We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
71
44
28
29
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
44
28
29
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour massage with king size bed minute walk from downtown electric fireplace relaxing night continental breakfast big room jacuzzi tub week stay bar fridge free parking a great stay enjoyed my stay downtown core beautiful room would recommend this hotel to anyone stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Stayed at the Monastary Spa & Suites on the recommendation of a friend after being unhappy with my previous hotel. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the in room jacuzzi was a nice perk! Was a big upgrade over my previous hotel and would definitely stay again. Excellent service and close to the downtown core.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PL980_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is a very nice hotel- the rooms are quite lovely and it is very clean, however they have had a serious issue with vechiles getting broken in on their parking lot in recent months. There have been at least 10-15 in the last three weeks that I am aware of.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelsie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpaAtTheMonastery, Manager at Monastery Spa & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Thank you for bringing this issue to the attention of future guests. Over the past two weeks there have been some vehicle break-ins, it is an unfortunate consequence of this time of year and has been happening all over the city.

We are doing what we can to deter theft, including adding more outdoor lighting in the parking lot as well as working with local law enforcement. The most effective way to decrease the likelihood of a break-in is to ensure nothing is visible in the vehicle to entice these criminals, and we have been diligently reminding guests of this at check-in. We value the patronage of our guests and appreciate their understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

Place is clean and quiet, good for a getaway that's within walking distance (15-20 min) from the downtown core. No breakfast facility other than packaged muffins and coffee.

Parking is ample and friendly staff.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claudedoiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is in a lovely residential neighbourhood yet close to downtown and the harbour. It's a 10 to 15 minute walk to George Street or a $6.50 to 8.50 cab ride. There is parking on site.

We stayed in Room 212, a nicely sized corner suite without a jacuzzi in the room. It had an electric fireplace and TV built into a large double dresser and there was a big jet tub in the bathroom. The fridge was built into one of the night tables so it was hidden, a nice touch which added to the ambience. The bed had a really good mattress. The room and the bathroom were beautiful and very stylish. The closet was down the hallway. The room felt newly renovated. We peeked into a suite with the jacuzzi in it and it also looked terrific. We liked the room without the jacuzzi, though.

You get bathrobes in the suite. There are muffins and coffee and juices and a paper at the front desk area in the morning. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The hot tub is not too big but it was nice. Towels are supplied. The sauna in the women's change room was on but not in the main area. There is a small gym with half a dozen machines in it. We didn't use any of the spa services so can't comment on that.

We'd have given it a 5 but half the TV channels had no audio and they couldn't replace it because they were full!!

We would definitely stay there again if we go back to the Rock.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drgonzo_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed at the Spa for my birthday back in January and we stayed again this August for my husbands birthday. The stay was even better the second time around. The vitality room is finally opened agin. I missed that in my birthday as it was close for renovations. The hot tub and mineral soker were a delight. Sauna was wonderful. We had a very romantic night as we were the only two guess there. We were very glad it was opened again. Our beautiful suite was relaxing, cozy and warm. Fireplace going adds that ambiance :-)

Thanks for a wonderful stay... See ya all real soon..

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frenchconnection69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews