We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
57
14
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
14
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small rocket bakery underground parking blackout blinds hotel is modern great harbour great hotel signal hill every morning harbour view two nights yogurt puffins shower amenities lobby location
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Love the puffin mural❣️ Parking garage round back door opens automatically so keep going LOL rooms are well designed with good blackout blinds, toiletries etc Terrific pillows too & very comfie beds. Breakfast was cereal, pastries, fruit, juice and tea coffee etc

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nomadsjandp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeet J, Director Of Operations at Alt Hotel St. John's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Nomadsjandp,

Thank you for choosing the Alt Hotel for your recent stay in St. John's. We absolutely love the puffin glass wall as well!
I would also like to mention that we will be installing parking gates in the near future and this should clarify the entry/exit systems for our guests going forward.

Please come see us again soon.


Best regards,

Jeet Jani
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Alt Hotels have a funky modern vibe but are not luxurious per se. This particular location was only a few months old when we stayed and has a great location right on the waterfront, right next door to Raymond's (which you have to try) on Water St.

Our room had a nice view of the harbour, including Signal Hill (when it wasn't covered in fog!) and the beds were comfortable, with lots of pillows. The room was perhaps a bit small for a family of 4, with not a lot of places to put luggage. The bathroom was also a bit small and lacked counter space, although that's not particularly unusual for this level of hotel.

There is a pool table in the lobby which the kids (mine and others) loved. The continental breakfast served in the lobby had cereals, yogurt and pastries, plus juice, coffee etc. and was enough to get us started for the day. The parking garage is a bit tight for larger vehicles but easy otherwise to get in and out of.

We appreciated the no fixed check-out time but most importantly, we want to thank all staff who helped us manage the leak in our tire, including procuring an air compressor. This kind of assistance really helped to ensure our trip was full of good memories instead of headaches and frustrations. Props to the manager in particular, who was so friendly, helpful, and lovely with our boys.

We would not hesitate to recommend this as a place to stay, whether as a couple or as a family.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sjkski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeet J, Director of Operations at Alt Hotel St. John's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear sjkski,

We appreciate the time you took to write this detailed review of your stay.
It was lovely to have your family with us recently. It was our pleasure to help you with the unexpected challenge and ensure your left with wonderful memories.

Thank you for your recommendation!



Best regards,

Jeet Jani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

We decided to give this hotel a try for our first visit to St John’s. The hotel is fairly new and the room size was just right for us. The hotel is nicely situated on Water St. A short walk to restaurants and bars in the area. We also decided to walk/hike to Signal Hill via the Northhead trail. It was very doable! The continenant breakfast and free parking were a nice inclusion to our 3-night package.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank metito4s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeet J, Director of Operations at Alt Hotel St. John's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear metito4s,

It sounds like you enjoyed some of the best highlights our beautiful city has to offer. We think of the Alt Hotel as the perfect base camp for adventures in and around the St. John's area and your comments reflect this to us.
Thank you for choosing Alt Hotel for your recent stay and for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We hope you return back soon.

Best,

Jeet Jani
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We stayed here as a family in early August and had a wonderful room overlooking Signal Hill and the city's harbour. The room was very modern with floor to ceiling electric blinds.

Location wise it was terrific, right in the heart of downtown St. John's and only a five minute walk from George Street.

Every morning there were fresh pastries from Rocket Bakery for breakfast along with juice, coffee and cereal.

A much better choice than the similarly priced Sheraton (which I have also stayed at) which is an older hotel and much farther away from Downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johnmOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeet J, Director of Operations at Alt Hotel St. John's, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear johnmOttawa,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you found the Alt Hotel as the perfect base camp to explore this wonderful city with your family.

We hope you enjoy your future travels and choose us for your accommodation needs.

Thank you,

Jeet Jani
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Excellent staff, small but efficient rooms, very simple breakfast, good ( and free) internet, great location, excellent parking, big shout-out to front desk staff Jessica, Amy and Bianca for their attention to detail! Way to go!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank selcukny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeet J, Director of Operations at Alt Hotel St. John's, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear selcukny,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We have shared your feedback directly with Jessica, Amy and Bianca, they were each excited to read your review.
Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Jeet Jani
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews