We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and efficient concierge - great view of harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly and efficient concierge - great view of harbour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

We were amazed with Imelda (the concierge) and her friendly and efficient service. Imelda recommended the best restaurants in St. John's and wonderful tours of Newfoundland and the surrounding islands. Our room had a beautiful view of the harbour and its location is within walking distance to boutique stores along Duckworth and Water and the pubs and night life of George Street.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandiceWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDelurey, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
We are very happy to know your experience while staying with us at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoudland was positive. We Thank You for taking the time to post this review as your kind comments regarding your stay and our concierge, Imelda are really appreciated. She was very pleased to see her name mentioned and sends her Thanks as well. Imelda is a true ambassador for our hotel and we are very proud to have her on our team. It's no doubt that great guest service is the utmost importance to her. Our hotel do have a great harbour view and delighted to know that you were able to experience that view. Again, Thank you and we looking forward to connecting with you soon. Laura Delurey, Guest Services Supervisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    257
    104
    38
    18
See reviews for
80
145
33
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Celtic
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

The service is high quality from the moment of arrival at the car park through to check in/out, room cleaning, breakfasts, leisure centre, other concierge activities, et alia. People sometimes express the view that hotels which are part of a chain cannot provide personal service. Well, in our opinion, the Sheraton in St John’s belies that view as the services are highly personal.

The amenities and location are ideal for St John’s.

A room as high as possible reduces the traffic noise which is not a loud problem anyway because the hotel is set back from the main road.

The only drawback we experienced is the noise from the renovations which apparently have been taking place for months. However the management appear sensitive to the problem and they seem to try to limit the drilling to an hour in the mid-morning and an hour in the mid-afternoon typically.

Room Tip: A room as high as possible facing the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discerning_visitor55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDelurey, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
Many Thanks for your willingness to share your experience with us. Our staff and management really appreciate you taking the time to write with such kind and warm comments. Our goal is to provide imeccable service and we are happy to know we were able to deliver and meet your expectations. Our hotel has a long history of being known as "the hotel", unique location, great service and now being newly renovated with all new Sweet Sleeper Beds adds to making any stay most enjoyable. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced due to noise and would like to advise we now have the major renovations behind us. Again, Thank You for your review and we look forward to Welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Laur Delurey, Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

While my boyfriend and I are from Newfoundland, we do like to occasionally have a night out locally. We have stayed at the Delta before as well. This was my first time at the Sheraton, and my boyfriend had stayed there previously when it was the Fairmont. While we enjoyed the Delta, the Sheraton did win for its restaurant, rooms, and overall atmosphere. The recently renovated rooms were modern yet comfortable. They were spacious with a beautiful marble bathroom. One small hiccup: the tongs attached to the ice bucket were very dirty! An attendant replaced it, and apoligized profusely. Not the end of the world!

We took advantage of the swimming pool (which was a little chilly!) and hot tub during our stay. The pool area is beautiful, complete with a view of the waterfall which flows from the lobby. I did enjoy the Delta pool better (the boyfriend disagrees); the Sheraton should look into purchasing one of those handy bathing suit dryers :)

We had supper at Bivver, the newly opened bar; it was delicious and very well priced! We ordered a trio dessert later in the evening and it was scrumptious! The next morning, we had breakfast in the newly opened Oppidan which was very good as well. The wait staff at both restaurants were extremely friendly. We requested a late check-out which was provided which was a nice bonus.

I feared that the Sheraton would not live up to the standards of the previous owners, Fairmont, but I was very happily surprised. The recent renovations have given this Newfoundland landmark a beautiful facelift.

It should also be noted that Sheraton has an excellent customer incentive program. We got our next night at 50% after just one stay! We will definitely return to the Sheraton again.

Also, great elevator music.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BranAndKrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDelurey, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 24 March 2011
This is beautiful review and want to Thank You so very much for taking the time to do so. Guest feedback is very important, something we take very seriously and share with our staff daily. We are happy to know that you were very pleased with our newly renovated hotel. On behalf of our management and staff we are delighted and proud to have such a fine facility to present to our much valued guest. I sincerly apologize for the couple of small glitches that you experienced but happy to know our staff took care of you and will certainly follow up on the temperature of our pool to ensure there are no further occurances. Again, Thank You and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Management and Staff, Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

Had a confernce at this hotel in August 2010. Great view of the City from my window and room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBPSmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDelurey, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 24 March 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments and Thank You choosing Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland for your stay during your conference in August. The management and staff here are very proud of our newly renovated hotel and happy to say we now have a modern and updated facility. Thank You, Management and staff, Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

The Sheraton is trying to put a facelift on an old hotel -- there are renovated guest rooms, and a new lobby bar, as well as some nice facilities. It's just not quite enough, though, to make this an exciting or even a very pleasant hotel. The entire hotel has a chlorine-pool-dirty-water smell, and the lower level and gift shop area is very dated. The room I stayed in was renovated and clean -- unfortunately it was at the end of the hall, where the finished rooms stopped, and then construction started. I woke up at 6am to screeching saws and hammers (and also had no hot water).

The staff was nice about switching me to the 'executive floor' -- here I got away from the construction, but the room smelled of smoke. There was a nice lounge on this floor with soda, juice, cookies, etc, and internet.

Overall this isn't a bad hotel -- and there aren't all that many hotels in town. But it really can't compare with other Sheraton resorts (in Mexico, the Maldives, etc.) I've stayed at in the past. It's also definitely not worth the US$230/night to stay here. The Holiday Inn across the way would be just as nice, and half the price.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trixiethomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDelurey, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 18 January 2011
Thank You for posting your review of your recent stay. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. It certainly helps us connect and stay in touch with our guest. I am very sorry to hear that you were less than satisfied with your stay and am very much concerned with this. Your points are being reviewed by the entire management team.

Since Sheraton we have undertaken a hugh renovation project and in two years we are nearing fifty percent of our bedrooms, complete Ballroom room and Prefunction area, new restaurant - Oppidan, new lounge-Bivver and new Lobby area and the renovations will continue until all areas are complete. Unfortunately taking on such a hugh project we realize inconveniences have and will be caused to our guest. However we do make special effort to place guest where they are least affected when and where possible. We sincerly want to Thank all guest for their patience and understanding.

I welcome an opportunity to further discuss with you at your convenience. You can contact me at laura.delurey@sheratonhotelnewfoundland.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

Although this hotel has great possibilities, the details let it down.
I am staying in a "newly renovated" room, but the bathroom ceiling is crumbling from a water leak and the carpet is already grubby.
There is a very nice big screen HDTV in the room, but the quality of the picture is so poor I think the antenna isn't connected at the other end.
The friendliness and good service make up for these deficiencies though and I will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilTGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDelurey, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 26 November 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your most recent stay. I sincerly apologize for the deficiencies that you have experienced. We take guest feedback very serious and want to put measures in place to ensure these deficiencies are corrected. I would very much like to disucss further, at your convenience. Thank you again and look forward to hearing from you.

You can contact me at laura.delurey@sheratonhotelnewfoundland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed over the Hallowe'en weekend at this hotel and we loved the whole experience. The staff were friendly and very accommodating of all of our requests. The room cleaning staff were exceptional! Thanks for everything. We stayed in a "porthole"room on the 7th floor with a view overlooking the harbour. The room was small and cozy with a quirky shape but it suited us perfectly. We loved the king sized bed with the fluffy duvet and ultra comfortable mattress. We appreciated having the fridge in our room to store our juice and supplies. The Sheraton Link business area was empty most of the time so I could work without any distractions. I even got to observe a wedding taking place in the beautiful atrium on the Saturday afternoon. It was a wonderful vacation getaway.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldseashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDelurey, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 8 November 2010
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Hotel for your recent stay. Thank you as well for your positive feedback. Your kind and warm comments is very much appreciated and will be shared with all staff. I am happy to know you enjoyed your stay and had a positive experience overall. Guest feeback is very important to us, we make it a part of our daily briefings. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and hope we have the opportunity of serving you again soon.

Warm regards,
laura.delurey@sheratonhotelnewfoundland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Property: Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Address: 115 Cavendish Sq, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking historic St. John's harbour, the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland is a prime location for business and leisure travellers alike. Our warm service and world-class hospitality whilst the hotels location within easy reach of the historic city's myriad of attractions, are sure to bring you back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing