We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distace to George st. and Water st.”
Review of Duckworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Duckworth Hotel
Ranked #22 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed there for two nights with my husband. The check-in process is rather unorthodox.
They e-mail you a door lock code a few days prior to arrival, and you let yourself in your room with no assistance. We really enjoyed the charm of the old building, and the contrast with the modern fixtures in the room. The bed is very fluffy as well. Our room had a king bed, coffee maker and fridge.
We had no power for almost 24 hours due to the big snow storm, and the inn keeper was very nice. She brough us all a flashlight, and advised us of which restaurant was opend so we could get a hot meal.
If you have a car, it can be tricky to find parking around.

I would definitely stay there again, it was very close to everything , within walking distance of jelly bean row, water st, george st...

Room Tip: Pick a room that does not face Duckworth. We were bothered by the snow removal machines several time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Viviane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie F, Owner at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here and would recommend staying here. Our first night was spent on the 4th floor, the room had a few issues( noisy, no water pressure, weak internet connection). We expressed our concern and were moved to room 302. It was a very comfortable, quiet, clean room with a very comfy bed. The location, price and service were great. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank djbucklerhubarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie F, Owner at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for your review. We have since been able to find out the issue with the water pressure. The shower head was clogged with a build up of minerals from the water and usage over time. Thank you for brining this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel is in a beautifully renovated building right downtown. We loved the location, breakfast was great, our room was super clean and comfortable. We were on the main floor so the noise on the street was a bit loud, but what can you expect being right downtown. the only downfall was trying to find parking close by and having to go back to the meter to top it up during the day. We loved the "access code" feature and even though the code was changed we received an email and phone call updating of this change. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank sbird10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie F, Owner at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I didn't find this place as bad as some reviewers, but I can sympathise with the lugging of the cases up the stairs. They are narrow and steep, and when you get to your room the doors are very heavy, so it does feel a bit of a battle. My room was fine (401), and the bathroom was immediately adjacent. My colleague had the room next door (402) which was next to an air-con extractor and was noisy all night. I slept fine!
My greatest gripe was the breakfast -- quite pathetic, really. If you don't like wheat products you have a choice of tinned fruit or tinned fruit with yoghurt. If I was to go there again I would maybe dump the breakfast option and eat elsewhere.
For exploring St Johns it is in a good location. This part of Duckworth Street isn't the prettiest, but your just a short walk away from prettier views, some great pubs and superb fish and chips.

Room Tip: Try to avoid Room 402 -- the air con extractor is right outside the window and runs constantly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lol4874Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie F, Owner at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

We appreciate your critiques. With regards to our breakfast, we only serve fresh fruit so I am not sure why you had tinned fruit unless you stayed with us during off season. During off season we have placed snacks in the rooms. We have since removed the snacks from the rooms as guests had the misconceived impression that was our usual peak season breakfast as well. We serve a continental breakfast May 15-October 14 only. During this time we try our best to keep everything as fresh as possible and due to our size (12 rooms) we can only carry a limited selection of bread products and keep it fresh. Most guests prefer a choice between white and whole wheat over gluten free, organic, etc. Every room has a mini fridge and coffee maker and all guests are welcome to bring food for breakfast that they require for their dietary needs and avail of the toaster, kettle or coffee maker in breakfast room. Thanks again for your review and we have taken your suggestions into consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We found this "boutique" hotel in The Newfoundland and Labrador Guidebook. It was given a four star rating. When we arrived, we were unable to gain entry because a code is required to open the door. Pressed button, and were let in. We are seniors, and because there is o reception desk, we schlepped our bags up four floors on a very narrow stairway. Our room was clean, and had a most facilities. Unfortunately these left little space for us or our luggage. Breakfast was described as continental, and was adequate. I would recommend to the owners that they put out serving utensils and plates on the self-service table so that guests are not required to walk back and forth from their tables in order to get each portion of their breakfasts. On the plus side, the Duckworth is very conveniently situated for everything downtown St. John's has to offer.

Room Tip: Don't choose rooms by price. Specify clearly your needs. Street noise can be significant, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie F, Owner at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We state on our website that we have stairs and that the building was built in 1892 and was restored in 2012. During restoration the stairs were painted and new runner installed but given the age of the building we cannot do much more than that. Sadly...Building codes do not allow us to install an elevator. Thanks again for your input & time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The property is over 100 years old. Outside it looks a bit delapidated but the rooms inside were quite nice and newly renovated. There is a private dining room which provides an expanded continental breakfast. Part of the charm is the sloping stairs and floors.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D-Trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie F, Owner at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks so much for your review. Guests taking the time to send along their feedback is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a unique place that is not at all a traditional hotel. Check in went surprisingly smoothly considering there is no front desk and it is a key code access for the front door. Rooms were well priced, very clean, and modern. Bed was VERY comfortable. Our only complaint was that the water pressure was dismal. Apparently this is normal for the 4th floor rooms due to the age of the plumbing infrastructure in this 100+ year old building. Centrally located to downtown restaurants, George Street, and the waterfront. It was the best price I could find for a downtown hotel and was thus not expecting it to be as nice as it was. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shandel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie F, Owner at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks so much for your review. We have since figured out the issue with the water pressure in the room you stayed in. We would love for you to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 24 in St. John's
410 reviews
Ramada St. John's
#10 of 24 in St. John's
548 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rendell - Shea Manor
#1 of 25 in St. John's
250 reviews
Hometel on Signal Hill
#5 of 25 in St. John's
211 reviews
Abba Tourist Home
#21 of 25 in St. John's
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duckworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duckworth Hotel

Address: 331 Duckworth St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1G9, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: £44 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duckworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 room boutique hotel located on one of the two main downtown city streets. Fully renovated in 2012, this property boasts the onsite award winning restaurant & bar, Magnum & Steins. Besides the convenience of this location and the onsite restaurant and bar each room amenities include mini fridge, free wireless Internet, in room coffee maker, HDTV televisions, telephones with voice mail & wake up calls, hair dryer, iron & ironing board. Late check ins welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Duckworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duckworth Hotel Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing