We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed for three nights while attending a conference. The hotel meets all basic expectations, nothing too fancy but good in every way. The room was clean and spacious, with a good internet system. The large bow window in the room offers a nice view but unfortunately decorated by ‘white stuff’ left by birds. I stayed on the 7th floor and the ventilation system by the elevator in the hallway was very noisy. My room was away from it so it did not bother me, but expect some background noise if you are by the elevator area. The food in the restaurant Oppidan was surprisingly good and having a nice view of the harbour was a bonus. There are many smaller restaurants within a 5-minute walk that offers decent breakfast if you don’t want to have it in the hotel. The pool and exercise rooms are relatively clean and they also offer the use of computer and printer in the lobby area (log on with room #). It is a decent business and family hotel, good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    298
    111
    43
    19
See reviews for
89
168
38
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It is one of a few good hotels in St. John's. Located on a hill overlooking the harbour and just a short walk from downtown, where there are some great restaurants and a liquor store. We found the hotel for the nightly cost of $324, plus tax 17%, lacking in many respects. For example, our room was allocated one bar of soap, when we asked for two, one for the handbasin and one for the shower, you would think we were trying to steal a lousy bar of soap. When we went to the use the pool we asked for a couple of bath robs, never did receive the promised bath robs. The service in the restaurant was slow, it took 20 minutes on three different occasions for the waitress/waiter to take our order after seating. Frankly,it is just not up to your normal Sheraton service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This Sheraton in my opinion is just barely a 3 star hotel. The harbor view room did have a nice view and the king size bed , although not really comfortable, had nice linens but the small bathroom had disgustingly moldy tiles on the wall around the tub. Also the windows in the rooms do not open so that the rooms become very stuffy and the air conditioning was very noisy making sleeping difficult. As well, the food in the on site restaurant was not at all good. We ate only breakfast there, twice, and were disappointed in the food. The scrambled eggs from the $18. buffet were tasteless with the consistency of sponge rubber and the $15. Belgian Waffles ordered from the menu were not only cold but also burnt on one side. Our server offered to replace them but quite frankly if I wanted toaster waffles I could make them at home and it wouldn't cost $15. A hotel that considers itself one of the better hotels in the city and charges the room rates this one does should at least be able to assure its guests that they can purchase a decent breakfast. The Classic Café East across the street had a much better breakfast for much lower prices.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank coffee522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YQR
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here as a family of 5 (in two connecting rooms) in June/July 2014 and we had an excellent stay. My suggestions for improvement are minor.

We love the location of the hotel for its proximity to Signal Hill and to some great restaurants. We enjoyed walking the city from the hotel and we found that everything was within a relatively short walk of the hotel.

The staff really set this place apart. Everyone we spoke with was friendly, helpful, and seemed to enjoy their work a lot. We received some terrific advice on local attractions from the team at the hotel and we also had a very enjoyable and entertaining room service experience, highlighted by our server bringing Canada Day tattoos to us to help the kids celebrate.

As an SPG Platinum, we were offered a choice of harbour view rooms (not connecting) or the connecting rooms we ultimately chose. We were also given access to the Club Lounge, which has a wonderful view of the harbour and offers a nice breakfast.

A few minor tweaks would be welcome. For almost the entire duration of our stay, the wi-fi signal in our rooms was unusable and couldn't be improved. We were told this problem was because some rooms are far from the routers and so don't get a proper signal. Yikes. I understand that there will be work done to improve this issue.

I was also disappointed to see that we couldn't use the stairs to get to the ground floor, which I found unusual.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with access to the wi-fi if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5fredw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and your fellow travelers. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for the kind words about our associates. We would like to apologize for the issues you encountered with the wifi and are currently undergoing upgrades to provide a more efficient internet connection. As you stated guests cannot access the main floor via the stairs as the building was designed to have the stairwells act as emergency exits and discharge to the outside of the building. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I only gave this three stars (if four were "good," I would have gone with that) because, as opposed to some other reviewers, I feel that the location is a real disadvantage. Yes, you can walk to downtown, where the majority of shops, cafes, restaurants and tour boats are. But it's a good 15- to 20-minute walk. St. John's is a very hilly city and it's a steep climb down and back. If the weather's inclement or you just want to drop something off to your room, it's a hassle.

The hotel itself is a good business hotel with everything that connotes. The night of my arrival there was a wedding and the wait for an elevator was annoying everyone. Strangely, there's no staircase to the first floor from the lobby, so it was impossible to walk. The situation was much better the following day and thereafter.

The first room I was given had an uninspiring view and a large bird dropping in the middle of the window. The nice woman on reception (not the person who had checked me in) said she could change it for me because of my Starwood status. The second room was delightful, chiefly because it had a huge porthole-shaped window overlooking the harbor. Good bed, good plugs, good bathroom. There was an iron and ironing board, which I always appreciate.

The staff was, for the most part, friendly and helpful. If it weren't for the location, I'd stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Maeve32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello Maeve32 and thank you for sharing your experience at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. We are surprised to hear you did not find our location advantageous to your needs while visiting as so many of our guests do. St.John's definitely has a number of hills (one of which we are perched atop) but they can be avoided with a short cab ride due to our proximity to the attractions downtown. We are happy to hear we were able to provide you with one of our signature porthole rooms and that you enjoyed the view. Hopefully we get to see you again the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We ended our three week road trip of Newfoundland at the Sheraton for two nights. Our stay here was relaxing and restful. The lobby was beautiful and we received a warm welcome from the check in staff.

Dinner both nights was in the hotel's restaurant. We were very impressed with both the food and the service. Having eaten in many hotel restaurants around the world I have to say this one was much better than expected, good enough to stand on it's own as a restaurant. It's easy to see there is a chef on duty preparing well thought out entrees and wonderful deserts.

Our room was on the seventh floor with a view of the busy harbor. I could sit for hours just watching the ships come and go. The king size bed was very comfortable and the room was as quite as possible, a great nights sleep.

The issue that keeps this hotel from a five star rating is the tired furnishings in room 730.I don't know if other rooms are like this but the finish on the wooden furniture was worn down to bare wood in places. Several other issues in the room need addressing as well but I won't go further. The rest of the hotel shows a commitment to quality, I'm sure updates are scheduled.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland as the final destination of your road trip. Three weeks on the road is a long time and we are glad that we were able to provide you with a comfortable and restful visit. We will pass along your kind words regarding your dining experiences to our culinary team. We are sorry that the furniture in your room was not up to the standard you experienced in the rest of the hotel and would like to let you know we are indeed updating our guestrooms. We thank you for sharing you review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our first time to Newfoundland and we loved the scenery, the water, and the people. We flew into Deer Lake on the West side of the island, stayed at Rocky Harbour for 2 nights, then took Highway 1 to Grand Falls-Windsor for a one night stay. After that we stayed in Port Blandford for 2 nights and headed to St. John's, our final destination before flying home.

I was pleasantly surprised by the Sheraton. The fact that the hotel used to be a Fairmont means that this hotel is more upscale than your usual Sheraton. There were two conventions in town, so the hotel was totally booked!

It took a little while for someone to come to our car to help with the luggage, but once the lady showed up, things moved better from there! The line to check in was not too bad and we were able to get our Harbor View room on the 5th floor. There was a big iceberg in the harbor!

The rooms are very nice with a decent sized bathroom. Our keycard said 'Club' on it but no one mentioned the Club Lounge so we ended up eating breakfast at Zachary's around the corner, which is good and reasonable. We tried to go to the Classic Restaurant next door one morning and the line was really long, so we went back to Zachary's.

After we got settled in the room, we decided to go to the Bar for a glass of wine before starting to explore the city. In keeping with the more upscale image, they offer a small list of wines by the glass that have received a score of 90 or above. There were around 8 wines listed, priced from $12 to $24.50, obviously in Canadian Currency. My husband picked one of the $12 reds and I ordered a $12 Rainstorm Pinot Noir from Oregon. The bartender brought my husband's wine, then told me that they were out of the Rainstorm but they had a Cloudy Bay Pinot Noir. I had never heard of that brand but said 'OK'. No mention was made about the price, so imagine my shock when we get the bill and it was $33!

I was not happy, but didn't say a word and tipped him the amount he would have gotten on two $12 glasses of wine. The next day, the wine list did not have the Rainstorm listed but it did have the Cloudy Bay listed with the $33 price.

I realize this is not a huge deal, but it made us cautious, so every time we ordered something in the bar, we had to ask: How much is a gin martini ($11.75)? How much is a Manhattan (also $11.75)?

We did have dinner Saturday night in the hotel Restaurant Oppidan and it was quite good! I also saw some other reasonably priced wines on the hotel list and started ordering those in the bar.

We enjoyed the sights and the music in the pubs a lot! Unless you are an Olympic Champion I would take the car to Signal Hill, as the drive is very steep!

No bad meals in any restaurant! We ate at Oliver's twice. We ate once at Sun Sushi, Tavola, and Bianca's. If you want to eat at Raymond's, book very early. We looked up their website on Saturday afternoon and the next available time was Wednesday night!

So I would recommend the Sheraton, but ask about the club lounge breakfast and appetizers if you are on a club floor and make sure you know the price of any unlisted beverage in the bar. Enjoy St. John's! It's a lovely city!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestUTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello WestUTraveler,

We really appreciate you taking the time to pass along your feedback regarding the aspects of your stay which you enjoyed and the areas in which we could improve. It is feedback such as this which allows us to identify areas of success and others that need more attention. We apologize for the issue you encountered in the bar area and have our Food and Beverage management team looking into the situation. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the Sheraton the next time you visit St.John's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
278 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
568 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Property: Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Address: 115 Cavendish Square, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and built on the site of the old Fort William, our downtown St. John’s hotel captures the vibrant and colorful atmosphere of one of the oldest cities in North America. Overlooking historic St. John's harbor, the Narrows and at the base of Signal Hill the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland is the premiere location for business, conference and leisure travelers alike. Situated on the doorsteps of Jellybean Row and within walking distance of all the boutique and local craft shops and the legendary George Street our position is unrivalled in the city. The Sheraton Newfoundland also boasts the Oppidan Restaurant and the Bivver Bar serving the most sought after local cuisines and even Iceberg Beer. For the active work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center or take a dip in our indoor pool. Whatever your reasons for travelling to St John’s the Sheraton Newfoundland is your place to call home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing