We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good for a short holiday”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Sheraton over Christmas. I skimmed a couple of recent reviews and have to agree with some previous comments. The hotel is an older property and is a little battered and dated. The HVAC was noisy and didn't address the slightly musty smell, especially after a shower. The fridge was very noisy. I was particularly happy the hotel was not full, as the soundproofing was suspect and we could clearly hear people in the hallways and traffic on the street below (from the 5th floor).
That being said, we had a good stay. The room was clean and housekeeping was quick and efficient. No housekeeping on the 25th. The big plus was of course the view of the Narrows from our room. Staff was very friendly. Check-in was quick (not surprising we arrived in the middle of the night); there were some challenges at check out with the system accepting one of our credit cards.
We come to Newfoundland regularly to visit family over the holidays and will likely stay at the Sheraton again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour, on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and will come back to see us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    284
    108
    42
    19
See reviews for
86
151
35
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Had a wonderful stay on the 21st of december. The room was clean and comfortable and we had music playing all nite long from a staff party below my room! We really got into the holiday mode with the festive atmosphere!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jima H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us over the holiday season. Hopefully we can make it a tradition and welcome you and your family back next December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celtic
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The staff are a great asset at this hotel. They are friendly and welcoming and often they have worked at the hotel for several years which is a good indicator of high quality.

Fridge: all rooms should have a fridge.

“Green Choice” is a good concept in support of environmental conservation but there are some problems with inconsistent implementation – recycling bins (daily?), towels and sheets (after every four nights?).

SPG Club lounge had some problems with servicing at breakfast in terms of supplies and some of the staff seemed inexperienced. They were very helpful but they seemed to need some team support.

Room Tip: Harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discerning_visitor55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We truly appreciate your thoughts as it provides us with a good indication of our strengths (our staff) and allows us to identify opportunities for improvement in the areas that are important to our valued guests. We are pleased to let you know that we are revamping our Sheraton Club offerings and operations in the very near future. Our Make A Green Choice program is designed to cut back on the usage of water and materials associated with laundering sheets and towels daily. You do not have to wait until the 4th day to have them cleaned as you can opt in and out of the program on a daily basis should you so desire, we have implemented the mandatory 4th day cleaning in order to maintain a high level of service and cleanliness. We have also decided to empty the garbage and recycling bins daily to keep your room looking and smelling fresh as this does not require the use of any water or chemical agents. We thank you again for your feedback and hope you come back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Back from a week at this hotel. Agree with other reviewers that the room was a bit dated, but after I spoke with housekeeping about some sticky rings on some of the tables, it was kept super-clean. A bit of noise from the HVAC system. I had a view of the Narrows and of Signal Hill, which was really cool. I think the thing that makes this hotel is the staff. Morris and Georgia in the lounge, Imelda, the front desk staff, the housekeeping staff were just wonderful - so friendly, welcoming and helpful. Totally make up for the outdated rooms and the HVAC noise!

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the harbour, do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDS6711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
The staff here at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland would like to thank you very much for the compliments and for taking the time to share your thoughts. The management of the hotel could not agree more with your assessment that our staff are our number one attraction. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our ocean and look forward to you returning to see us from beautiful Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Nice hotels and facilities. Bed was very comfortable. Great and expansive gym (definitely above average for most comparable hotels). Bar server was really friendly. Unfortunate issues: there was significant mold around the bathtub in the caulking that I think is unacceptable for a hotel of this class (Room# 520). Room was around the corner from the elevators and was a bit noisy (hallway noise flows easily into room under the door) but the whitenoise from the heater fan helped to block that out. Also, the bedside lights and alarm clock were unplugged when I checked in and I had to dig around on my hands and knees just to find out where the plugs for these were to plug them in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room farther from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hello James T,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your fellow travellers with a review of the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay but disappointed to hear about the issues you encountered. We have forwarded your concerns along to our Executive Housekeeper for follow up. We hope to see you travel north to St.John's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 days at the hotel for business trip. They put me on the top floor. And the view was excellent. Was able to see sunrise from hotel room facing the harbour.

The room itself was a bit outdated. The mattress was not as good as other Sheraton hotel I stayed before. That was a bit disappointed.

The only restaurant in the hotel was not that bad. Good service and good taste. There was a conference going on during my stay. I did not notice any noise.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rits P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We receive numerous compliments about the comfort of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds and judging by your review you have experienced some of those yourself. I apologize if our bedding did not provide you with the type of restful experience you have come to expect from a Sheraton. We would appreciate the opportunity to look into this issue so it can be corrected as soon as possible. If you could be so kind as to email me at chris.hayden@sheratonhotelnewfoundland.com with your room number it would be greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Level Contributor
154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We visited this hotel for the first time as convention goers in November, The hotel is reasonably well appointed. Rooms are typical and cleanliness was high. There are zero complaints about the actual building. It's location is great for sight seeing downtown St. John's.

Where this hotel falls short is in customer service and customer care. Arriving 1.5 days prior to the convention, we were not afforded the conference rate, which was over $80 per night less for the same room. We also stayed for 4 nights post conference, and were refused the conference rate as well. This hotel is not worth the $289 per night expected. There are establishments offering much better value within a few hundred meters. Front desk staff are very friendly, but their hospitality is offset with apparent incompetence. Whilst trying to pay our bill using 2 different credit cards, the desk clerk became very confused, indicating she would have to figure out our charges "later". She was not able to provide any receipt at the time either. This seemed as though it should have been fairly straight forward.

The combination of suspect customer service, as well as fairly massive confusion about room availability for conference members require travelers to look elsewhere for accommodations of better value. If the Sheraton rectifies some of the administrative short comings, the rating changes on this hotel significantly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pyke88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hello Pyke88,
Thank you for taking the time to share your toughts on your recent experience at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. We look forward to receiving feedback from our valued guests as it provides us with the opportunity to celebrate our many successes and identify areas in which we can improve the guest experience. It is obvious that we failed to meet your expectations on this stay and for that we apologize. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak to you about the issues you mentioned should you have the time. I can be reached directly at chris.hayden@sheratonhotelnewfoundland.com. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 22 in St. John's
265 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
556 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Property: Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Address: 115 Cavendish Square, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and built on the site of the old Fort William, our downtown St. John’s hotel captures the vibrant and colorful atmosphere of one of the oldest cities in North America. Overlooking historic St. John's harbor, the Narrows and at the base of Signal Hill the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland is the premiere location for business, conference and leisure travelers alike. Situated on the doorsteps of Jellybean Row and within walking distance of all the boutique and local craft shops and the legendary George Street our position is unrivalled in the city. The Sheraton Newfoundland also boasts the Oppidan Restaurant and the Bivver Bar serving the most sought after local cuisines and even Iceberg Beer. For the active work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center or take a dip in our indoor pool. Whatever your reasons for travelling to St John’s the Sheraton Newfoundland is your place to call home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing