the 1st 2 rooms?.the staff was friendly and tried to help....not their fault...the owner was "out of town and unavailable"....run...don't walk from this dump!

Room Tip: choose another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barb s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The sad thing is that the people were very friendly and the place has alot of potential.

The reality is that is it disgusting in every aspect....2 days in the place and I couldn't even bring myself to shower. I paid $89 a night but it's more like a $40 a night cheap motel. The one thing that was amazing was the food....I ate there twice and I seriously ask myself what that cook was doing working in a place like that.

I don't recommend it......not even for free....actually you couldn't pay me to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tom f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chipman
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

we had stayed here before so i didnt think much of it when my husband booked us for the nite. the room was dingy no hot water and the hair blower kept kicking off. the furniture has seen better days and the restaurant was not even open will certainly not stay here again!!!! also we had to ask for a new remote for the tv as the one we had would not work. what an evening when it was suppose to help us relax before i went in hospital. that it most definitely did not do!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 678sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Oh my god... we want to St-John's with our friend because she had to pass a lung's test. So we left from Edmundston in the morning and get there for her test....so we were a little bit tired so ( don't forget that we were only 3 womans and two kids in the car no gps) we find that this Hotel look not bad...from the outside sowe enter there and ask for a room ...they want us to paid right away so...there we are in the room wainting to our friend to call from the hospital...so ...looking under the bed for fun we found..a beer cap...and behind the bed...a mouse trap....and 2 ant trap... behind each bed... terrible hien?? But that,S not even close to my story...my friend's daughter had to blow her hair so...2 times she break the breaker..so
the refrigerator has defrosted and spilled on the carpet of the floor...no hot water in our room and no heat we had to ask for a little heather...the carpet was dirty ...so in our way to the front desk we found a dead mouse in the hallway and the room in the hallway had almost felt on my head...water all over the place in the hallway very nice smell too:( So in the morning we ruch to the front desk and ,...they said to us we appologize but nothing we can do!!

Thanks...we will never come back...picture of the mouse and the ant and mouse trap ...to come!!!

Room Tip: nothing in that room was good ...dirty floor... weird sound.....no heat
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Parise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.3 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 20 in Saint John
553 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
0.9 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 20 in Saint John
285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#3 of 20 in Saint John
951 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Property: Colonial Inn
Address: 175 City Rd | P.O. Box 2149, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 3M9, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colonial Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Saint John
Colonial Inn Saint John, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing