We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Comfortable rooms with good bed & lots of pillow options. My room looked out over the harbor and Signal Hill. The view was nice with morning sunshine streaming through my room window. Pleasant decor themed to the location.

Negatives included the inadequate lighting (dimmer than ideal for reading) and the noisy doors (slamming shut automatically with a lot of noise). I had a room with an adjoining room door and the sound really carried into my room, even when my neighbors were just talking at a normal volume.

Service was friendly and competent.

I only ate the buffet in the restaurant, but it was good with decent selection.

Room Tip: Request harbor-view. Avoid rooms with adjoining doors if you don't like noise from neighbors.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castrosux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us and your fellow Trip Advisor reviewers. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay but are disappointed to read it was not a flawless one. We hope to see you return to the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland and to ensure you have a peaceful experience I will be in contact with you shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Loved this hotel - beds were comfy, staff were friendly, breakfast downstairs was great! the view was also amazing! I would for sure recommend this hotel when staying in St. John's. Love the newfoundland theme pictures on the wall too - great way to see the true beauty of the rock!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hi Brad W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the local art/pictures as we have just finished placing them in all of our guestrooms. We hope that you come back to see us the next time you are in St.John's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great hotel, Staff are fantastic, courteous, friendly, welcoming and polite. Food is superb. Seafood Chowder, fish is great.
Bar staff, Ray, Joanne, Darlene all great and friendly and polite.
Rooms very nice.
One issue, cannot understand why there is no room directory showing available services, e.g in room dining, laundry, hotel services..

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidl219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Well davidl219, what else can we say but thank you for such a wonderful review. We are glad that you had such a fantastic stay with us. The bivver staff are truly a hotel attraction in themselves as they often have guests return just to see them and have a chat. We would like to apologize for the absence of the hotel directory in your room as we do indeed provide all guests with a list of our available services. We will make sure to have one replaced right away. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to St.John's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Had a great birthday stay in a porthole room at the Sheraton. I am from st johns and I was still in awwe of the amazing view from our room- just the view alone was worth the money :) The room was spotless and the bed and pillows were just ohhh so cozy. The hotel is beautiful, located in downtown st johns- we walked to a restaurant then to george street! The only downfall was that they charge $14.99 for a regular new release movie :( which I didnt purchase.. I just couldnt lol. We were really looking forward to relaxing, having a drink and watching a movie, but that was just too much - even for me :P ($8.99 would be more like it)

Room Tip: choose the heritage view!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krystalkurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Happy belated birthday krystalkurtis!!
We are thrilled to hear that you chose to come and spend your birthday and staycation with us here at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. Thank you very much for the positive feedback regarding our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds and our one of a kind view of The Narrows. We love the picture of you in the Porthole with the harbour in the background... thanks for posting it. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Sadly we were disappointed by our one night stay on February 15th 2014.
Arriving at 3:30 PM, it took almost a half hour to check in. The room was nice with a harbour view from the third floor. The bed sheets appeared clean however, we noticed black hair scattered in the bed. This was a little unsettling for a room with a posted rate of over $ 400.00 on the door.
Our plans to dine at the restaurant were dashed as they were only offering a Valentine prepared menu, no other choices except eat in the bar area. Sat at our bar table for long time waiting for service and then were amazed that we were charged $ 72.57 for a hamburger, chicken sandwich one glass of wine and one draft beer. The Ceasar salad on each plate was nothing but the heart of a romaine lettuce drizzled with dressing, the part we discard if making this salad at home.
We travel frequently for business and have stayed in less expensive establishments with more enjoyable experiences. With the name Sheraton branded on this property I guess we were expecting more.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This was my first visit to St. John's and I have to say, I can't imagine a better base for exploring the city. It was the ideal location for exploring the shops, bars and restaurants on Duckworth, Water and George streets, not to mention its best feature: the amazing views of St. John's Harbour! The gentleman at the front desk was kind enough to give us a room (#520) overlooking picturesque Quidi Vidi, Signal Hill and the sea. The view of the sunrise from our room was spectacular. Although we didn't eat in the hotel restaurant or use the pool, the room was very well appointed and the lobby was quite elegant. The staff at the front desk also kindly stored our luggage for us the next morning so that we could take in the sites without lugging our bags around.

If you get hungry, try Zachary's Restaurant, right down the street from the hotel towards the water. The chowder is delicious!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the harbour and Signal Hill--it's so worth it!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ottawatraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review with us and your fellow Trip Advisor travellers. Our prime location at the foot of Signal Hill so close to the beautiful downtown core of St.John's is definitely a great benefit to all of our guests. We hope that when you come back to see us you get a chance to dine with us and enjoy the fabulous offerings of our award winning Executive Chef, Roary MacPherson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Staying here on business for 8 nights. Good standard of amenities and large clean room. Staff very helpful and eager to please. Overall one of my better stays away from home. Ideally located near to town, boutique shops, good restaurants and bars.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank philhollowayinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Philhollowayinuk we have to say we are humbled by your review. Anytime we hear that a guest (especially someone who travels as much as you obviously do) feels like their stay with us was one of the better stays they can recall we feel like we have done our jobs. Thank you very much for sharing your review with us, we will make sure to share it with our associates. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back when you come back to St.John's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 22 in St. John's
327 reviews
Downtown
Delta by Marriott St. John's Conference Centre
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
607 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Address: 115 Cavendish Square, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £113 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and built on the site of the old Fort William, our downtown St. John’s hotel captures the vibrant and colorful atmosphere of one of the oldest cities in North America. Overlooking historic St. John's harbor, the Narrows and at the base of Signal Hill the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland is the premiere location for business, conference and leisure travelers alike. Situated on the doorsteps of Jellybean Row and within walking distance of all the boutique and local craft shops and the legendary George Street our position is unrivalled in the city. The Sheraton Newfoundland also boasts the Oppidan Restaurant and the Bivver Bar serving the most sought after local cuisines and even Iceberg Beer. For the active work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center or take a dip in our indoor pool. Whatever your reasons for travelling to St John’s the Sheraton Newfoundland is your place to call home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing