We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn St. Johns
Nearby Hotels
US$221
Delta Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$125
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murray Premises Hotel(St. John's)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$406
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$392
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JAG(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$175
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Super 8 St Johns(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$104
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
47
76
66
29
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
76
66
29
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids eat freewater slidescoffee makerfourth floorup to datemini fridgesignal hillairportdowntownstcanadawashroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel is very nice, large, comfortable! There isn't much around it in walking distance, but you can take a 10 min taxi ride to anywhere you wanna go from this hotel.They have an East Side Mario's restaraunt and it is very good but very busy! I would go back here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_gurl_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Travelling Gurl 23:

Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated. We are glad you found the accomodations at Holiday Inn St. John's comfortable and you enjoyed our Eastside Mario's restaurant.

We look forward to your next visit.

regards,

Norman V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here for work. Rooms were spacious and clean. Beds were comfortable. The East Side Marios restaurant provided a standard breakfast menu or a buffet - it was OK. The "gym" consisted on an old Universal gym, a bike and a couple of ellipticals - nothing to write home about. The pool was outdoor and was closed for the season. Very large parking lot with good access to main roads. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zr1100c3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear zr1100c3:

Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated. We are glad you found your accomodations spacious and clean and were able to take advantage of our Food & Beverages services.

We will certainly share your comments with our Team Members of their friendliness. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Norman Van De Spiegle. CHA
General Mananger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We recently spent three nights at this hotel. Our room was on the first floor and my overall impression was okay - the room was dated, however it was clean and spacious. The bathroom set up was rather quirky with the shower and toilet in one spot - the sink was across a little entryway in the closet. Yup, the sink and blow dryer were in the closet! One big positive was the generously sized fridge in the room. Wonderful addition to the space.

The only real negative was the situation with the attached restaurant, East Side Mario's. We had supper here on our first night and enjoyed our meal. Service was great, but breakfast was a real gong show. The breakfast buffet that was offered for a ridiculous price of $16.99 plus tax, turned out to be the same fare that you can get FREE at any hotel offering a "complimentary" hot breakfast. Anyone that has travelled knows what this consists of - fruit salad, yogurt, cereal, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, juice, etc. Nothing special here to warrant the over the top price they charged. The rest of the items on the menu (which was an IHG publication so I can't totally fault East Side Mario's) were also overpriced. Could hotel patrons not be offered a discount on their meals? All in all, I was very disappointed with this Holiday Inn for their breakfast pricing and would not book here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunnyb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Sunnyb56:

Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated. We are glad to hear you found your room clean and spacious.

We are disappointed to hear that the Food & Beverage pricing was not within your desired range. Being on the island of Newfoundland & Labrador, items shipped to this provice always increase the cost on any item brought to this province, comared to the rest of the country.

Thank you for sharing.

Norman Van De Spiegle, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I booked a weeks stay about 4 months in advance. Upon arrival, Wednesday, we were informed they only had us in for 2 days. They managed to find us a room although it was on the bottom floor, looking out on the employees smoking area, the loading dock, and the garbage dumpsters. The room was also at the beginning of a long hall next to a set of doors. We could hear everyone going through the doors at all hours. By Friday we had had enough and requested a room. change. Unfortunately they had nothign available and said we would have to wait until Saturday. Upon checking with them on Saturday, we were informed that they were overbooked by 5 rooms and we would have to wait until Sunday. Finally on Sunday, we got a new room. The room itself was mediocre by our standards, the tv remote was filthy even though it's suppsoed to be an easy clean remote (I guess only if someone makes the effort to clean it) and there is no variety/convenience store in the hotel or nearby.

To top it off, upon checkout, the only thing the desk person asked us was if everything on the bill was ok. No asking if we had a nice stay, if there were any problems etc... They just were concerned with their money.

On the plus side, Eastside Marios was very good with excellent staff. This was the only plus though.

Again, DO NOT STAY HERE!!! I'm sure there are much better places.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Room 104 or anything on that said of the hall!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alleycat2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Alley Cat 2001:

We are disappoi8nted to hear you diod not enjoy your stay with us. We will certainley review your concerns with our Team Members here. We are glad you were able to enjoy the Eastside Mario's Restaurant.

Regards

Norman Van De Spiegle
General Mananger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The room was clean and affordable. Wish the pool was not outdoors, only able to use it 2 days out of 7 as the weather hardly ever cooperates in St. John's. Ideal location for shopping and attractions though; center city.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Jill P:

Thank you for your comments pertaining to your recent visit, your comments are always appreicated. We are glad you found your room clean & comfortable. It is unfortunate that we have such a short season for our outdoor pool, and we are glad you were able to experiience it during your stay.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Norman Van De Spiegle,CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews