We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with the view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Room with the view”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Sheraton last night for our anniversary. Did not take in all the hotel amenities so I can't comment on those, but the hotel is lovely. Our room was 507. What an awesome view of the city, it's colourful old houses and the beautiful buildings old and new that dot the landscape. The Narrows considered is "the view" , but this one was pretty awesome. So if you have never been to our colourful city and met our colourful people to try get a room at the Sheraton. Room 505 - 511 should not disappoint.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ValerieJBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Hello ValerieJBW and Happy Anniversary!
We could not agree more with your review. In most hotels a city view is considered a lesser view but when you look out over the rows of jelly bean coloured houses and see the Basilica and The Rooms overlooking St.John's you quickly realize this is not a city like the rest. We are honoured that you chose to come spend you special occasion with us and hope to see you again real soon. PS: Thanks for posting the picture :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    269
    105
    39
    19
See reviews for
83
146
34
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

First trip to St. John's and I couldn't have asked for a better hotel experience. The staff was extremely knowledgeable--all recommendations were spot-on. Rooms were very clean and beds comfortable. Enjoyed the serviceable gym, the full buffet breakfast was delicious and great value.
I will be back and have no hesitation about rebooking. With any luck, there'll be a little less snow but I guess the Sheraton can't be blamed for the weather!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of "the Narrows", the entrance to the Harbour. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlaneTruthTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
We were extremely happy to read your review, Plane Truth Traveler and we thank you for sharing your thoughts. We are obviously pleased to read that the hotel and our amenities were able to meet your expectations but we loved hearing that our staff recommendations were exactly what you were looking for. Our staff are not only ambassadors for our hotel but for the city of St.John's also. They take great pride in guiding our guests to the "must sees" and hidden gems of our amazing city. We hope to see you again (and the warm temperatures) very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed between Christmas and New Year. The concierge was fabulous - he knew what was open, recommended restaurants that fitted our description of what we wanted, had good advice on things to do based on our preferences, how long to stay there, how best to get there. We were surprised by the excellence of all the restaurants he sent us to in St John's.

The hotel staff were friendly and efficient, the rooms clean, comfortable and a good size (though the bathroom is small) . The view out over the Narrows from our seventh floor room was gorgeous.

The full breakfast was only $18 and really good - an extensive array of fruit, cheese, meats, pastries, the usual hot foods, oatmeal, cereal, yoghurt and juices. And the coffee is good, and the service outstanding.

It is perhaps in need of a refresh, but this did not bother us - we were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Go for the highest floor you can get (join Starwood Preferred Guests and get a seventh floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us over the holiday season and that our concierge was able to provide you with helpful up to date information that aided in your enjoyment of St.John's. We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Very good hôtel in St. John's. Large rooms, comfortable lobby, pleasant gym and pool. All the best to rest after work. And not far from city center reachable by foot in less than twenty minutes !! Go to St. George street to taste newfoundland specialties !

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Hello P L,
We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us and are glad you found the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland comfortable. Our recently renovated pool and fitness centre are definitely a great amenity for our travelers who want to keep active while away from home. We hope to see you the next time business brings you back from Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at Sheraton Newfoundland over Christmas 2013. We had a nice view of the harbour from our 5th floor room. Our room was decent size, clean and comfortable. Bathroom was average size with a good water pressure. Internet was included. Breakfast was not included - we had an $18/person breakfast buffet (not worth it).

It's a nice hotel right in downtown St. John's. Service was friendly. However, my impression was that it's in need of a refresh - new paint, cleaner carpets, etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantine-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
We are happy to hear that you and your wife had a nice visit with us over the holidays and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to let you know that we are in the midst of refurbishing a number of our guestrooms and floors and hope you have the opportunity to come back and see the finished product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Sheraton over Christmas. I skimmed a couple of recent reviews and have to agree with some previous comments. The hotel is an older property and is a little battered and dated. The HVAC was noisy and didn't address the slightly musty smell, especially after a shower. The fridge was very noisy. I was particularly happy the hotel was not full, as the soundproofing was suspect and we could clearly hear people in the hallways and traffic on the street below (from the 5th floor).
That being said, we had a good stay. The room was clean and housekeeping was quick and efficient. No housekeeping on the 25th. The big plus was of course the view of the Narrows from our room. Staff was very friendly. Check-in was quick (not surprising we arrived in the middle of the night); there were some challenges at check out with the system accepting one of our credit cards.
We come to Newfoundland regularly to visit family over the holidays and will likely stay at the Sheraton again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour, on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and will come back to see us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Had a wonderful stay on the 21st of december. The room was clean and comfortable and we had music playing all nite long from a staff party below my room! We really got into the holiday mode with the festive atmosphere!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jima H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us over the holiday season. Hopefully we can make it a tradition and welcome you and your family back next December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Property: Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Address: 115 Cavendish Square, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and built on the site of the old Fort William, our downtown St. John’s hotel captures the vibrant and colorful atmosphere of one of the oldest cities in North America. Overlooking historic St. John's harbor, the Narrows and at the base of Signal Hill the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland is the premiere location for business, conference and leisure travelers alike. Situated on the doorsteps of Jellybean Row and within walking distance of all the boutique and local craft shops and the legendary George Street our position is unrivalled in the city. The Sheraton Newfoundland also boasts the Oppidan Restaurant and the Bivver Bar serving the most sought after local cuisines and even Iceberg Beer. For the active work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center or take a dip in our indoor pool. Whatever your reasons for travelling to St John’s the Sheraton Newfoundland is your place to call home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing