We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Marmora, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We were travelling as part of a bus group and arrived at 8:30pm. for a 3 night stay. The hotel had a welcoming reception for our group with punch and jam-jams. A very nice touch! This is a modern hotel located in downtown St. John's and is close to everything. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The breakfast selection and food quality was excellent. The front desk staff and Concierge were very friendly and helpful.
The only suggestion we could make is to update the room carpeting. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMC002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deltanl, Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's following your recent stay and for your kind comments about our hotel and team. The reception you were part of is offered to all bus tours who arrive as a group. We are pleased that you noted that. I have shared your comments with the entire team. Thank you as well for your feedback regarding our guest room carpet. We will begin the next cycle of carpet replacement in early 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    293
    142
    38
    13
See reviews for
63
144
34
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Excellent hotel for business or pleasure, but if you're looking for something close to George Street, this is the place! Exit the front entrance, cross the street, and you're at the party! The same quality you'd expect from Delta Hotels: clean, comfortable, and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deltanl, Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre following your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that your review will be helpful for future travellers in choosing a hotel that is in close proximity to the downtown's amenities and night life. We hope you will choose the Delta St. John's again when you visit the city again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

If you are looking for a place downtown close to George Street and the waterfront, this is a great location. The hotel is dated, but the service is excellent. Staff are super friendly and are helpful when it comes to helping with directions to nearby attractions and restaurants.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room on the front as the view is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deltanl, Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Delta St. John's following your recent stay and for your very kind words about our team. I agree that their friendly and helpful nature is a huge asset for this hotel as is our location relative to the amenities in the downtown area. We continually reinvest capital funds into the hotel itself, having recently updated all guest room washrooms and wall vinyl. Further renovations and updating of decor will resume in early 2013.
We do hope you will consider revisiting Delta St. John's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I've travelled to St. John's infrequently over the last 15 years, and have always stayed either at the Delta or the Sheraton, ex-Hotel Newfound.and. To be honest, there's not really a heck of a lot of difference between the major chain hotels, so the choice often comes down to location, or to the hotel whose loyalty card resides in your wallet. I choose the Delta when it's available, for the location, and for the way they treat me.

I am a government employee, working in a marine sector of government. In many hotels, as soon as you ask for the government rate, you get put at the back of the hotel with a view of the parking lot, even if the hotel has plenty of rooms available. Over the years, this has not been the case at the Delta. If they have harbour view rooms available, I've been given one. Government employees travelling on business aren't that much different from private sector employees travelling on business; we don't want to be away from home any more than you do. Perhaps the Delta realizes this, and gives us government employees a break, which I've always appreciated. As it turns out, I couldn't get a harbour view room this time as the hotel was full, but note that this is not reflected in my review.

Each time I've stayed at the Delta, I've found it to be clean and comfortable, with friendly staff. I have always had an enjoyable stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a harbour view room if one is available. The view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deltanl, Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and ranking of the Delta St. John's Hotel following your recent stay and for your very find words about our team and the service you have received in your visits with us. I have shared these with the team so they can see the kind of effect small gestures like room assignments can have on a frequent traveller. Delta Hotels believe in creating community for guests when they are away from home. We would like to think that this is a perfect example of putting that philosophy to work.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I stayed here for a conference, and everything met my expectations. Check-in was fast and friendly, and parking was sorted out well. The Wi-Fi worked very well throughout the property. The room was clean and well appointed.

One suggestion for the room, though: as this location does attract to business and conference travellers, please get better chairs (i.e. office chairs) for the workstation in the room. The hard-back chair without wheels can be killer if you spend any time at the workstation.

The restaurant downstairs served good food. I especially suggest the burger with cheese and the nachos.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterBungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deltanl, Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and ranking of the Delta St. John's following your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend our hotel for others. You comment about the work desk chairs is quite valid and as we make the transition to the new Delta Mode rooms, those hard chairs will be replaced with business chairs on wheels. We hope to start this transition in early 2013.
Thank you once again and we do hope you will consider Delta Hotels again in future travel plans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I just spent a week at this Delta and cannot say enough about their friendly, helpful staff. From the housekeepers who greeted me with a cheerful hello each morning to the front-desk staff who gave unhurried advice on things to do and see around the area, everyone went out of their way to make sure I got the most out of my stay and enjoyed the city of St. John's as much as they do. I have to especially single out Nikki on the front desk, who gave me tips every day on places to visit, and who even offered to call her mom, who lives a couple of hours down the coast, to get an up-to-date weather report when she found out my group was heading that way one morning. Apparently in the fall, that area can be quite foggy when it's nice in the city, and she didn't want us to waste out time if the weather was going to be bad!

The hotel itself is everything I expected from a Delta. I had an upgraded room on the 10th floor, nice and big with a King bed and a view over the harbour. Everything was clean and well maintained, and the shower was amazing! Location was central but still quiet at nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the harbour side, the hgher the better. Amazng views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen047047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deltanl, Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel following your recent stay and for your kinds words about our team and accommodations.
I have shared your comments with the entire team so they can appreciate the positive impact they can have on our visitors. Nikki is indeed a good ambassador for the Delta and for the province in general. She loves to share her knowledge of and passion for the area with our guests.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and invite you to return in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipawin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed for 8 days while participating in an sketchbook artist tour of St. John's and area. The hotel was very nice, and the breakfast buffet every morning which was included in our package was superb. The wait staff in the restaurant were top notch and gave us our first taste of the Newfoundlander hospitality. Nothing could be more welcoming. Our room had a view of the harbour, and was very clean and comfortable. We used the pool a couple of times, and wished we had taken the time to do so more often. Any requests we had from the staff at the front desk were looked after in a friendly and timely manner. We could not have had better service.

The location of the hotel is great, as it is a short walk from the downtown area -- Water Street and George Street. The shops are very interesting. The nightlife on George Street is wonderful-- something for all ages-- and the food in the pubs and restaurants is great. Everything is very close to the hotel, and my friend and I felt very comfortable and safe walking home later in the evening after a night on George Street.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise_B_533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deltanl, Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's following your recent stay. We were delighted to be able to host this group of artists and look forward to seeing your work and artistic interpretations of St. John's.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you were able to enjoy the many attractions and amenities available to our visitors within striking distance of the Delta St. John's.
best of luck with everything in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
265 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
556 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 120 New Gower St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6K4, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#4 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On your next visit to this exciting city, stay at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, located in the heart of downtown, in close proximity to the financial, business and entertainment centres and with a spectacular view of the St. John's Narrows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta St Johns
Delta St. John's Hotel And Conference Centre Newfoundland, Canada
St. John's Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing