We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B, location plus!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gower Street House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 23 St. John's B&B and Inns
London, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B, location plus!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This property contains several ensuite rooms in a traditional but well maintained three-storey row house in the heart of St John's. Our room was up two flights of stairs at the front of the property and we stayed Friday and Saturday night. The weather was pleasant enough to leave a window open and we had no problems with street noise (there is an air conditioner too, which we did not use). An easy walk to the Rooms (museum), the Cathedral, and the nightlife on George St. There is a beautiful residential area, and a park, just up the hill perfect for a walk. Free parking onsite.
Excellent breakfast with lots of options,
The extensive choice of toiletries in the bathroom is great for travellers living out of a suitcase.
Excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    20
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
30
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Overall this was a very good place to stay downtown in St. John's. The price was good, check-in was very easy. The establishment is located in a renovated Gower Street House. The room decor was appropriate for the age and location of the house. The bathroom was small but well done and clean. In general the room was clean but the floor seemed to have some loose debris on it (sand/fine gravel?). One very nice feature was the presence of a very good assortment of amenities in the bathroom including mouth wash, razors and shaving cream along with a variety of glassware. The breakfast included a hot meal with eggs and meat along with juice, fruit, yoghurt and toast. There was a good variety of cereals and tea, the coffee accomadated those who do not care for strong bold flavours. The only real con as mentioned by others, was some minor noise from outside but it was as expected for the location and type of building. A suggestion for improvement - extend the checkout time to at least 11 or 12. The location couldn't be better for those looking for an economical option downtown.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cwm_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Very good and nice B&B in the heart of St John's. The house keep Joseph is nice and very helpful and makes a very good breakfast. There is an in street parking which you can use with their parking card. There are also two car parks behind the house where you don't need a car parking card for. Walking distance to local Restaurants and Pub's downtown.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph B, Manager at Gower Street House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for the lovely feedback.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Gower House. It was very nice chatting with you over breakfast and we're looking forward to having you again.

Summer just started in St.John's, have a great one !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Had a wonderful experience at this superb Bed and Breakfast...the location was just a short walk from everywhere I wanted to go downtown and the staff was very helpful in giving me directions and pointers on where to go...the rooms were spotlessly clean...I would definitely recommend this B & B to be the best value in the city because of its excellent location and clean environment.. they offer rooms of different sizes, all beautifully furnished..my room had some lovely antiques and the bathroom was luxurious....beautiful funky neighbourhood with its townhouses painted bright colors like jellybeans and I felt absolutely safe as a single woman walking around late at night....it was my first time to Newfoundland and definitely plan on returning as soon as I can...such hospitality and friendliness from everyone I met.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed at this B&B while on a business trip. The house is an old wooden row house in downtown St. John's. The room was clean and comfortable, with a tidy ensuite. Free wifi was reasonably fast, and there was easy free parking out back. Great location within walking distance of plenty of bars and restaurants. The interior is not modern by any means, but why would it be? It's quaint and cozy. I'd stay again! You need to be able to climb stairs to stay here- not wheelchair friendly!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Beautiful location. Convenient for walking. Supermarket and plenty of restaurants nearby. Owners and staff very friendly and readily available for information or needed assistance. A great place to return to at the end of a long day of sight-seeing and other activities.

Memorable and superlative!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aderien v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed at 180 Gower mid November for a week. It was an enjoyable stay I had a room towards the back which was quiet and perfect for me which had a private bathroom. Ample supply of towels Bed was so soft and sheets felt like silk,The room was decorated nicely and it was very clean and well maintained. I had a great wifi access which ran smoothly without interruptions.This B&b had friendly staff who were more than happy to help me with any issues or general questions. It didn't have anyone living there but the staff were easy to get hold of when I needed anything. The B&b had a shared kitchen and living room area and I had full access to this during my stay it was very comfortable and the other guests added to an interesting stay. The B&B was very close to the downtown main streets with the tourist shops in this lovely little city. I will highly recommend this B&b. Five stars from me :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nataschinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gower Street House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gower Street House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gower Street House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 180 Gower St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1P9, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gower Street House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gower Street House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gower Street House Hotel St. John`s
Gower Street House b&b
Gower Street House Bed And Breakfast Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing