We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not my kind of restaurant”

Swiss Chalet Rotisserie & Grill
Ranked #57 of 236 Restaurants in Saint John
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since our doors first opened in 1954, Canadian families have been coming back to Swiss Chalet generation after generation. Our rotisserie ovens only accept fresh (never frozen), grain-fed, Canadian Grade A chickens, because quality is all we know. So what will it be? A Quarter Chicken with fries?
Ayr, Canada
Level Contributor
359 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Not my kind of restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I can't believe we stopped to eat here but there was not much choice. Pretty well everything close to our hotel belonged to a chain, as did our hotel.

I dislike corporate restaurants because they lack creativity and innovation.

Three of us tried their back ribs and one had a chicken dish. They were 'okay' for this kind of establishment. But it's nothing that I would recommend.

The restaurant was clean and our server was friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kanadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    23
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
“Always a positive dining experience - highly recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I always look forward to dining at the Swiss Chalet (Consumers Drive location) Saint John, NB. The dining experience begins with staff opening the door with a smile and welcome greeting. The staff are always prompt and diligent. The service is excellent and we never tire of the delicious quarter chicken menu with choice of sides cooked to perfection - moist and golden brown.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dfkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Glad we give it a second chance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

August 19, 2013 Arrive 20 mins before 9 PM (closing time) and was told by the waitress we closing in 20 minutes with no options as to can we order and have to leave by 9 PM or the last client is allowed in by 9 PM. Without a word just took us to a table without any comments. We just order the basic, ate and were out of there in 25 minutes. Chicken was okay but the atmosphere was not.

August 21, As Swiss Chalet – you know what to expect and want back. This time we had Jeremy as our host – what a difference. Good mood, accommodating to what we requested. True credit to the service industry. Because of the experience on Sunday I almost didn’t want to return to that Swiss Chalet location.

Rating below is for August 21, 2013

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DC972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent All Around Service & Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Well I must say, after all the places we have "checked out" in Saint John, since we moved here....This is the first one that impressed me. The food was great, the service was excellent. The place was clean and pleasant. The staff was more than helpful. Our waiter Reg, went out of his way to make us feel welcome and checked on us quite a few times. Even offered to refill our water glasses. That doesn't happen usually. The food was great tasting and portions were good. Well priced ,only $35 for us to eat a huge meal. Will be going there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good food, great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

A very friendly waitress was happy to serve us and bring us our meals as soon as they we're ready.
The restaurant was nice and quiet with only a few of us still there for a late supper.
Overall, a nice place for a decent bite to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swiss Chalet Rotisserie & Grill also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Been to Swiss Chalet Rotisserie & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing