We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kelligrews, Newfoundland and Labrador
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New hotel”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

This is a new hotel so as you would expect the rooms are clean. We stayed here Boxing night and found the staff very attentive. There was a snow storm when we left but I was able to start the truck from the room window.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshnewfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear WelshNewfie:

First and foremost Happy New Year and thank you so very much for choosing Fairfield Inn & Suites as your destination hotel and your home away from home during the holiday period. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and surroundings!

Hope to see you on a return visit in the near future.

Best regards,

Cyril Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    83
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
106
62
15
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Its a great hotel, very clean and the staff are quite friendly.
There is a complimentary breakfast which I have found to be plentiful and not bad. This hotel is more expensive then other hotels in this area and that is definitely to be taken into consideration. There are fridges, microwaves and a coffee maker in the rooms. The suites are very nice with a large tv in front of the bed and another tv in the sitting room area. There is also a pool with a waterslide that is suitable for children, small children.
The only downside would be the price of the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Elaine S:

Thank you for your comments and rating, much appreciated.

We are delighted that you chose Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's as your destination hotel. It was a pleasure to serve you and have you as one of our valued guests. We are pleased that you took advantage of our Complimentary Hot Breakfast and mentioned our amenity selection that was to your liking.

Happy New Year!

Warmest regards,

Cyril Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I just stayed at the Fairfield Mariott St. John's , Newfoundland. The reason I booked this hotel for New Years is because I knew that there is a pool and slide available... Great for kids! However, the next morning at 7:00 when we went to go swimming with our very excited 5 year old the pool was closed for maintenance . The chlorine levels needed to be adjusted and water needed to be added to the pool. The pool did not open until 10:15 ( check out is at 11:00) and then we were told that it probably would be too cold to swim in... and it was. I am so disappointed with the quality of service. It was as if everything was being done to ensure the pool wasn't available! This was obviously a very busy night with a number of children staying at the hotel! Maintenance should have been done overnight. Again, we chose this hotel because of the pool and didn't even really get to use it! Very disappointing!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krystle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Good day NYE201314:

First of all, thank you for your comments and feedback. I am disappointed to learn that your Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's experience wasn't positive and for that I do apologize.

We make every effort to all of our valued guests, in fact its a promise, that they are taken care of from the moment they arrive in our our lobby to the time of departure.

I have investigated the issue at hand, and indeed there was an equipment malfunction that took some time to repair which led to inconvenience unfortunately.
Our FIS team diligently worked to have the pool up and running in a timely manner; however, we could not open it prematurely as chemical levels have to be in line or it then becomes a safety issue. We always err on the side of caution.

Once again, my sincerest apologies. I do hope that you will consider FIS in the near future.

Regards,

Cyril Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We booked the Fairfield Inn for 4 nights when we went to visit family in St. John's between Christmas and New Years. We heard it was new, which we like, and of course we checked out the reviews on TripAdvisor. Because of the timing of our stay, the hotel was extremely quiet, especially the weeknights. This allowed for plenty of seats in the breakfast room. We didn't use the pool, but we had a look at it, and it all looks very good. We had a double queen on the 4th floor, facing the front/parking lot. It was extremely quiet at night, except the night it was blowing a gale outside, but there's not much that can be done about that. Nice to have the Keurig coffee maker in the room. Shower and hot water supply was excellent. Good TV and desk area in the room. The location was good for us, although it should be noted that it is not close to the harbour or downtown, if that's where you plan to spend a lot of your time. The staff are friendly and helpful. We'll go there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Jim B:

It was a pleasure to be of service to you during your recent four night visit. We truly appreciate the patronage and great feedback! Being part of the Marriott Brand means promising and ensuring all of our valued guests receive the attention they expect and overall comfort is second to none during their visit to Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's.

We are delighted that you chose FIS as your "home away from home" during the holiday season and that our team was able to provide a joyful experience!

Happy New Year!

Cyril Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Brand new place that has very good service.
The rooms were good size and the staff was very nice and helpful.
The breakfast was ok, nothing extraordinary.
I would recommend for any business traveler (I did not get to enjoy the pool and slide, but it looked fun).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelPro1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear TravelPro1977:

Taking the time to offer us feedback and a great rating at this busy time of year is very much appreciated to my team and I. We truly value the opinions and comments of all our valued guests; it was a pleasure to learn that you had a great experience. Maybe next time you can enjoy our pool and waterslide on a return trip.

Once again, it was a pleasure to serve you and we truly hope that you consider Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's on your next visit and call us your "home away from home!"

Have a very Merry Christmas and a Joyous NewYear!

Warmest wishes,

Cyril Russell, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labrador City, NL Canada
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed at the Fairfield in early December for work purposes. The hotel is very modern and clean. The included breakfast was excellent, saving a nice bit of money in a restaurant. I will continue to book this hotel as I go to St John's for business, and would definitely take my family there as there is a great pool and water slide for the kids.
The hotel is located on Kenmount road - a 15 minute walk to the mall

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank truehabsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear TrueHabsFan:

Thank you for the outstanding rating and feedback; we truly appreciate it and value your patronage. Ensuring that all of our guests are taken care, from the time you enter our doors, to the time you depart is, and always will be, our objective. After all a "promise is a promise" and my team of professionals take it to heart!

Once again, we are delighted you chose FIS as your "home away from home" and hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Cyril Russell, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently and we had a great stay. From check in to check out everything went like clock work. The girls on the desk when we checked in were very professional and courteous. The room was spacious, clean and well decorated. The kids loved the pool and waterslide. Breakfast was hot, fresh and a good selection.
Our thanks to the whole staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RodWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Mr.White:

Thank you for choosing Fairfield Inn & Suites as your "home away from home" and taking your valuable time to rate and provide us with feedback. We certainly appreciate the 5/5 rating and I will be sharing this great review with our associates in our morning huddle. We are delighted that everything was favorable to you and your family!

Warmest regards,

Cyril Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
775 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
587 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
399 reviews
Downtown
Delta by Marriott St. John's Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland
Address: 199 Kenmount Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 3P9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn St. John's)
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. John's
#2 Family Hotel in St. John's
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, gives you confidence that your business or leisure trip will be a success because we consistently deliver a hotel experience that's just right. Ideally located between the St. John's Airport and the downtown core, close to business parks, the University, and the province's largest shopping mall, we provide you with just what you need, so travel is easy and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Inn St. John`s Hotel St. John`s
Travellers Hotel St Johns
Travellers St Johns
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing