We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B in St. John's?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments
Ranked #2 of 23 St. John's B&B and Inns
Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The best B&B in St. John's?”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Contrary to most posters, I did not find my recent stay at 'Leaside Manor' to be anything out of the ordinary. We chose 'Leaside' for its location - more for a nearby wedding than its proximity to downtown St. John's. Given the abysmal parking in the downtown area, a 30 - 40 minute walk is no hardship (on the 3 occasions we walked to the downtown area, we saw 1 bus on this route). Our room, seemingly the smallest, was generally cold during the evening and the night, as evidenced by the heavy condensation on the inside of the window. Breakfast was a matter of eating what had been prepared that morning - as such, on three mornings, I enjoyed coffee and toast (I know, my choice).

During a previous, extended stay in St. John's, we had stayed at an 'all-suites' hotel at the base of Signal Hill. Upon reflection, this might have been the better option for our more recent stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    74
    31
    11
    7
See reviews for
43
452
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Another great stay at Leaside Manor. This was my second visit. Thanks to a free upgrade I got to stay in the Signal Hill Suite...it was perfect. It had a full kitchen and being close to the side door entrance was very convenient. The hot breakfast to order was delicious and Molly's homemade bakeapple jam was a real Newfoundland treat. The staff at Leaside are awesome...they really make you feel at home. I will be back!

Room Tip: The Signal Hill Suite would be great for extended stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Leaside Manor in the Bakeapple suite. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the room was just perfect. The complimentary breakfast was also wonderful and with the off-season / non-peak time at which we were there, the rate was exceptional! We thoroughly enjoyed our night and will likely return sometime in the future.

The only draw-back for us was the fact that Old Topsail Road is in a major state of tear up and re-construction which worked against our plans for a lazy sleep in the next morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Da_Rock2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Excellent stay room was fantastic Confederation very clean close to downtown
Breakfast was awesome home made French Toast marmalade what else can you ask for
Staff very courteous and helpful would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

A nice place but rooms are not layed out well. The breakfast was barely ok nothing at all great compared to others.The location is ok for visiting St John's I might look for another B&B next time we are in St john's

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguy909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We recently stayed at Leaside Manor when in St. John's for a friends wedding. We were originally booked at the Compton house, but because of renovations were switched to Leaside Manor instead. We had a great time and felt welcome right away. The room was really cute and actually much more cozy and romantic than the picture even looks. Our room was right off the main entrance and although that seemed a little strange at first, it actually was really convenient and we were never bothered by any noise from the main hall.
Our room was spacious with big fireplace, a beautiful bathroom with a mini fridge and giant soaker jacuzzi. We were really excited when we heard that breakfast was included (somehow we missed that when we booked) but bummed when we realized that we had slept through it on the first morning. About 10 minutes later the phone rang and it was the kitchen saying that we missed breakfast and would we still like it delivered to our room. Amazing! And they called it a continental breakfast but it certainly was much more! We had French toast, eggs benedict, and omelettes while we were there, with coffee, juice and muffins, and all dropped right outside our door for us!
The service and staff were really really friendly and we had a great experience overall, pluses like free parking were nice bonuses as well.
The only thing was it was a little far from downtown (about 3-4km, so a pretty decent hike) so if you aren't renting a car it does get pricey for cabs

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loudon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here from Wednesday, October 9th thru Monday October 14th. This building used to be the home of a wealthy family and is now converted over to an Inn. Our room was very spacious and we had a large bathroom as well. Breakfast was the best part of every morning as everything that was served was cooked/baked on site. Talking to fellow visitors also made for an interesting time. The servers and wait staff were all very accommodating and the service throughout the Inn was top notch. If you are an early bird you can walk right in to the kitchen and there is coffee available. Outside of the Inn there were several seating options around the property and a large deck. There was plenty of parking, and that was the case even with every room booked which occurred while we were there. Before I arrived I worried about it being more like a bed and breakfast but instead it truly was an Inn. In an earlier review I read that someone said that it would take 30 minutes to walk to downtown-I suppose if you walked backwards it might. At best it would be 10-15 minutes. If you have a car there is plenty of metered parking downtown and taxi's are reasonably priced. If you are looking to break the boredom of only staying in predictable hotels but aren't interested in a B & B format then this is the place to go. A great place for dinner is the Keg which is on the waterfront, and a just two minutes away is a great traditional Irish bar with live music called Shamrock City.

Room Tip: The target guests appear to be either couples in their mid-thirties and older, and people on busines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 22 in St. John's
265 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
556 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 22 in St. John's
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments

Property: Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments
Address: 39 Topsail Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1E 2A6, Canada (Formerly Leaside Manor Heritage Inn)
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leaside Manor is St. John's most popular small inn/B&B, offering romantic, double tub suites with fireplaces; fully-furnished executive apartments; unique meeting facilities with catered meals - all within a 5 minute drive of the downtown. An owner-hosted facility, Leaside offers a full cooked breakfast served in your suite; free wireless, parking; trip planning assistance. Leaside provides all the amenities of a hotel while giving you the personalized attention that only a small inn can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leaside Manor Heritage Hotel St. John`s
Leaside Suites And Executive Apartments Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing