We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Memorial University Conferences and Summer Accommodations
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

If you plan to stay at the MUN residences while in st john's, just be aware that this is not a hotel. Bare bones accommodations is what makes this place so cheap to stay at...just a mere $65/nite for me and a friend. If you are OK with not having all the perks of a hotel stay and really just need a room to rest at during the night then this place will suffice. It is not really close to anything though, so you'll have to walk or take the bus to get to places unless you are renting a car while there.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same. Like a small cabin with a private bathroom and shower. Very institutiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank panebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    50
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
18
47
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax Region, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stiflingly hot, uncomfortable plasticized mattress, tissue paper pillow and scratchy rough sheets. Great price if you're not interested in sleeping or comfort! Neighbours bouncing a ball most of the night and check in person not overly pleasant.

First and last time..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaR609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a New Residence suite for 3 nights at the end of June 2014. The pricing is a true bargain: only $65/night for 2 small bedrooms and a private bathroom. I found my very firm single bed comfortable but my wife found hers too hard. Each bedroom is akin to a ship's cabin. Everything is built in and there is little room to move around. All furniture is in a light wood laminate. The entire building is the most sterile environment I've ever stayed in -- no pictures, institutional design and fittings. The room doors are even like those in hospitals and my wife hated them. She would not go back, but I think it's a great place for those who just want a place to bed down after a busy day of tourism or work. Note:
1. Though only 1.5 miles (a 30 minute walk) from downtown, you feel like you're in the middle of nowhere. Aside from a few stores in the student union building, retail is about 10 minutes away by foot.
2. You're best off if you have a car. We didn't for two of the three nights and felt constrained, especially as the weather was cold and rainy. The university is bordered by wide busy roads and the walking is inhospitable. The campus is well-served by city buses but you have to walk 5 minutes or so to the student union. (One bus line goes right to The Rooms, the provincial museum, which is an ideal place to start touring St John's.)
3. There are communal kitchens, each with 2 microwaves and a fridge but no stove. If I stay there again, I'll bring breakfast fixings since it's difficult/impossible to get a good breakfast nearby -- unless you have a car.
4. Guests have to carry their key cards all the time since the elevators and many hallway doors are locked. If I stay there again, I'll bring a lanyard with a spring clip so I can simply wear the card.
5. The campus is not that far from the airport. So the taxi fare is about 70% or so of what you'd pay to go to an in-town hotel or B&B.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Geezer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here with a friend for 4 nights in July 2014. For $40/night this was a fantastic deal. These student rooms were better than anything I stayed in when I was in university. 2 rooms with twin beds each share a common toilet and shower in an empty common entrance area that requires card access as well as the individual room. There's a desk, wardrobe/closet, dresser, lots of storage space and a reading light by the bed. The main issue was how stuffy the room got. The windows only open about 10cm as a 'suicide prevention' strategy. There was no airflow on the side of the building that faces the inner courtyard, it was quite stuffy at night and there's no fan in the room or A/C. And you need to remember to bring your access card with you when you go from your room to the bathroom otherwise you'll be locked out of your room. With the tile floors I think sound from the hallway would travel but I used earplugs to sleep and had no problems with noise from the hallway or other rooms. Towels and a tiny bar of soap are supplied. Our rooms weren't made up in the 4 nights we stayed but that was fine, we only slept there and you could get fresh towels from the reception.

Other perks include wifi (which was usually pretty strong) free parking and coffee/tea at the reception. If you have a car this place can't be beat for value. Less than a 10 minute drive to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torontodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at the New Residence building. Compared to other hotels in St. John's for the same period of stay, the nightly rate was a huge discount. The rooms in the New Residence building is arranged such that there are two separate twin bedrooms with a bathroom and shower stall, which altogether, comprises one unit. There was also a common living space area and study area that can be used on each floor. The bedroom space was quite small, filled mainly with the bed,desk and closet/drawer space, so it was a bit tricky to move around. Not much bedding provided other than the basics sheets. Location was a bit inconvenient if you plan to walk to places - about a 30-40 min walk from downtown. However, if you have a car, that won't be much of an issue. I appreciated the complimentary parking and wifi. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the Memorial University New Residence Building. It is quite clean and new, recently built in 2013, and most importantly, provided a comfortable place to stay. Plus, the low nightly rate was the big selling point for me. Recommended for solo travellers or trips with friends, not so much for families or couples because of the small space and individual beds.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Explorer-from-TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wingham, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent 3 nights here, were in the new residence, the best thing about it is the price. For $60 total a night(senior rate, but regular isn't much more) , we got a "suite" , 2 small private twin rooms, with own bathroom and shower room. Clean, spartan, make sure you bring soap. The other tip I would give is each bedroom automatically locks whenever you use the door, you need to keep your key with you, but I would unlock the bedroom doors, if you go to the bathroom during the night and forget your key, you will be locked out- I know from experience! The outer door to corridor remains locked. There is a common room with tv and microwave, would be nice if they supplied a kettle. There is bus service nearby, and we walked to Tim's and a couple restaurants nearby. Students manning the desk were friendly. I would certainly return here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed in Doyle in July 2013 and found out later that this is the only residence that has not been renovated. It wasn't pleasant. Several rooms on our floor had the heat stuck "on" and it was blaring, so that the whole floor was terribly hot. Mattresses seemed to be covered in plastic like crib mattresses which was very uncomfortable. Staff did try to be helpful. Cafeteria was ok. There is a Tim Horton's at the Aquarena.

Room Tip: Perhaps the other buildings (not Doyle) are more pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank JustMeinNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
568 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
278 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 22 in St. John's
722 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memorial University Conferences and Summer Accommodations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memorial University Conferences and Summer Accommodations

Property: Memorial University Conferences and Summer Accommodations
Address: 40 Livyers Loop | Macpherson College, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 3P7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Memorial University Conferences and Summer Accommodations 2*
Number of rooms: 961
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The residences at Memorial University offer modern and comfortable accommodations for travellers of all types. With three different room styles and prices to choose from, you are sure to find just what you need. Centrally located and just a 10-minute taxi ride away from the airport, our campus is an ideal home base for your holiday, conference or event, and our dedicated staff will help ensure you take advantage of everything the city has to offer. We invite you to experience the warmth and hospitality of the oldest city in North America from the heart of its university campus. Stay at Memorial! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Memorial University Conferences and Summer Accommodations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memorial University Conferences And Summer Accommodations Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing