We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”
Review of Portland Pub & Steak House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Portland Pub & Steak House
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse, Bar
Restaurant details
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The food is wholesome, tasty & quick. Jennifer & staff are very welcoming. Been many times and still will keep doing so.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brian3802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Went there today (Sept 17, 2013) for supper as it was in walking distance of my hotel. Got a quick beer but the food waitress was more concerned with taking money from the regulars it seemed than in taking my food order. 15 minute wait to order food is not acceptable in my mind. Food was just Ok. There are certainly lots of better places to eat in Saint John.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank abdcfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer19732013, Manager at Portland Pub & Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Sorry that your experience at the pub was not acceptable. As for the wait time, 15 minutes , yes that's not acceptable at all. Thank you for your comments the situation will be rectified

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We arrived in St. John, NB a little late after a half-day on the road, and this establishment was recommended to us by our hotel personnel. It was clean, service was good, and the steak that my wife ordered was both excellent and priced right. I had the Greek salad and baked potato, and both were done well and very satisfying. This is a clean, casual establishment with good service, something for everyone (including vegetarians like me) on the menu, and priced reasonably. We definitely recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank george_shepard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer19732013, Manager at Portland Pub & Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thanks for your visit. Come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I just worked a 9 hour shift and wanted a nice, quick home cooked meal. I ordered a steak and mashed potatoes and really all I wanted was mashed potatoes. Got it picked up by a local delivery company only to open my food to a burnt steak ( I ordered medium) and fries smothered in gravy. I didn't bother even eating it. If I wanted fries I would have went to McDonald's and spent 3 bucks instead of 15. Now I'm exhausted, hungry and have to get up in 8 hours and do it all over again on an empty stomach. Next time I'll take my money and go to sobeys for my own mashed potatoes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank dunphys_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer19732013, Manager at Portland Pub & Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Sorry for the mix up on your takeout. Wish you would have called to report it. Another meal would have been sent to you at no charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just got back from having breakfast at the pub, we had steak ( cooked just the way it was ordered)
eggs, toast and grilled home fries. Service was excellent, and the food hot and yummy. Now that summer is over we are back to our Sunday ritual, breakfast at the pub. Anytime I have been to the pub, I get excellent service, and always good food, and yes sometimes you have to wait, but what place can you go into get a great meal and be out in fifteen minutes, not to many, so yes I defiantly will continue to support the Portland pub.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank debbie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portland Pub & Steak House also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing