We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Good!”
Review of The Rooms Cafe

The Rooms Cafe
Ranked #17 of 378 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Neighbourhood: Downtown
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So Good!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

They Cob salad is best kind. Definitely worth stopping by for lunch! Our server was quick and professional and upon a quick peep at the kitchen looked clean and well kept a major plus in my eyes!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank fabilosity22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    93
    25
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious meal and superb view!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Hard to decide which was the better - the food or the view! A wonderful.meal experience! Get a table by a window for optimum enjoyment.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peace River
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food, SLOW service”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We went at 12:45pm asked for a table was told 30min wait. We decided to wait and had to wait almost 2 hours. We decide not to leave because the kids were so hungry and we didn't want to drive anywhere else because parking down town is a nightmare.
When we finally got seated we had to wait 30min before we got our drinks. Kids were starving.
Finally got our drinks and went to order our food and 2 of the things I wanted to ordered were sold out. Sigh... When we finally got our food it was excellent but not sure it was worth 3 hours of waiting. You need to work on your service because your food is awesome.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“unique and classy”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

While visiting the Rooms you need to make time to enjoy delicious original lunch at The Rooms Cafe. I would go back just for another lunch?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Winning experience”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This cafe was recommended by a food-loving local and our dining experience was a great success. Having already enjoyed a cultural visit to The Rooms we'd decided not to visit the cafe, considering that it wouldn't offer a fine dining experience. Well, we were wrong: it's definitely worth a visit, independent of the exhibits, as the number of local diners at the majority of tables during our visit indicate. If anything, 'cafe' is a misnomer as 'restaurant' is more suggestive of the high level of comfort and service on offer.
This cafe has one of the most stunning views in the world: huge windows are set high above the old town and facing towards St John's harbour and out to the Atlantic. This alone makes it very special. The room is tastefully decorated and very comfortably furnished.The menu is interesting and well-executed, finding a balance between local specialities and international inspirations. The drinks list is comprehensive, featuring local beers and some North American wines. Table service is efficient and attentive, with very hard-working staff. Pricing is fair and offers value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jockswithoutkilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rooms Cafe also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to The Rooms Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing