We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorial University Stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Memorial University Conferences and Summer Accommodations
Certificate of Excellence
Brantford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memorial University Stop over”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed three nights at University on recent trip to Newfoundland. If you are looking for inexpensive, basic accommodation then this is an option. Bus to downtown was a five to ten minute walk away. Room was clean and very basic. Bathroom was old but serviceable. Very quiet guests apart from construction across the street early each morning.
If you don't want the comforts of home and want more money to spend on sight seeing then this accommodation might be for you.
Heather

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage , book a room on second floor as this has street access. There are no elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    60
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
21
55
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed one night at the student dorms as I was between hotels and I was staying by myself and just needed a place to sleep.
Staying in student dorms is a bit of a gamble sometimes as you never know what you will get.
The place is fairly easy to find as there are lots of signs that show you how to get to the office. You might have to make a phone call (I did) as they may not be anyone in the office if you show up in the evening. The person was quite prompt to show up after the call.
The small single bed was surprisingly comfortable and the room was very basic but met my needs.
The room was clean as was the bathroom. There was a small towel supplied as well as some soap and shampoo. The shower looked as though it was just redone with new taps and a tub surround.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the chalets as they are close to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I have recently spent five nights in the Summer Accommodation at Memorial University in St. John's, Newfoundland, and recommend it to anyone who wants budget accommodation. I had a single room in Rothermere House and cannot fault it. The bed was comfortable, and I had drawers, desk and chair. The ladies washroom was just across the hall (2 toilets and one shower) and there was a tv lounge. Security was excellent, night-time noise depended on the thoughtfulness of the other guests, but generally it was quiet. The Residence was clean and comfortable.

There is no food service in the Residence, but there is a food court in the University Centre (a five minute walk away) and a Tim Hortons in the Aquarena (five minute walk) .. the bus to town leaves from outside the University Centre and there's a post office in that building too.

Getting into St. John's for sightseeing is easy from the Campus. The young people who run the Summer Accommodation Office are very courteous and helpful, and there is a free telephone for local calls.

I chose to stay at the University because I could not find any inexpensive accommodation in St. John's. I was very pleased with my stay .. a bit like camping but much more comfortable !!

St. John's is a very historic and interesting city. I saw Whales and one Icerberg. The scenery in this area is wild and wonderful .. definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: These rooms are dorm rooms on campus .. they are very basic, no frills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Johanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I stayed here for about a week in July, using their Summer Accommodation service.
I paid $33 for a single room with bed, desk, chair. The mattress was very comfortable, much better than many other dorms I've stayed at.
The toilets and showers are located on the same floor and are shared with other guests. We stayed in the Hatcher House where dorm rooms are on the 3rd floor and up, and you can only use the elevator if they unlock it for you downstairs if you have mobility issues or luggage, so this isn't a good place for people who can't do or don't like stairs. Since there are no phones in the rooms, I'm not sure how you'd get them to unlock the elevator once you're upstairs. We just carried out luggage downstairs on the way out.
The university is located away from downtown but there are lots of buses that will take you there in about 15 minutes.
There's a small shopping centre called Churchill square about a 5-10 min walk from campus where you can buy groceries or buy breakfast. The campus does not allow summer guests to use the kitchen though so be warned. There's a small cafe in the Science building but it only had muffins basically.
No air conditioning but it was only really hot/muggy one night.
We thought the price of $33 was excellent. Compare this to my next destination in Vancouver where the university charges nearly $80.Parking was $4/night.
Desk service was helpful for directions etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Doeraymee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
586 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
300 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Ramada St. John's
#10 of 22 in St. John's
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memorial University Conferences and Summer Accommodations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memorial University Conferences and Summer Accommodations

Property: Memorial University Conferences and Summer Accommodations
Address: 40 Livyers Loop | Macpherson College, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 3P7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Memorial University Conferences and Summer Accommodations 2*
Number of rooms: 961
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The residences at Memorial University offer modern and comfortable accommodations for travellers of all types. With three different room styles and prices to choose from, you are sure to find just what you need. Centrally located and just a 10-minute taxi ride away from the airport, our campus is an ideal home base for your holiday, conference or event, and our dedicated staff will help ensure you take advantage of everything the city has to offer. We invite you to experience the warmth and hospitality of the oldest city in North America from the heart of its university campus. Stay at Memorial! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Memorial University Conferences and Summer Accommodations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memorial University Conferences And Summer Accommodations Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing