We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and charming”
Review of Glynmill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glynmill Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Corner Brook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights with a large group of family and friends for my brother's wedding.

Rooms: The rooms were spacious and clean. The air conditioning worked great but there are no balconies directly attached to the room. However, there are several balconies in the hall you can access. The beds were comfortable and the cleaning staff were great.

Restaurant: We ate breakfast at the restaurant the morning of the wedding and the service was slow but the food was good.

Staff: The staff were really friendly and professional.

Location: It's only a 15 minute walk from downtown and the parking is free at the hotel.

Convention Room: My brother's wedding was in the salon downstairs and the service was excellent. It can only accommodate around 75 people.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gosensgo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2010

Having been booked into Glynnmill Inn I stayed four fours day in total - two at either end of one week - to enable me to go on a local tour.. The hotel was well placed to see Corner Brook and its surroundings. The meals were satisfactory as were the staffs concerns to attend to every request made.

I had one doubt. and albeit that the staff assured me that the room I used had been used during the intervening week, I was not convinced that the sheets had been changed before I returned.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank algysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

This handsome old hotel is one of the finest of its kind in Canada. The Tudor style hotel was built in the 1920's for VIP's and executives. A registered heritage structure with a well earned reputation for class and sophistication, I recommend this hotel for its sheer history and ambiance. The art store located inside the main lobby is fascinating. The surrounding area and city of Corner Brook is lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackcookOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We just got back from a 4 night stay at the Glynwood Inn in Corner Brook Newfoundland.
We loved old charm of the hotel. Built in the 1920's the Glynwood still has many of its original features including light fixtures, woodwork and a grand staircase.
This is not your hotel if you insist on everything up to date and modern, but its character easily makes up for what it doesn't have in the latest trends.
We stayed in the old section of the hotel in a suite where the living room had original harwood floors, the bathroom sported tile from the early 60's and there was a TV but no DVD player. The rooms were cozy and spotless, the beds were extremely comfortable and we considered it a bonus to be able to open windows and sleep with fresh mountain air wafting in.
Breakfast in the main dining room was delicious and reasonably priced. With its large bay window overlooking the Inn's park like setting, the dining room takes you back to the time of grand old hotels.
While some have described the Glynwood as "tired", I disagree. The Glynwood is simply an experience in a different kind of comfort, from a era when people had time to sit out on the wide front porch and take a stroll around the pond before dinner. Consider it part of your history of Newfoundland experience and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CateSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Spent two nights in the Glynmill and thouroughly enjoyed our stay. It is an old Hotel with a lot of character. Very well maintained. Rooms were very clean and spacious, bathrooms were also clean. We enjoyed a very quiet stay. The restaurant is the best in Corner Brook and the service was great. Loved the Glynmill.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilot7700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We were taken aback by all of the good reviews for this Inn because our experience was vastly different. Upon arrival with our luggage in hand, we were met with a front desk clerk who was nothing short of brisk and indifferent. Hoping that our room would transcend our experience at the front desk, we were sorely disappointed. The Junior Suite was horribly dated, in desperate need of a paint job, new carpeting, new furniture and the floor was noticeably slanted -- downhill from the door to the windows! The televisions had been upgraded to flat screens, but this effort was lost on us as we believe they should have invested their dollars into giving this room an entire makeover. On the plus side, the bathroom was clean. Dated, depressing, and dingy, we would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joycar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

This was the first of 5 different hotels we stayed in while visiting Nfld for 16 days.

Stayed a couple of nights late July then a night on our way home in early August.

We ate several times in each of Glynmill's restaurants and had a couple of drinks in their bar a few times.

Good food and service always......great hospitality from the folks who served us .

This was my favourite hotel during our stay in Nfld

I would definately stay here again

Paul, Mitchell, Ont

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corner Brook
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 6 in Corner Brook
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greenwood Inn & Suites
Greenwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Corner Brook
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Corner Brook
Comfort Inn Corner Brook
#2 of 6 in Corner Brook
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Marblewood Village Resort
Marblewood Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Steady Brook
64 reviews
4.7 mi away
Marble Inn Resort
Marble Inn Resort
#1 of 2 in Steady Brook
123 reviews
5 mi away
The Marble Villa at Marble Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glynmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glynmill Inn

Address: 1B Cobb Lane | ., Corner Brook, Newfoundland and Labrador A2H 2V3, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Corner Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Corner Brook
Price Range: £68 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glynmill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Glynmill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glynmill Hotel Corner Brook
Glynmill Inn Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing