We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Cheap But Ok Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Johns
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not Cheap But Ok Place to Stay”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is an older hotel that has had some recent updating. The main updates based on the room I was in seem to be furniture, Flat Panel TV's and some cosmetic things. Unfortunately the bathroom in my room was poorly designed and laid out and was extremely tight and not a very comfortable spot to even try to take your shower. Sink is outside and across the other side of the entry hallway. I was disappointed that the normal bottle of water and snack or upgrade that is supposed to go along with the frequent night program (Priority Club) was not in evidence. This is the only Holiday Inn I have stayed in for several years that does not provide some perk for Priority Club members. The restaurant in the place is simply terrible and I have reviewed it elsewhere. Room seemed to be relatively clean etc.. but I will look for a better place to stay my next trip to St. John's.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyBCNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
I thankyou for your comments as we appreciate any feedback from our Guests. Reviews such as yours assist us to improve our service to our valued Guests. If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail, you may call the Hotel directly and ask for me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    69
    56
    28
    7
See reviews for
47
41
17
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I checked in pretty late in the evening, not one explanation of the hotel, amenities, food or anything; and did not realize that level '1' is below the Entrance. The bathroom is divided, between a tiny shower/toilet to one site and a wardrobe/sink to the other (you have a view of the later while lying in bed). The room had a window and a door beside it. The door was not wind-proof, and the blizzard that night was very loud and blew cold air in. The heater was very loud and blew the curtains. Not great. Also, the curtains were not closing properly, a lot of light came in; specially annoying at 4AM when the snowplow worked on the lot in front of the room. Typical toiletries and coffee maker. During check-out I was not asked whether I had a good stay, or thanked for my business, or heard a 'Hope to see you again'. I chose this hotel as being 'close' to the Airport, but will just stay downtown next time, which is not that much further anyhow.

Room Tip: As a female, you will feel safer on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ocea_nixe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
I apologize that your experience at the Holiday Inn St. John's was not great. Anytime that your room or any part of your stay does not meet or exceed your expectations, you may call the Duty Manager and we will do our best to make it better. I do hope that you would consider a future stay and I know we can show you an exceptional experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. John's hotels

Scouseville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I share the same regrets about this hotel as many of the other reviewers.

The hotel seems dated starting with the lobby and going to the rooms. There, the sink is in a different room from the bathtub and toilet! Also, the curtains are not in great shape and let in a decent amount of light. That heating/cooling system is one of the worst I've seen in a hotel, and cannot maintain the temperature within 5°F of what you sent. You're either too cold or too hot at many points during the night! As if this isn't bad enough, the heating unit produces a dripping noise about 80% of the time that it is operating-sounds like water dripping on the plank of wood! Extremely annoying and reduced my sleep severely because of this.

Other gripes include the inability to change the input on the television, therefore not being able to hook up your laptop to it. Also, the cleanliness of the room isn't that of other "higher" hotel brands. Finally, the location of this hotel is about as useful as the heating system! Absolutely in the middle of nowhere!

I would be hard-pressed to recommend this to a friend traveling to the East Coast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank grouse4scouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
I am truly disappointed that your stay with was not a great experience. I assure you that all your comments have been reviewed by our Management. Any and all Guest comments are appreciated and encouraged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Check in was easy. Staff was helpful and polite. Check in is easy. Rooms were clean and well appointed. They have rooms with windows that open Close to the airport which is why I stayed there. Lots of outdoor free parking. In house restaurant (East side Mario's) which is OK, not great, but OK.

On the downside, other than tea and coffee in the rooms, there is nothing for travelers who need to catch an early morning flight....the restaurant doesn't open until 7:00 a.m. So, for people who need to be at the airport at 4:00 a.m., there is absolutely nothing, That is disappointing.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room with windows that open for fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

So this place is promoted to a 3 star hotel due to the fact that they have a swimming pool. An OUTDOOR swimming pool. In NEWFOUNDLAND. Translation - the pool is closed 10.5 months a year. Without the swimming pool, this hotel only rates a 2 star based upon the quality.

Everything about it smacks of cheap. The bathroom has a little tiny bathtub - you'd never get a bath in it - surrounded by a cheap shower enclosure full of caulking. Classy. Very old and tired looking and what has been updated has been done as cheaply as possible.

The layout of the hotel is like a maze. Very confusing. Very unimpressive lobby - once you find it. We came in the rear entrance and had to fight our way through the middle of a Christmas party to get to the lobby. Don't know what that was about but it was very uncomfortable.

There were some housekeeping issues as well. There was a dirty face cloth hanging from the shower curtain when we got there. I was there 3 days and the stairwells were not cleaned at all. They were filthy all 3 days. Full of salt and mud. Desperately needed to be mopped. Granted, it was poor weather, but I left early each morning and it was clearly not cleaned the night before.

The place is so far overpriced for what you are getting its not funny. They are charging about the same as some of the nice hotels downtown on the waterfront.

Priceline used to allow you to bid on a 3 1/2 star hotel - and I used to always get a good deal at the Marriot downtown. This time it was 3 star or better - I didn't notice that change when I bid and we ended up here.

Next time we go for a weekend getaway, I will definately bite the bullet and pay a few extra bucks for a decent place downtown.

Like I said, if you were just in for a night and this place was $90 bucks - it would be tolerable. But at $150 bucks it is laughable.

Room Tip: Go downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMARover1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
I do apologize for the issues you encountered duing your stay with us. I assure you that every item mentioned is being reviewed by our Managemnet Team for followup. It is only through comments and suggestions such as yours that we may improve service for our Guests. Again, please accept my apologies and if you wish to discuss your experiences with me, you may contact the Hotel directly.

Thank-you

Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I stayed here on a business trip. The staff was helpful and accommodating. Clean rooms, prompt service, and a beautiful view of the ponds. I will stay with them again. They answered every question and concern promptly and effectively.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FealinStormborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank-you for your lovely comments! We appreciate the feedback and will certainly pass this on to our staff. We look forward to your next visit!

Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Very expensive for a 3 star hotel, carpets need cleaning and overall only ok. The locks on the patio doors seemed flimsy and not very reassuring to a woman traveling alone.

Staff was nice but for the price carpets in the main areas need to be replaced.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
I thank you for your comments and recommendations. We are currently looking into replacing the carpeting in the lobby. I apologize that you did not not feel the patio door in the room was secure. In your future visits, please let us know your concerns. We can book your room on a higher floor and also, make this note permanant for all your bookings. Again, thankyou. We appreciate any and all feedback from out valued Guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Johns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Johns

Property: Holiday Inn St. Johns
Address: 180 Portugal Cove Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Johns 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn St. John's Government Centre Hotel The Holiday Inn hotel in St. John's, Newfoundland, is proud to be a two-time winner of the Holiday Inn Quality Excellence Award. We offer friendly, professional service. Hotel is located just minutes from St. John's International Airport (YYT), downtown St. John's, provincial and federal government offices. Business travelers appreciate our central location. Our hotel is also in close proximity to education centres such as Memorial University of Newfoundland, Marine Institute and the College of the North Atlantic, as well as the Health Sciences Centre, Janeway Children's Hospital and the retail district of St. John's. Our hotel features a boardroom and 11 meeting rooms with A/V equipment and catering services to help your event run smoothly. We proudly offer a family-friendly atmosphere ideally located near beautiful Pippy Park, the Fluvarium, five golf courses, Aquarena and many more attractions in St. John's. Our hotel offers suites designed with families in mind, and kids under 12 eat free at Eastside Mario's, our on-site restaurant, when accompanied by an adult (max. 4 children/adult). With amenities like hotel-wide free high-speed internet access (wireless and hardwired), a fitness centre, a business centre, outdoor pool, rooms with balconies and drive-up entrances and much more, you'll want to make our St. John's hotel your home away from home in Newfoundland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Johns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Johns Hotel St. John`s
Holiday Inn St. John's
St. John's Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St. Johns Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing