We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay with lovely harbour views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay with lovely harbour views”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sheraton In St John's Newfoundland and we had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is just a short ride from the airport and is located in a lovely spot, close to many attractions with views of the harbour.When we arrived before noon, we found our room was ready upon arrival, which was very much appreciated. The staff is very pleasant and friendly and I must say that Imelda was extremely helpful in securing reservations for us and even texting us with info. She really went out of her way.

Rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable however I found the pillows to be lumpy. They offer daily cleaning service or a green option for the environmentally conscious.

We had a buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant which was a bit pricey for the amount I ate so after at we would go across the street where there were several options but Classic was the best. Dinner at the hotel was fabulous. We enjoyed a delicious meal at the restaurant which I would highly recommend for it's service and very reasonably priced food which was beautifully plated. They offered a tasty lobster,served out of the shell so no mess, steaks prepared to your liking, a wonderful mushroom soup and other fresh fish and seafood. Our waiter was so attentive and professional.

This hotel is the a great place for meetings and the perfect spot to visit all St. John's has to offer.

Room Tip: Upgrade to harbour view room however fog horns can be heard. Rooms on the other side are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Rita P,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and your fellow Trip Advisor travellers. We are very happy to see that you had an pleasant visit and were able to enjoy some of the culinary creations offered by our award winning chef and his food and beverage team. We apologize about the problem you experienced with the pillows as we know a comfortable sleep is key to a relaxing stay. I have reached out to you privately to get your room number so we can change the pillows. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to St.John's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    286
    109
    42
    19
See reviews for
86
154
36
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms were nice but we were beside a board room on the 6 th floor that was being used every day at 6 am. Lots of noise. Also club floor is not worth the money as breakfast and snacks in the lounge were very sparse

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GFE1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello GFE1234,
We were disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your visit with us due to a couple of different issues. We apologize that we did not provide you with an experience that exceeded your expectations. Even though our current Club Lounge offerings surpass our brand requirements we are reshaping the food and beverage options based on suggestions from our valued guests. If you have any thoughts on what you would like to see provided we would love to hear from you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This may be a more expensive selection in St. John's, but the location, view, and comfort definitely meet expectations. The staff are very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and go out of their way to be courteous and friendly (including housekeeping, the concierge, front desk, restaurant). The beds and bedding are great - super luxurious. It is very easy to walk through the historic downtown, and there are many restaurants, pubs and interesting shops within easy walking distance. There is lots of live music here and it is also within walking distance. I can see the entrance to the harbour from my window; from the front you shoudl be able to see the working harbour. I highly recommend the Sheraton (and no, I don't own stocks etc. - just having a great stay).

Room Tip: note that the hotel recently changed ownership from Fairmont to Sheraton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank path_in_a_snowy_wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello path_in_a_snowy_wood,
Would you be okay if we used this review in our marketing campaign? Just joking. But thank you very much for your review which touched on most of our major selling features. We are delighted to see that you had such an enjoyable visit and hope that you stay with us again when you visit "the island" on the east coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great hotel, very clean and staff are friendly and helpful.
I only stayed for one night but used the restaurant and bar and the Gym in the morning which were all very good.
Facilities are really good, free WiFi etc and the hotel is in a good central location in St Johns.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aliscott78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We appreciate you sharing your thoughts regarding your stay at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. We are happy to read that even though you had a short visit you were able to make use of most of our amenities to enhance your experience. Hopefully the next time you visit you can stay a little longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very nice view of the harbor and Signal Hill. Easy walking distance to anything in town. Food was good. Good hotel fair with basic breakfast buffet. Friendly staff. Our room was connected to a suite. The door was obviously not insulated at all. Could here our neighbors conversation until 5:00am. Would also be nice to have a small fridge and maybe a microwave in the room which was booked as a suite.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly0975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Shelly0975,
Thank you for taking some of your time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit for the most part and would like to apologize for the issues you experienced regarding noise. We hope get the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a quiet and restful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
510 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Often I praise the SPG brand - I enjoy staying with them. So let's start with the positives. The rooms have been nicely updated. Of course they are rated as a 4 star which would be a fair assessment. This hotel is about 1 km to George Street - I don't mind the walking some of it is uphill.
The amenities are very nice.
It was disappointing that the staff were unhelpful - they didn't have recommendations where to eat or what to do or where to get local crafts etc. It was a shock as we expected friendly people in Nfld. Sadly we were there for a few days and it didn't seem to matter who was at the front desk or bell desk.

Room Tip: If you want closer to George Street - pick the Delta or Murray Premises or some of the B and B's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello Elizabeth M,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay with us at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. We were happy to see you enjoyed the hotel and the amenities but were very surprised and disappointed to see your feedback regarding our staff as they are ususally the number one reason why our guests return to stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the trouble you encountered and hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an experience that is indicative of the service we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

After much research on accommodations for our first visit to St John New Foundland, this hotel was my first pick although I had some concerns after reading mixed reviews. We booked the club floor which is well work the extra money. There was always ample supply of coffee, tea, juices, water, fruits and granola bars as well as daily hot breakfast and evening appetizers. The club floor staff was warm, friendly and polite. Our spacious newly renovated room over looked the harbor and Signal Hill. I was pleasantly surprised and pleased with our accommodation, service and hotel amenities. This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of downtown St John. We were able to cover a lot of this breathtaking vacation and unique coastline thanks to Imelda McDonald, concierge staff who assisted us in the right direction. She is very knowledgeable in the areas history, sites and attractions and is eager to help. We spotted two icebergs from the club floor window! That was a WOW moment for me.

Room Tip: overlooking the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilaDcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
sheilaDcanada,
We are happy to hear that we were your first choice when visiting St.John's and even more delighted to see that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable stay. The fantastic view from our Club Lounge almost compares to the amazing service Imelda provides all of her guests. We will make sure to recognize her appropriately. We hope you got some nice pictures of the icebergs and that you come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 22 in St. John's
268 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
556 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Property: Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Address: 115 Cavendish Square, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and built on the site of the old Fort William, our downtown St. John’s hotel captures the vibrant and colorful atmosphere of one of the oldest cities in North America. Overlooking historic St. John's harbor, the Narrows and at the base of Signal Hill the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland is the premiere location for business, conference and leisure travelers alike. Situated on the doorsteps of Jellybean Row and within walking distance of all the boutique and local craft shops and the legendary George Street our position is unrivalled in the city. The Sheraton Newfoundland also boasts the Oppidan Restaurant and the Bivver Bar serving the most sought after local cuisines and even Iceberg Beer. For the active work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center or take a dip in our indoor pool. Whatever your reasons for travelling to St John’s the Sheraton Newfoundland is your place to call home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing