We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delta Hotels St. John's Conference Centre
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Excellent service, especially the staffs at bell desk is very helpful and knowledgeable; reliable speedy wi-fi; good location. The swimming pool is a bonus. The only problem is the elevators: one was under renovation so we have to wait for a bit long time.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank huangsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deltanl, Manager at Delta Hotels St. John's Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel & Conference Centre.
We receive many compliments regarding our concierge team and their skill in acquanting our guests with the area, so we are delighted that you noted this as well. Our elevators are undergoing a modernization project and will be complete resulting in an dramatic increase in speed and response within the next 2 weeks. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Before attending a legal conference in St John's with my wife, I was familiar with the somewhat poor reputation of the Delta Bow Valley in Calgary. Since the conference, which was attended by over 1200 delegates, was being held in the St John's Delta we opted to stay there instead of the other downtown hotels. Our first problems occurred immediately when the free WIFI refused to connect in our room. It worked right outside our door but cut out when we went into the the room. The front desk gave us the Help Desk number to call but the tech we talked to said he was in New Brunswick so he couldn't help us. The next day I asked if someone in the hotel could help out and we given another number to call. This time the tech suggested we try resetting the connection from the room instead of the lobby. No luck. I was not able to retry until the next day as we were busy at other locations. The third day I asked again at the front desk if there was something else they could suggest. They suggested I work down in the lobby as the connection was much stronger there. The lobby was full of trade show people, there for the convention, and seating was almost non-existent. Not an ideal situation to try and do some international work on my iPad. On the fourth day we were told we could move to another room but since we were leaving the day after we didn't feel like packing up and moving. We asked for wake up calls that didn't happen. We relied on our iPads and my watch. Bar and restaurant service was extremely slow and when one waitress overheard someone at our table complaining about the lousy room service she suggested we all go to the front desk and complain. The bathroom in our room had a shower curtain that was barely attached to the wall and the shower head needed replacing. We had to replace our door card keys twice despite carrying them in our convention lanyards away from any phones and iPads. At a breakfast speech on day four, many of the special meal requests were missed and guests had to ask the staff to bring the proper meals. At one of the local pubs on George Street, famous for it's bars and restaurants, one of the waiters mentioned that they were planning on tearing this hotel down due to it's age and poor condition. I would suggest it is well past time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donald_and_Leila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deltanl, Manager at Delta Hotels St. John's Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Donald and Leila. We are indeed sorry your stay with us fell well below your expectations. It is certainly not indicative of the standards we strive to maintain. The statement made by a very illinformed server on George Street could not be further from the truth, and could cause unnecessary worry for our long term staff. Our hotel will be undergoing a major renovation beginning in December of this year and lasting for 2.5 years that will encompass every aspect of the hotel. It will literally be undergoing a transformation. We will also be upgrading our wi fi access in early fall. The constant demand for increased bandwidth and live streaming causes strain on our system and being able to install the necessary infrastructure to always keep up is not that simple. However, we continue to endeavour to offer our wifi access at no cost. Thanks once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Great atmosphere, great restaurant/bar, great rooms with spectacular views, close proximity to other restaurants and bars, as well as shopping. Never had a complaint and look forward to returning. Staff is also friendly and accommadating

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JP8C130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deltanl, Manager at Delta Hotels St. John's Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's following your recent stay and for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nice and in a good location close to George St. The rooms are nice and the view is very beautiful. The hotel staff are very accommodating and very nice.
If your looking for a nice place to stay, the Delta will meet your needs. I'll be back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank GRWLR51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deltanl, Manager at Delta Hotels St. John's Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for posting a review of the Delta St. John's and for your kind words. Our hotel is indeed ideally located relative to downtown amenities and we are glad it met your needs. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The Delta is located in the downtown area of St. John's.

Breathtaking views from your window.

Close to the Mile One Center and walking distance to all of the bars and restaurants around downtown.

Stay here, you will not be disappointed. Enjoy!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank martincurran55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deltanl, Manager at Delta Hotels St. John's Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel and for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I stayed a week in this hotel. It is well located, and because of this it is very busy. I think it is overpriced, but then again most things are in St. John's.
It does however need a massive overhaul - redecorating and modernizing is essential. If you can live with 1980's decor and slightly grubby carpets then you'll be at home here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PhilipSoniaNiccolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deltanl, Manager at Delta Hotels St. John's Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's. Our rates are competitive relative to similar hotels in the downtown area of the city, and are based on market demand. The massive overhaul you reference that the hotel needs is indeed in the works and begins later this year and encompasses every aspect of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Extremely convenient for events in the conference center. It's showing it's age a bit, but the rooms are large and well equipped, though mine had a slightly smoky smell. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Restaurant food is edible but uninspiring.
.
Special tip (1) ... ask for a harbor view ... pretty and interesting
Special tip (2) ... close the door when you shower .. the steam set off a VERY LOUD fire alarm in my room.

Room Tip: Special tip (1) ... ask for a harbor view ... pretty and interesting Special tip (2) ... close the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deltanl, Manager at Delta Hotels St. John's Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre. The location of the hotel is indeed convenient in relation to conventions and events at the adjoining Mile One Centre. The hotel will be undergoing a massive renovation beginning later this year that will encompass every aspect of the hotel. It is always recommended to close doors while showering so as not to interfere with the hotel's life safety systems. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
353 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 24 in St. John's
868 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
623 reviews
Holiday Inn St. Johns
#18 of 24 in St. John's
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels St. John's Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels St. John's Conference Centre

Address: 120 New Gower St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6K4, Canada (Formerly Delta Hotels by Marriott St. John's Conference Centre)
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
#6 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £105 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Hotels St. John's Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Elegance in the heart of downtown St. John's. Perfectly situated in the downtown core at the doorstep to world famous George Street, and connected by an overhead pedway to Mile One Centre and the newly expanded St. John's Convention Centre, the Delta St. John's hotel offers 403 newly refreshed and renovated guestrooms with a vast array of room types and suites to choose from, with a choice of splendid harbour views or charming old city views from the floor to ceiling windows. We are within walking distance to all the major attractions and amenities that the city has to offer. The Delta St. John's also offers all day dining in your room or in our restaurant specializing in local seafood with a large selection of local draughts on tap. Keep active in our fully equipped fitness centre, or take a dip in our heated pool that is further complemented by a hot tub and sauna and 2 full size Squash courts. The Delta St. John's Hotel is your perfect spot for vacation or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Hotels St. John's Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta St Johns
Delta St. John's
St. John's Delta
Delta Hotels St. John's Conference Centre Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing