We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Choice for Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Riverview, NB
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Choice for Downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stayed one night and it's still a good choice for downtown, however the competition is heating up with newer hotels in vicinity. Room was fine although the shower ran hot-cold briefly, which was annoying. Restaurant is a bit pricey if you wish to stay in, but there are good restaurants nearby, so lots of options. A Tim Hortons coffee shop through the pedway is very convienient and economical. Staff are always helpful and pleasant. Unfortunately, a big new building is blocking the former beautiful view of the harbor, so disappointing surprise. I guess it's the price of progress and oil money. It used to be my favourite hotel and I'd stay there again because it's a nice hotel and good location, but might look at other options in future.

Room Tip: Top floors, harbour view, is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discovery169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    265
    132
    35
    11
See reviews for
59
138
33
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and find it always to be clean, the hotel staff to be courteous, and it has all the ammenities. a safe bet when in St. John's. Centrally located to the Arena, George Street, restaurants and shopping, as well as the harbor.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnC-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deltanl, General Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre and for your favourable comments.
we look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

I recently booked the best hotel room the delta has to offer. Parking cost extra (never heard of that at a hotel) the room for one night cost almost $400. When I got to the room the bar fridge was broke the shower head was spraying water everywhere (roof, wall, curtain). I got woke up in the middle of the night to a phone call asking if I was using the jacuzzi (which I wasn't, I was trying to sleep). The following morning I checked out and nothing was said to me however when I got home I looked at my credit card and I seem additional charges from the delta for "water damage". I never caused any water damage. They never even told me there was an issue. Do t stay here take your lonely elsewhere not worth the price of it at all!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sero901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax, ns
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Good location right downtown which is close to most business locations. This hotel is probably the most popular among business travellers and is very busy so book ahead. They provide free undergroung parking and have a nice gym and pool area.

The rooms are average, some tired but there is a newer section that has more modern appointed rooms.

Restaurant on site which is good but like most hotels restaurants- overpriced. The staff here are genuinely pleasant and interested in making your stay enjoable.

I've not stayed at any other than the Holiday Inn and would say you are better off here simply because of location and this could be considered a little nicer than the HI.

I would prefer a Hampton Inn when travelling but to date there is not one in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a new section room if that is important to you or ask for Delta Privilege club which is a sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickmcns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deltanl, General Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review of the Delta St. John's Hotel & Conference. I hope that future travellers will find it helpful. We are indeed the most popular hotel for business travellers and it is advised to book early for weekday travel. While we provide underground parking, it is not free but rather a $12 per day charge. The guestrooms that you refer to as tired will be completely renovated to the new Delta design beginning in early 2014.
i can also advise that a new Hampton Inn will be opening up in St. John's in the next 6 months, but it will be quite a distance from the downtown area.
We hope you will consider choosing the Delta St. John's again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

There must have been a thousand people at this hotel in for some tourism convention. Everyone was in good spirits it seemed, and the bar in the lobby turned into quite the booze can around 4 or 5 o'clock. Breakfast downstairs was good. Rooms were not bad, good view of the harbour. Better than some other Deltas I've been to - I'd describe it as 3-star accommodation. Location is fine, not perfect - a bit of a walk to the main drag, but pretty close. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Harbour view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deltanl, General Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel & Conference Centre. The convention that was underway during your stay was Hospitality Newfoundland and Labrador, as you stated a group of tourism professionals. Since you referenced tourism star ratings, I am happy to correct you that our hotel is rated as a four (4) star hotel. We will also be undergoing extensive renovations beginning in early 2014.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you would choose the Delta St. John's again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackfalds, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Good service and large clean room. We stayed on the 11th floor overlooking the harbour and it was a great view. We ate an order of nachos in our room and they were very filling. Westjet picked up the cost of the room and our meals so this was our 3rd different hotel in 3 nights and what a great way to visit the oldest city in North America. We took the opportunity to travel around St. John's on the metro bus as a small excursion and really enjoyed the colourful houses in the downtown core.

Room Tip: Get a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deltanl, General Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's following your recent unexpected stay. We are pleased that our accommodation and services met your expectations and that you were able to explore some of the downtown area.
We hope you will consider returning for a full visit and will choose the Delta St. John's again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

The employees are friendly & helpful. The room was professionally cleaned everyday. The security of accessing the floors after a certain time, only with a room pass was a plus, if you weren't staying in the hotel you didn't have access. It's a very convenient place to stay if you want to visit downtown area of St. John's. Also Micky Quinn Restaurant is excellent. The room service was also a plus in this hotel. I usually try to book my stay in St. John's at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you're a visitor & like seeing a view make sure you ask for a view of the harbour when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 120 New Gower St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6K4, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#4 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On your next visit to this exciting city, stay at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, located in the heart of downtown, in close proximity to the financial, business and entertainment centres and with a spectacular view of the St. John's Narrows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta St Johns
Delta St. John's Hotel And Conference Centre Newfoundland, Canada
St. John's Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing