We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Johns
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointed”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The room was clean enough-short of missing a top sheet on a bed, and the staff friendly but connecting to the internet to complete work was about impossible, if I was able to connect the signal would be lost. When checking in I inquired if they were busy, "No." was the reply. My room was adjacent to the vending machines and ice maker facing the parking lot and couldn't be changed. And for down times from work, the pool was closed for renovation. East side mario's, within the hotel is jammed down your throat for the best and only place to eat and drink. Won't book again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly Hazel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Kelly Hazel R:

Thank you for your comments pertaining to your recent visit.

We are disappointed to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your visit with us. It was unfortunate you experienced internet connectivity issues. After further investigating, we had found a componet of our system was down and had to be replaced with another unit. This unit had to be flown into the province and unfortunately was not available locally. This had caused a delay in getting the service back up in a timely manner

Once again, we extend our apologies.

regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    69
    57
    28
    7
See reviews for
48
41
17
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We only stayed here for a night, and it was a great choice. It’s a clean and nice hotel. It’s only 5 minutes to the airport and about 10-15 minutes from downtown St. Johns. The service staffs are really there to please. We had left over food that we wanted to microwave, so I called front desk to ask if there’s a microwave somewhere we can use for just a few minutes (literally) and not only did they said yes, they brought a microwave up to our room for us to use. I didn't expect that! The only weird thing was the bathroom had a regular light and a red light, I’m not sure what that’s for but that was kinda weird. Would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluerose979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Bluerose 979:

Thank you for your comments, as they are always appreciated.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn St. John's and found the location convienient, the accomodations clean and to your liking.

Also pleased to hear our Team could assist you by delivering a microwave to your room.

As to the "red" light in the washroom, that is actually a heat lamp over the bath tub, so that when you get out of the shower, you are not chilled when coming out and gives your body time to adjust to the outside temperature, just a little feature for guest comfort.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn St. John's and look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Norman V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

So we booked this hotel online before coming. We had no expectations until I went on the website. The website said there was a pool, wifi, etc. When we arrived and were checking in the clerk told us "So, you guys know our pool is under construction..?" .... had I have known that probably wouldn't have brought my bathing suit...waste of suitcase space. Its still a hole in the ground and 4 days staying here we never once saw anyone working on it so if you're staying in 2014 don't bother expecting a pool.
The whole hotel is Non-Smoking except there was a clear water bottle filled with disgusting water and cigarette butts on our balcony (that you CAN'T smoke on) because it wasn't removed before we arrived. We didn't even bother with breakfast because they wanted $13 for NOTHING! (coffee, juice, toast).
Two days in a row the housekeeper came at 8,am! Like, I'm on vacation please don't walk into my room that early.
Their wifi was down for almost a whole day also.
Never, ever staying here again.
EVER!
The only reason it got 2/5 instead of 1/5 is because the staff was friendly and I wont take that away from them.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear VictoriaJL:

We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent reservations.

We strive to provide as much communication of events on the property pertaining to renovations. We had this information on our own Brand Website at IHG.com but I am not sure which site you would have used to book your accomodations.

I have since requested to the 3rd party websites, to update and refresh the information they are currently displaying on our property, to prevent such a re occurence in the future.

Once again, please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. John's hotels

Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Was in St Johns for business for a couple of days. Arrived before 9 am and asked if I could get a early check in and they took care of my request immediately. Had a parcel coming in by UPS as well and they notified me as soon as it arrived and checked with me later to ensure that I received it. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverpub94ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Riverpub94.ca

Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to meet your request of an early checkin.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I went there last night to visit my sister and go for a swim in the outdoor pool but when we asked the receptionist she said it wasn't opened yet because it's seasonal? What season do you open it for? Summer officially started last week. Then she said well you know Newfoundland weather?? The last 2 summers have been amazing and definitely warm enough to have the pool going this time of year. You offer the only outdoor pool in a hotel in this city and it's not opened for summer?? She couldn't tell me if it was opening anytime soon either. So my sisters whole family were very disappointed since that's why they booked it. The receptionist also said it was written on your website that the pool was being renovated but the only info I could find about the pool was it was seasonal. My husband had booked an executive suite for us for my birthday on July 1st just because I love the pool there so we cancelled our reservation. It was very disappointing. She was right Newfoundlands weather is unpredictable but it's summer now and it's a heated pool so if your going to post seasonal it should open the first day of summer or at least by July 1st like every other outdoor pool in Newfoundland.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank onannday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear onannday,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the pool policies prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed 7 nights...the room was regularly cleaned..the restaurant "East side Mario" was awesome..the only complaint would be about the wifi.. the network was poor in my room for couple of days...may be because my room was at the end of the corridor..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Overall great stay. Lots of free parking, free wi fi was appreciated, loved East Side Mario's restaurant and the half price appetizers. They always provide consistent friendly service. Appreciate that pets are permitted as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman V, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Traveller:

Thank you for your comments as they are always appreciated.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Johns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Johns

Property: Holiday Inn St. Johns
Address: 180 Portugal Cove Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Johns 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn St. John's Government Centre Hotel The Holiday Inn hotel in St. John's, Newfoundland, is proud to be a two-time winner of the Holiday Inn Quality Excellence Award. We offer friendly, professional service. Hotel is located just minutes from St. John's International Airport (YYT), downtown St. John's, provincial and federal government offices. Business travelers appreciate our central location. Our hotel is also in close proximity to education centres such as Memorial University of Newfoundland, Marine Institute and the College of the North Atlantic, as well as the Health Sciences Centre, Janeway Children's Hospital and the retail district of St. John's. Our hotel features a boardroom and 11 meeting rooms with A/V equipment and catering services to help your event run smoothly. We proudly offer a family-friendly atmosphere ideally located near beautiful Pippy Park, the Fluvarium, five golf courses, Aquarena and many more attractions in St. John's. Our hotel offers suites designed with families in mind, and kids under 12 eat free at Eastside Mario's, our on-site restaurant, when accompanied by an adult (max. 4 children/adult). With amenities like hotel-wide free high-speed internet access (wireless and hardwired), a fitness centre, a business centre, outdoor pool, rooms with balconies and drive-up entrances and much more, you'll want to make our St. John's hotel your home away from home in Newfoundland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Johns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Johns Hotel St. John`s
Holiday Inn St. John's
St. John's Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St. Johns Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing