We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful property”
Review of Cabot Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabot Guest House
Ranked #17 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here a few weeks ago for just one night. the room was immaculate and elegant. We had room 1, which had cathedral ceiling over the bed which was super comfortable, a huge chandelier, the bathroom had a huge claw foot tub!! & breakfast cooked to perfection in the morning! It was awesome!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslandGirl1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Cabot Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

We thank you for your kind comments.

We have ended our hot breakfast service and have changed over to a more convenient self serve continental breakfast between 7:30 and 9:30. Dietary habits have changed so much in recent years with many people preferring not to have the smell of cooked pork products or of fishcakes even on the premises. There is a major supermarket complex just around the corner where guests with lactose or gluten intolerance can pick up foods to meet their specific dietary needs. These can be stored in our guest fridge. We should mention, as a cautionary alert, that we often have peanut butter or hazelnut spreads as condiments.

For persons preferring a made to order hot breakfast with multiple selections there is an exquisite restaurant "Hungry Heart Café" just a few hundred feet away from our front door where award winning professional chefs prepare excellent meals at very reasonable prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is my second time staying at Cabot House. The rooms on the second floor are beautifully decorated and appointed, huge beds, comfortable easy chairs. Mikhail will cook you a large breakfast, enough to keep you going for hours and the place is very well-located. I received a list of nearby restaurants and their phone numbers, information about the B&B was comprehensive. Very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: second floor rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arky56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Cabot Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

We thank you for your kind comments.

We have ended our hot breakfast service and have changed over to a more convenient self serve continental breakfast between 7:30 and 9:30. Dietary habits have changed so much in recent years with many people preferring not to have the smell of cooked pork products or of fishcakes even on the premises. There is a major supermarket complex just around the corner where guests with lactose or gluten intolerance can pick up foods to meet their specific dietary needs. These can be stored in our guest fridge. We should mention, as a cautionary alert, that we often have peanut butter or hazelnut spreads as condiments.

For persons preferring a made to order hot breakfast with multiple selections there is an exquisite restaurant "Hungry Heart Café" just a few hundred feet away from our front door where award winning professional chefs prepare excellent meals at very reasonable prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This B&B is a grim experience. Our room was very small located under noisy stairs with grubby rug and bed spread and sealed windows. The tiny bathroom did not even have space for a towel rack and no room to set down toiletries. The staff, obviously not owners, perhaps student caretakers, plunked down unattractive breakfasts without any pleasantries. Staff were unable/unwilling to be helpful and did not know the city. Not all the house appeared to be used by the B&B operation, but for longer term housing. People frequently sat on the front steps or lingered around the house smoking, making for an insecure atmosphere around the house. Very poor value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Cabot Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

There has always been a live in caretaker at our property and never any long term tenants.

Sometimes guests book two rooms and bring children. We have notices asking guests to refrain from smoking anywhere on our property.

Our caretakers rooms are on the back of the property so they would have no way of knowing at that time about the loitering around the front.

Your review moved us into action and we installed surveillance cameras in our foyer and around the exterior perimeter of the property and on a go forward basis any guests smoking on our property will be asked to leave.

We have ended our hot breakfast service and have changed over to self serve continental breakfast between 7:30 and 9:30 so as to give our guests more flexibility.

Both the City and the Province have hotlines with professional bilingual staff to assist tourists with the sights and sounds of the City. Even in a City as small as ours, things change by the day and advice is best left to objective professionals. We provide the telephone numbers to each tourism group in our Guest Room Manual as well as our restaurant recommendations from guest feedback on pricing and quality, TV guide, and detailed contact information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed for a week. The place was clean with a charming atmosphere. No complaints about the service. A decent breakfast to start the day. Great location. We enjoyed how quiet the place is; we were able to relax once back from our long walks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Cabot Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

We thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My boyfriend and I just stayed here on the weekend. For 3 nights.. We arrived in the afternoon and like everyone else, we received our keys and info in an envelope. Here begins the less than Nfld experience. We entered the door and the people working there don't utter a word to us. We have no idea where to go. Shocked that I even have to ask, they sort of chuckle and tell me up to the third floor. We have two big suitcases. But fine.. We go up there. Quite a hike but a really nice room up in the loft. Gorgeous tree views and signal hill. Comfy bed and spacious. We were happy. But like many others, quite perplexed by the impersonal nature of the greeting. Leaves you feeling weird. Was expecting a Nfld kinda greeting.

Our first night there, in the middle of the night, the bed frame collapses on my bf's side. It turned into a ski slope. He was pretty angry since we we tired from all the travel and just needed sleep. The next day we tell the housekeeper that the bed collapsed on one side. He laughed, and said this had happened before. How strange that they wouldn't fix a problem like that.

Then there is breakfast.... Well... We get downstairs at 830am. We are unaware of the protocol. We find the housekeeper in the kitchen. He just looks at us like a deer in headlights. I have to ask for a breakfast. It was so uncomfortable. He says 2 pieces of french toast. I wouldn't dare ask for more since I like to eat. We had to ask the other guests at breakfast where everything was like coffee, cutlery and basically how this all works. Then there wAs no coffee.. I went back in to the kitchen to ask. Again, it was very awkward. We just gobbled up our little ration of breakfast which was tasty and we went in town to eat a real breakfast. Also, a lady came out at 850am asking for breakfast for her and hr husband and daughter. The guy says we only serve til 845am. She comes back with the notes from our envelope stating that they serve til 9am. He then reluctantly went to the kitchen and made french toast. Jawdropping..

That night the room was cleaned and the bed wS fixed. Great. However, they didn't clean our room on our last night. And we had no toilet paper because of this. We used kleenex after that. We just tried to ignore the apathy. Like others have said, these people including the couple from Ukraine are not personable or nice. Very cold.. Certainly not what one would expect coming from Toronto. It is a conundrum for Nfld. the room gets a 4/5 but service gets 0.

You would think that the manager/owner of this place would get it after all these reviews. But it is clear from his rebuttals on here that he is more interested in being right than getting it right.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanna28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Cabot Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

We are very sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.

We have ended our hot breakfast service and have changed over to a more convenient self serve continental breakfast between 7:30 and 9:30. Dietary habits have changed so much in recent years with many people preferring not to have the smell of cooked pork products or of fishcakes even on the premises. There is a major supermarket complex just around the corner where guests with lactose or gluten intolerance can pick up foods to meet their specific dietary needs. These can be stored in our guest fridge. We should mention, as a cautionary alert, that we often have peanut butter or hazelnut spreads as condiments.

For persons preferring a made to order hot breakfast with multiple selections there is an exquisite restaurant "Hungry Heart Café" just a few hundred feet away from our front door where award winning professional chefs prepare excellent meals at very reasonable prices.

We do not provide front desk services, and make that clear in all of our advertising and listings, but we do have a live in caretaker / concierge on site available to assist guests with luggage during their scheduled working hours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This place should NOT be listed as a B&B as it is more a dirty and grey, low income apartment building. There isn't enough space here to list all the things wrong with this place. BEWARE ! If your looking for a pleasant experience and stay.......keep driving as there are many other really nice and "real" B & Bs in the city to take in.

Shame on Cabot !!! For misleading us and charging us $185.00 for a crappynights stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Cabot Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

dirty and grey, low income apartment building?

I am not sure that these people even saw the neighborhood let alone the house.

It is one of City "Great Homes" built by Lord and Lady Bennett at the turn of the century. The ornate plaster moldings have been meticulously repaired by Romanian artisans. The intricate stain glass windows are intact.

Two of our guest rooms are certainly much larger than a typical apartment but they are most assuredly not apartments and are limited to two person guest occupancy.

Visiting royals have stayed in an adjacent property. Prices Charles, Camilla, Duchess of Cornwall, Prince Edward, Countess of Wessex, Anne, Princess Royal.

While we have hosted Federal Government leaders, movie stars, one of the world's most renowned ecologists, and even the Russian Ambassador. we have not knowingly had a Royal as a guest.

The property has only a "Butler's Pantry" as its kitchen. The kitchen had been in the basement and food delivered through the house by dumb waiter which while still intact we sealed it off as we thought it to be a fire hazard. Likewise with our fireplaces. We are contemplating opened them up for ventilation is we have a warm summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The Cabot House is a clean, quiet B&B in a good location in St. John's. Unlike other B&B places, the owners are somewhere else and the house is operated by, according to the notes, a student who comes and goes. We found him friendly but quite often we would want to ask a question and found no one in the house. Being used to a B&B being someone's residence and the owners readily available, we found the Cabot House a bit impersonal. The house is very old and has been upgraded in some places. In our main floor room, only one of the 3 windows would open. In order to get some circulation, we left the bathroom fan going all night. A bit annoying, but should be easily rectified. Also, the garbage can in the room was not emptied during our 3 night stay. Odd.
All in all, we would probably stay there again but with revised expectations.

Room Tip: There are a few different types and sizes of rooms available. Be sure to choose carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdcurler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Cabot Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations.

The property Manager does live on site as well as the building caretaker. There was a student serving breakfast. The property is cavernous and with heavy plaster walls and huge wooden core doors it is difficult to hear people coming and going.

Your garbage can most certainly should have been emptied daily.

We do not provide front desk services, and make that clear in all of our advertising and listings, but we do have a live in caretaker / concierge on site available to assist guests with luggage and any problems. The telephone numbers of both are listed in our foyer and in our Guest Manual.

The providing of tourist information is an ever changing target and best left to professionals. Our guests are provided with City and downtown maps as well as telephone numbers to City and Provincial tourism offices whose staffs have been on familiarization tours to most sites and know their hours of their operation which change by the season, provincial, and municipal holidays. We do provide restaurant recommendations in our comprehensive Guest Manual by price range and type of foods served as well as their telephone numbers for checking their being open or making reservations. These recommendations were compiled from guest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Homeport Apartment Hotel
#12 of 24 in St. John's
205 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
352 reviews
Comfort Inn Airport
#9 of 24 in St. John's
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn St. Johns
#18 of 24 in St. John's
224 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabot Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Guest House

Address: 26 Monkstown Rd | Newfoundland and Labrador, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3T3, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: £35 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabot Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer quiet rooms in a refurbished mansion with modern amenities and off street parking for small to mid size cars only. We are pretty much dead center downtown and a 10 to 15 minute walk would take you anywhere from the Sheraton in the east end to the Delta Convention Center / Mile One in the west end with most of the cathedrals, museums, art galleries and restaurants in between. On Military Road, 557 feet to the south of Cabot House, you have: The Rooms Complex (museum, archives, Art Gallery, restaurant) The Colonial Building Commissariat House Government House St. Thomas's Church (the oldest Protestant Church in North America) The Basilica of St. John the Baptist Presentation Convent (housing the veiled Madonna) Breakfast services have ended. The Hungry Heart Cafe is a one minute walk from our front door and has a professional staff on site able to cater to any dietary requirement at modest cost Express check in and check out. Free TV; WiFi; and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cabot Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabot Guest House Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing