We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal Last Night, Exactly As Expected”

Suwanna Restaurant & Inn
Ranked #26 of 241 Restaurants in Saint John
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Saint John, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal Last Night, Exactly As Expected”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and I, along with two other couples, celebrated a birthday at Suwanna last night. Excellent atmosphere, food and service.

Suwanna Chicken is always a favourite with this group, as is Pad Thai. Green Curry with chicken and another of same with Scallops, and a beef dish, the name of which I cannot remember rounded out the meal, with spring rolls and chicken satays to start.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chipmanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    24
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“awesome food and service!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of enjoying dinner! The food is really good, each element a flavour explosion!!! Staff took excellent care to ensure out experience was enjoyable! I would recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“3 1/2 Stars really.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This used to be our go to place. Always make a reservation. The seating area is actually a few rooms in the main floor of a home with a few tables in each. It is nice and quiet and perfectly lit for date night. We went once when there was a family with children - this is not a place to take children.

Then Splash opened and we haven't been to Suwanna since.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ACD123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Better thai food than you would expect from the land of lobster.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Dinner with friends at this staple of Saint John dining. The service was great and attentive to empty glasses or finished plates. We ordered pad thai + a few curry based dishes and were very pleased with the portion + quality. The wine list was far from extensive, but did the trick nicely. The restaurant is on the West Side of the city. which may be a bit of a trek if you're in town for business or staying at the major hotels downtown, but the locals all rave about the place and recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Another Great Evening at Suwanna Restaurant”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We went to Suwanna Restaurant for dinner this evening with our close friends. Service was excellent, food was excellent and we had an excellent time. Three "excellents" in the previous
sentence......you get the picture! Excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chipmanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Suwanna Restaurant & Inn also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Been to Suwanna Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing