We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please do yourself a favor and stay anywhere but here - a ditch somewhere would be better than this HOLE!”
Review of Captain's Quarters

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain's Quarters
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This is by far the most awful, disqusting, horrible HOLE on the planet. It is OLD and RUNDOWN! The beds are so old they sag in the middle and actually touch the floor in the middle. Washroom was not cleaned....YUCK. The floors are dirty and warped. The hotel STINKS of urine and smoke. Staff were NEVER at front counter, they were in the lounge so could not reach them by phone, would have to go to the lounge to get them because you could never reach them. Couldn't sleep at all while there. Did not feel safe or secure and doors and locks are so old. No way to view into hallway through door. Pretty sure this establishment caters to "rent by the hour" Could hear the other guests and their "companions" (for lack of a better word) through VERY THIN walls day and night. Very shaddy people lurking around. I wouldn't stay here again if my actual life was hanging by a thread and it was the only thing that could save me. PLEASE do yourself a favor and sleep on the street somewhere before staying here. It would be cleaner. Unless of course you don't mind this sort of thing or like to drag home anything that walks and in that case fill yer boots... but keep them on for the love of God because its filthy there. This place needs to be shut down ...it is appalling that it is an operating business charging $150.00 per night..... INSANE. Beware, Beware, Beware!!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
13  Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fallsbradore, Owner at Captain's Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

I am the owner of the Captain's Quarters Hotel.

I take great exception to the false and misleading remarks set out in the Oct 30th review and point out that the so-called author of this review may likely be a disgruntled former employee who was recently fired for good cause . A detailed review of the guest ledger for that date has revealed that no guest has matched the description of the individual who wrote this false review. And that the guests who were staying at our hotel on the relevant date have been contacted and were quite pleased with the hotel and employee services. I would therefore warn both TripAdvisor and future guests to be very wary of the accuracy of the so-called "phantom guest" who may not have been a guest after all.

The true and accurate facts are as follows:

(1) -Every guest has telephone access to both the front desk and lounge staff, and staff are available 24/7;
(2)-The rooms and common areas of the hotel are continually being upgraded and extensive renovations were carried out in 2012. As owner I am committed to ensuring that improvements and renovations will be made on a continual basis in the future for the benefit of our guests;
(3)-Cleanliness is a hall- mark of our hotel and our staff are trained to focus on cleanliness for the benefit of our guests;
(4)- Our staff are friendly and courteous at all times and ensure that all our guests have a pleasant stay.

Finally, all of the false allegations made in this review can be refuted and I welcome the opportunity to invite all future guests to visit our very special and friendly hotel where your satisfaction is guaranteed and where you will see for yourself the special amenities we have to offer.

The Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Captain's Quarters
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

Very roomy,clean,walk to the scenic harbour front and Dow town-we will stay there again, no need to shop around other accommodations ,best value for us being a group of 5!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheriewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I are not picky travelers. There were very few vacancies in town and we liked the location of CQ (it looked good on the website!). When our cab driver dropped us off he wished us luck with the accommodations- perhaps we should paid more attention to his cautions. The hotel is rough around the edges but relatively clean- upon first look. The staff were friendly enough.

Sadly that is where the positives end. There were a number of shady characters hanging around the hotel/bar area. I would not have been comfortable staying there by myself. There was also some yelling in the middle of the night. Before 8:30am the next morning there were renovations in the hall outside our room that made it impossible to sleep. The beds were terrible in our room and we woke up with several BED BUG BITES. We promptly left.

I would urge you to keep looking!!! We've had days of washing and decontaminating all of our goods that were exposed to bedbugs. We were very disappointed with our experience but fortunately the people were incredible at our next hotel (helped us deal with exposure and limit risk to their place) and it completely turned out trip around!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Liam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

what a hole i have never seen ahotel that smelled of smoke and urine until i stayed at this filthy place never again next time ill stay in my truck sleeper

Room Tip: do yourself a favourand check into amotel that is clean and smoke free and doesnt sme3ll of pee
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Heb_Lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stumbled upon this hotel out of desperation. I am glad we ended up there as it had more character than any tourist sites we saw. (In my opinion) There was a charming dining room, bar & billiards table. The bar maid was great...helpful & happy.
The rooms are acceptable, beds are comfy enough & all is clean. Downside is no A/C.

Room Tip: This little place is uncomplicated. It can be noisy from the bar.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Stayed there in July. We had a three bedroom suite. The housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired, even for newfoundland.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the_holiday_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights at the beginning of July 2011 and paid $105.00 per night plus HST. It is an 18th century old merchants marine's home turned into a hotel. If you want to stay in a place from that era then this would be okay for you. Appears to need a LOT of updating even to make it seem welcoming. When we arrived around noon, we had to go into the bar to find someone to check us into the hotel. The actual reception area and I use that term loosely was a small closet size area enclosed in glass. I was shocked to see, in this day and age, that the bookings were kept in a binder under the bar counter.

The main floor is comprised of a dining area complete with the old fashioned fireplace of that era but the ambiance is spoiled by the fact that it is filthy and unkempt. It could be beautiful if restored; another room containing a pool table and a small bar with VLT's along one wall. It is very dark and dingy. There are some rental rooms on this floor along with the stairs going up to the second and third floors. The is NO elevator so if you have trouble negotiating stairs this is not the hotel for you.

The doors to the rooms are very aged and the locks still need the key with the old style huge key fob. Our room was on the second floor with a tiny window. The room comprised of a double bed. dresser, two chairs and a small round table in the corner. It was so small that you could just barely walk between the bed and the dresser and it would be impossible if you opened the dresser drawers. The bathroom was very dated but served it's purpose. No space to put any toiletries. There was no closet but a kind of rack build onto the wall with a bar to hang clothes. Soundproofing is non existent. You hear everything including the dog next door howling to get in out of the rain!

The hotel offers a breakfast included with the cost of the room. If you are looking for anything other than cold cereal you will be very disappointed. The same young girl was working anytime we approached the desk / bar and she seemed friendly enough although was more interested in bar tending than looking after paying guests.

It is close to all the touristy areas in St. John's and within walking distance to most of the
sites and that is probably the only aspect this hotel has going for it. I judged this hotel from write ups in the tourist book that NL publishes.......... very misleading. Unfortunately there were three conferences taking place in St. John's during the time of our stay and it was impossible to find another room so were were between a rock and a hard place. As seniors, sleeping in our car was not an option but we considered it. We would not consider staying at this establishment ever again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
The Guv'nor Inn
#18 of 22 in St. John's
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
825 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters

Address: 2 King's Bridge Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range: £42 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Captains Quarters Hotel
Captains Quarters St Johns
Captain's Quarters Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing