We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, basic food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great room, basic food”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We needed an overnight in Saint John which isn't the prettiest town in Canada, but the Hampton Inn is a good place to stay. The room was excellent, complete with microwave and loads of space. Eating out has to be off site but there are a number of options, some of which offer a discount if you are a Hampton guest.
Breakfast was basic, mainly on disposable plates, but for the price the whole package was OK. The main plus was the Hilton standard room and bathroom, as well as plenty of parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello Dave H

Thank your for taking the time to mention our hotel during your visit to Canada. I hope that the rest of your trip was as enjoyable and the you had a safe voyage home.

Dan Myers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    224
    95
    66
    30
See reviews for
273
205
35
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenland, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
204 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Pet friendly, continental breakfast. A little tricky to get to, but well worth the drive, it is located on the edge of what appears to be a reclaimed quarry. The interior is what counts, and everything is clean, modern and up to date. Everything was clean, and provided a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi h603

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit to Canada.

Dan Myers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbellton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Hotel was clean, rooms were clean as well. Pillows were lumpy and beds were a little hard but was a nice stay just the same. We stayed on the east end of saint john which is literally less than a 5 minute walk to the big shopping area which you could see from the hotel being on top of the hill. I ddi not use the pool so I cannot comment on the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ysjsjHampton, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Justin

Thank you for taking time to pass on you comments. Sorry to hear that you did not like the pillows and found the bed too firm.

You are correct about our location. With so many shopping and dining options with in walking distance make our hotel the ideal location when visting Saint John.

Dan Myers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fletcher, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were happy with our room and especially happy with Georgina and Pam in reception. Teresa was very helpful with the delicious breakfast she had made. The view was lovely from our room. We would stay here agin while traveling in Canada.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ysjsjHampton, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello AH

i am very glad you enjoyed your visit to Saint John. Unfortunately, Georgina has moved out west, but i will be sure to share your comments with both Pam and Theresa. They are truly both very sincere people who love what they do.

Hope to see you back in Canada soon.

Dan Myers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle Island, NY
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

First-class facility. Newer construction in developing area near shopping outlet, about a mile (2km) off the highway. High on a hill with fantastic views. We stayed here 2 nights during our vacation in Canada. My 2nd trip to wonderful New Brunswick; my fiance's first visit. We booked a room in advance with an in-room jacuzzi tub for 2 to take advantage of a discount offer (guaranteed & paid in full-no refund if cancelled). We arrived Saturday evening around 9pm after a long day of travel from Long Island, NY. We were both impressed and pleased, and relaxed in the jacuzzi.
As mentioned in previous Tripadvisor reviews, the hotel was busy with groups of children (apparently a big part of the hotel's business; in town for competitions). The children were well-behaved and supervised by adults. Overnight was quiet and peaceful. Our 2nd night (Sunday) the children had left and we seemed to have the whole hotel to ourselves.
Our spotlessly clean room was exceptional. Updated with new carpet, tile floors and new bathroom. Shower big enough for 2 with glass doors, massaging shower head, plenty of hot water, A/C (or heat), remote color cable flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, iron & board, in-room safe and free wifi. Big, plush, comfortable bed & pillows. Relaxing, restful sleep.
Close to downtown St. John. Reversing Falls is about 10 minutes away. Restaurants nearby. Free unlimited hot continental breakfast includes coffee & tea, juices, scrambled eggs & sausage or bacon, home fries, waffles, toast, bagels, muffins, pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit etc. Big seating area with big windows, fireplace & TV. Delightful way to start the day! Indoor pool with slide; hot tub and gym. Free ice. Plenty of free parking. Fresh cookies at the front desk. Friendly, professional staff.
Hampton Inn & Suites in St. John earns our highest recommendation. When we return to St. John we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Hampton Inn means quality!

Room Tip: Couples interested in romance & relaxation should consider booking a room with an in-room jacuzz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRedJonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ysjsjHampton, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello BigRedJonson

Wow! Thank you for such an amazing review. I post all review for our team to see and I am sure this one will be a the talk of the staff room for several days.

Very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you returning to Saint John.

Dan Myers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orleans, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

It was a nice room, clean, fresh and roomy. Service was good, breakfast was well presented. Nicely located in retail area, short distance to downtown and airport approx in the middle of both. All around good experience

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ysjsjHampton, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello Anthony

Thank you for your kind words regarding you recent stay with us.

We look forward to a return visit when you come east again.

Dan Myers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saco
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Let me start by saying that the front desk staff was exceptionally nice to us. However the carpets throughout the hotel in the lobby and halls desperately need to be replaced. Our room was fine. The beds were very clean and it looked like the bathroom was mostly clean, but the floor had not been swept at all. We were going to use the pool but it was quite cloudy and we passed on that. The workout room was just OK with older machines and a tiny space. I'm still undecided as to whether I will return to this property.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi RoamWorld

Thank you for taking the time to relay you experince with us. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some of the flooring within the hotel. Please be assured we will investigate what can be done to improve this.

I will be sure to pass you comments regarding the front desk on the them, they love to hear these types of comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
2.2 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#3 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
2.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Address: 51 Fashion Dr | East Point Center, Saint John, New Brunswick E2J 0A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Saint John
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#7 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Saint John
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Saint John Hotel Saint John
Hampton Inn Saint John
Saint John Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing