We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New logo, same wonderful feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monastery Spa & Suites
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed at the Monastery Spa for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year and two nights in early December. We tend to use only the hotel services but my step daughter thoroughly enjoyed some spa treatments over the holiday and joined us for lunch in the new café.
Lunch menu is a choice of flatbreads, sandwiches, salads or soups. I had a flatbread and salad, both of which were delicous. The salad was large and had a full selection of vegetables and was made as we waited. Meat and potatoes man enjoyed a homemade soup with a sandwich and will be easy to convince to stay in for a lunch the next time. Lunch for 3 was approx $45 and we didn't even have to step outside on a blustery Dec. day.
I forgot to take a picture so am attaching one for their fb page as it is an accurate portion and serving example. The salad bowl was about 2 cups of veggies and was great with the flatbread. I wouldn't hesitate to order from room service.
Our room as always was lovely. We managed to get a room with a double jaccuzi and although it was right next to the front desk everything was quiet and relaxing.
Look forward to another stay soon. Great to be greeted as regulars and yet treated very professionally and formally. Great work, Larry and crew.
Spa web page and logo has had a makeover. Staff was very happy to show off their new spa jackets. Happy staff makes happy clients.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but book and check in early to ensure a hot tub if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LazydaysGanderNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

Stayed at the Monastary Spa & Suites on the recommendation of a friend after being unhappy with my previous hotel. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the in room jacuzzi was a nice perk! Was a big upgrade over my previous hotel and would definitely stay again. Excellent service and close to the downtown core.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PL980_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is a very nice hotel- the rooms are quite lovely and it is very clean, however they have had a serious issue with vechiles getting broken in on their parking lot in recent months. There have been at least 10-15 in the last three weeks that I am aware of.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelsie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpaAtTheMonastery, Manager at Monastery Spa & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Thank you for bringing this issue to the attention of future guests. Over the past two weeks there have been some vehicle break-ins, it is an unfortunate consequence of this time of year and has been happening all over the city.

We are doing what we can to deter theft, including adding more outdoor lighting in the parking lot as well as working with local law enforcement. The most effective way to decrease the likelihood of a break-in is to ensure nothing is visible in the vehicle to entice these criminals, and we have been diligently reminding guests of this at check-in. We value the patronage of our guests and appreciate their understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

Place is clean and quiet, good for a getaway that's within walking distance (15-20 min) from the downtown core. No breakfast facility other than packaged muffins and coffee.

Parking is ample and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claudedoiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is in a lovely residential neighbourhood yet close to downtown and the harbour. It's a 10 to 15 minute walk to George Street or a $6.50 to 8.50 cab ride. There is parking on site.

We stayed in Room 212, a nicely sized corner suite without a jacuzzi in the room. It had an electric fireplace and TV built into a large double dresser and there was a big jet tub in the bathroom. The fridge was built into one of the night tables so it was hidden, a nice touch which added to the ambience. The bed had a really good mattress. The room and the bathroom were beautiful and very stylish. The closet was down the hallway. The room felt newly renovated. We peeked into a suite with the jacuzzi in it and it also looked terrific. We liked the room without the jacuzzi, though.

You get bathrobes in the suite. There are muffins and coffee and juices and a paper at the front desk area in the morning. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The hot tub is not too big but it was nice. Towels are supplied. The sauna in the women's change room was on but not in the main area. There is a small gym with half a dozen machines in it. We didn't use any of the spa services so can't comment on that.

We'd have given it a 5 but half the TV channels had no audio and they couldn't replace it because they were full!!

We would definitely stay there again if we go back to the Rock.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drgonzo_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed at the Spa for my birthday back in January and we stayed again this August for my husbands birthday. The stay was even better the second time around. The vitality room is finally opened agin. I missed that in my birthday as it was close for renovations. The hot tub and mineral soker were a delight. Sauna was wonderful. We had a very romantic night as we were the only two guess there. We were very glad it was opened again. Our beautiful suite was relaxing, cozy and warm. Fireplace going adds that ambiance :-)

Thanks for a wonderful stay... See ya all real soon..

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frenchconnection69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

As we finished the Shred 4 A Cause Longboard Canada Tour 2012 we found this location to spend a couple of nights. The room was awesome and the staff friendly and helpful for our first time stay in Newfoundland. We will back for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COach2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
624 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
352 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 24 in St. John's
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homeport Apartment Hotel
#12 of 24 in St. John's
205 reviews
Comfort Inn Airport
#9 of 24 in St. John's
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monastery Spa & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monastery Spa & Suites

Address: 63 Patrick St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1E 2S5, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £77 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monastery Spa & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spa at the Monastery and Suites honors the trinity of body, mind and spirit. Awaken your essence with deluxe treatments in a peaceful, tastefully renovated heritage monastery just moments from downtown St. John's. Come for the day or extend your visit in one of our luxurious suites featuring a two person air-massage tub, relaxing fireplace and all natural Aveda amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Monastery Spa & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monastery Spa & Suites Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing