We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banberry House Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banberry House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 23 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cypress River, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Banberry House Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We spent 3 nights at Banberry House. We arrived after midnight but Eileen was very accommodating. We were on the 3rd floor facing a busy street that was rather noisy BUT that was the only issue. The room was lovely and spacious, the bathroom too. The bed was comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent. Banberry is located within walking distance of downtown St. Johns.

Room Tip: If possible, choose a room facing the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    16
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
40
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We just got home from 5 nights at the Banberry House B&B. The B&B is in a good location and has very good service and excellent breakfasts. Eileen is a wonderful hostess and a lot of fun to talk to. She is extremely helpful with tour and restaurant recommendations. Very enjoyable!

Room Tip: you might be better off in one of the interior rooms away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North America
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Our Signal Hill room was on the third floor overlooking a very busy street (and Signal Hill) - there was quite a bit of traffic and people noise until quite late, especially on the weekend. However the room was beautifully furnished, had lots of room and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was huge with both tub and shower. There are some lovely stained glass windows on the lower floor. Breakfasts were fresh cooked and very tasty. Internet on the third floor was almost non-existent but was fairly reliable on the main level. The B&B was very conveniently located - just a short walk down to a very good coffee shop. Parking in front of the house is tricky if there is more than one vehicle-traffic is very busy so backing out of the short, narrow driveway took some patience! A parking pass was provided for parking in a lot just across the street.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. Stairs to the upper floors are narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tumbleweed17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I went to the Banberry House B&B on June 26m 2013, I arrived very late without prior reservation and Eileen welcomed me. The room (number 2) was large and the bathroom well furnished and very clean.
I found that it was a bit noisy even though my windows were closed.
Very good choice for travellers that want to stay ''downtown''.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Josee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Eileen was a cheerful, welcoming host. Breakfasts were excellent, the room was spacious, and the location is a short although brisk walk from restaurants and the waterfront. I look forward to staying here again on my next visit to St John's.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Just returned from a seven day visit to St Johns, and stayed in Banberry House. It is located at the top of the hill overlooking the city and harbor, and an easy walk, although down and uphill, to restaurants and stores. As a very light sleeper, I need a very quiet room, and Eileen, the innkeeper, gave me one in the back of the house where at night I heard only the wind and a faint fog-horn from the harbor.
The room was small but very comfortable with a large bath and excellent WiFi. Breakfasts were always tasty. One day I had a bit of work to accomplish, and spent it working on my computer in the "great room"; old world charm with high ceilings, molding, persian rugs; very civilized and comfortable. When my work took me through the afternoon, Eileen showed up unexpectedly, without asking, with a scrumptious lunch! Wow. Also, I had difficulty finding some old friends in the city, and Eileen was only too happy to get on the computer and help me out.
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carden W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Eileen was so warm and welcoming. She is the BEST. The homemade breakfast hit the spot. Stayed in Signal Hill room. It was very comfortable. Third floor - facing military street - Great city view . Nice shower and wonderful clawfoot soaker tub. Very relaxing. Spacious room, with comfortable chairs to relax in.

Room Tip: signal Hill room faces military street. third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VinceInCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
556 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
264 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 22 in St. John's
680 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banberry House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banberry House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Banberry House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 116 Military Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 2C9, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Banberry House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banberry House Bed And Breakfast Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing