We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm atmosphere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Johns
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
2 reviews
“Warm atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

I stayed here on a business trip. The staff was helpful and accommodating. Clean rooms, prompt service, and a beautiful view of the ponds. I will stay with them again. They answered every question and concern promptly and effectively.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FealinStormborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank-you for your lovely comments! We appreciate the feedback and will certainly pass this on to our staff. We look forward to your next visit!

Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    69
    55
    27
    7
See reviews for
46
41
17
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Very expensive for a 3 star hotel, carpets need cleaning and overall only ok. The locks on the patio doors seemed flimsy and not very reassuring to a woman traveling alone.

Staff was nice but for the price carpets in the main areas need to be replaced.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
I thank you for your comments and recommendations. We are currently looking into replacing the carpeting in the lobby. I apologize that you did not not feel the patio door in the room was secure. In your future visits, please let us know your concerns. We can book your room on a higher floor and also, make this note permanant for all your bookings. Again, thankyou. We appreciate any and all feedback from out valued Guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax, ns
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed here last week of Sept 2012, decent older property. Rooms are somewhat updated with older bathroom fixtures but well kept. It's a little out of the downtown core so if you're in town for meetings you'll be in a cab, other than that it's a short ride from the airport.

Cheaper than the downtown hotels, but with no parking issues. Great meeting facilities with a very accomodating event staff, they couldn't do enough for us. Terrific catering services also.

Would recommend for events as reasonable and convenient for your attendees.

The hotel restaurant is East Side Mario's which was good, not sure how or if they provide breakfast, we didn't make use of other than lunch or dinner which were both great. I could see italian getting tired after a couple days, but that's simply my opinion.

Nice outdoor swimming pool which was closed up for the winter while there but you can tell it's well maintained by the surrounding area and cover.

Decent property overall

Room Tip: My room overlooked e pool and a nice little pond by a walking trial with a balcony that was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickmcns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank-you for your kind comments! Our banquet and catering staff certainly go above and beyond and I will pass on your kind comments to them. The East Side Mario's in the Hotel does serve breakfast beginning 7am each morning. It's unfortunate that you were here when the pool was closed for the season as it is enjoyed by our Guests very much. I appreciate the detail in your comments and we will certainly review each one. Thank-you once again.

Waremst Regards;

Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

I regularly travel to St. John's for business... and it is getting tougher and tougher to get rooms there at certain times of the year due to the Hibernia oil field business boom. This hotel is a bit far from anything interesting. Service is ok, check in is ok and the rooms are ok... nothing great and nothing bad.
What is not up to par however for a Holiday Inn however is the elevators, lobby and other public areas are not dirty but just not clean enough for Holiday Inn standards.
The restaurant is not part of the hotel but linked; it is an Italian chain Pat & Marios, so if you like Pizza and pasta or a sports bar atmosphere then this is right up your alley.
Service at the bar however was very poor... example: I had a a couple of drinks and wanted to pay my bill. I waited about 10 minutes after asking for my tab while the bar tenders were counting money (9:30 at night...not closing time) and were totally ignoring the clients waiting for service... after a polite second request for my tab, I was told 'it won't be long'... well another 7 or 8 minutes more of being ignored I decided that I would not wait any longer and went to my room. Service at the tables was fine... just avoid the bar. Food is nothing special but as expected in this type of chain place.
There are much better options in St.John's so if you do not need to be in this out of the way area you may wish to look around.
You may also not think that having to call reception for wake up calls or other information more than once before they pick up despite several rings is not your idea of service at Holiday Inn. When they do finally pick up, they are friendly and willing to assist.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summerchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank-you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback is important to us and is reviewed to improve service. Please accept my sincere apologies that our Hotel did not meet your standards. However, any and all comments are appreciated and will certainly be used to address any service and product items. If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail, please feel free to call at anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed a total of 6 nights at this hotel. The stay was split into two stays of three days. We experienced two different rooms.

The rooms were reasonably large, reasonably clean, reasonably well furnished but unreasonably priced. We managed to obtain a corporate rate and paid $123 CAD per night plus tax. Breakfast was not included. Without the corporate rate, the hotel were asking for $246 CAD plus tax. At $123 it was OK but at $246, it would have been totally unreasonable. However, most hotels in the area of St Johns seemed to be demanding these sorts of rates.

Breakfast in the hotel was in East Side Mario`s restaurant. For my wife and I, a breakfast of two eggs, hash browns, bacon and toast, with coffee and juice cost nearly $40. This makes the room rate $160 per night with the corporate rate.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. This is typical for folk from Newfoundland, who must be amongst the most genuinely charming and helpful people in the world.

The room was OK. I dislike the style of many hotels in North America where the toilet and shower are in one room and the wash basin in another. It is very unhygienic to open the bathroom door to get to a washbasin. There is a big car park beside the hotel which is free to guests.

The paintwork on the walls and woodwork has seen better days and a few minor repairs were needed. Generally we got the impression that it was run down and needed a good facelift.

Room Tip: Friends paid an extra $20 per night for an executive room. These rooms were on the 4th floor (quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonycStavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband and I stayed one night at this hotel before flying out of Newfoundland simply because it was one of the only rooms available in the city. We paid far more for this room midweek than we did for a room at one of the boutique hotels downtown earlier in our stay, and more than we'd paid per night for our vacation rental, a three bedroom beach house! The room was cramped and dated and could have been cleaner. There was visible dust on all surfaces, a stain on the wall and torn curtains. I normally wouldn't care since mediocrity is sort of expected at a Holiday Inn but for the price it was disappointing. Front desk staff were nice and the location was close to the airport. We were happy that our stay was just for one night!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johannaRLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. John's hotels

Doha
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the years, and our two-night stay this past weekend has been by far the worst. While the staff were exceptional in terms of helpfulness, listening to complaints, and providing repairs (tv and lamp both broke), the hotel itself is in need of major improvements.

Aesthetically, the room we stayed in appeared to be falling into disrepair. It was dirty, and the bathroom was disgusting (i.e., toilet dirty). Also, the attention to small details (like cleaning less obvious areas, making sure linens are clean and without stains) does not seem to be on the radar of this hotel.

It is important to note that the hotel manager was available to come and do a room inspection. He listened attentively, and was very apologetic. He also offered to provide an additional cleaning of the room or move us to another room. This is where the service is superior to the quality of the hotel itself.

The cost of the rooms is not in proportion to the quality of the overall amenities. We would love to see improvements to this hotel, as we enjoy the location, restaurant services, and can see the efforts made by the staff to provide exceptional service.

Best of luck!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Bess W,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am glad that you found our location convenient and I am also pleased that our Manager resolved your concerns while on property. Most importantly,
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you and your family. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.


Sincerely,

Janice Angagka
Case Manger
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Johns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Johns

Property: Holiday Inn St. Johns
Address: 180 Portugal Cove Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Johns 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn St. John's Government Centre Hotel The Holiday Inn hotel in St. John's, Newfoundland, is proud to be a two-time winner of the Holiday Inn Quality Excellence Award. We offer friendly, professional service. Hotel is located just minutes from St. John's International Airport (YYT), downtown St. John's, provincial and federal government offices. Business travelers appreciate our central location. Our hotel is also in close proximity to education centres such as Memorial University of Newfoundland, Marine Institute and the College of the North Atlantic, as well as the Health Sciences Centre, Janeway Children's Hospital and the retail district of St. John's. Our hotel features a boardroom and 11 meeting rooms with A/V equipment and catering services to help your event run smoothly. We proudly offer a family-friendly atmosphere ideally located near beautiful Pippy Park, the Fluvarium, five golf courses, Aquarena and many more attractions in St. John's. Our hotel offers suites designed with families in mind, and kids under 12 eat free at Eastside Mario's, our on-site restaurant, when accompanied by an adult (max. 4 children/adult). With amenities like hotel-wide free high-speed internet access (wireless and hardwired), a fitness centre, a business centre, outdoor pool, rooms with balconies and drive-up entrances and much more, you'll want to make our St. John's hotel your home away from home in Newfoundland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Johns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Johns Hotel St. John`s
Holiday Inn St. John's
St. John's Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St. Johns Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing