We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and walk to downtown St Johns.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 21 September 2011

After lengthy research for a downtown hotel near the waterfront we chose the Quality Inn Harbourfront and stayed for 2 nights.. The main reason for the choice was reasonable pricing for the great location compared to other downtown hotels. We were not disappointed. There were 4 persons in our group and we had two waterfront rooms. Both were spacious, very clean and recently updated with new beds, carpet and other furnishings. Parking for our vehicle was included at no extra cost. Hotel staff were excellent and provided helpful assistance in choosing restaurants, tours etc.

Room Tip: Suggest requesting waterfront rooms as it appears that most have been recently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bird481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

Four friends visiting St. John's really enjoyed our stay here. The front Desk staff are cheery, friendly and extremely helpful. Our room overlooking the busy harbour were fantastic. Really clean and excellent beds! It's beautifull situated so that you can talk a nice walk down Water Street or Duckworth street or even up to Signal Hill. As you can tell, I really enjoyed staying here and would do so again. And will recommend to my friends. St. John's is a wonderful city to visit as our outlying regions like Trinity Bay. Will come back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeyotoroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My review covers two stays within one holiday at the Quality Hotel Harbourview - both of which were quite different from one another. In April we booked a 3 night stay for the beginning of our August Newfoundland vacation, as well as a 4th night at the end of the vacation. We booked on-line in order to secure the best rate, but did contact the hotel by phone when we found out there were no non-smoking rooms available. At that time, a very pleasant hotel clerk informed us that we should contact them the day of our arrival and they would ensure that their cleaning staff used a special process in order to clear the smoke as best they could. We went ahead and booked two double rooms, although we noted in the special request section that we would prefer non-smoking should they become available.

On the day we were scheduled to fly to Newfoundland, I again called the hotel directly as they had suggested and dealt again with a very pleasant clerk who told us that there had actually been cancellations and they had already switched us to two non-smoking rooms overlooking the harbour. We were thrilled with this news, and upon arrival at the hotel late that night, we were checked into the non-smoking rooms as promised for our 3 night stay. The desk staff were extremely pleasant and happy to help us. Our first 3 nights at the Quality Hotel were very enjoyable, the rooms were lovely, spotlessly clean and we had no complaints whatsoever. It was lovely being on the harbourside and watching the comings and goings of this very busy port. While there we had a family reunion at Rumplestiltskins (the on-site restaurant), which everyone very much enjoyed, so we were really looking forward to coming back for our last night in Newfoundland a few days later.

When we checked out after our first 3 nights, we asked the desk clerk about our 4th and final night booked for later in the week to see if there had been any cancellations that would enable us to have smoke-free rooms again. She said she would look after that right away for us, leading us to believe that we would be lucky enough to get non-smoking again for our final night. In fact, we were so convinced of this that we did not call ahead to the hotel the day we were returning to ask for the special cleaning pocess to be applied to our rooms.

When we returned to the hotel 6 days later, we arrived at 3:00 pm, one full hour after the posted check-in time. We enquired of the desk clerk if we were in fact going to get non-smoking rooms and were informed that we were not as we had booked smoking. We tried to explain that the desk clerk at check-out a few days earlier had led us to believe otherwise. This was met with a very curt "well, I don't know who that was and you are in smoking rooms". Further, he was not sure if the rooms were ready and had to go down the hall to check personally. When he returned, he told us that only one of the rooms was ready, and the other would not be ready for a few minutes. When asked if we should come back in 5 or 10 minutes, he suggested we would be better to give them half an hour. Although annoyed, the 4 of us took all of our luggage to the one room that was ready and went out for a walk.

We returned one hour and 35 minutes later (at 4:35) and stopped at the desk for the second key. Again, the clerk had to go down the hall and personally check, and he returned to say that they were just making up the beds and would be another 5 minutes! When I pointed out to him that in fact an hour and a half had passed since he told us it would be 30 minutes, he looked at the clock and again very curtly, told me that it had been only 35 minutes, so they were just a few minutes over. I pointed out to him that it was not 3:35, but 4:35 and that it had indeed now been more than an hour and a half. He could not even manage an apology when he realized his error. It should be pointed out again that according to our paperwork from the time of booking, check-in time at this hotel is 2:00 p.m. By the time our second room was ready, it was very close to 5:00 p.m. I truly would have expected that they might have put a priority on getting that 2nd room ready given that we had already arrived at the hotel!

We also observed pretty quickly that the smoking rooms get the left-over, tattered bedding (the bedding, etc. in the non-smoking rooms was noticeably newer and in better shape), older furniture, our bathtub had very prominent burn marks in it, and the room smelled strongly of smoke. While I realize that we had indeed had no choice but to book smoking rooms for lack of any others, I will definitely not stay in this hotel again if smoking rooms are all that is available. They are inferior in every way. As for the treatment of the desk clerk, and the lateness of our rooms being available, that was inexcusable to us. There was never so much as an apology for this.

In conclusion, we obviously had two very opposite experiences at this hotel, which in turn have lowered our ratings for this property. We are grateful that our first 3 days turned out so well and that we were able to get into non-smoking rooms, and if that was our sole experience, we would have rated the hotel much higher than we did, but if the last day's experience was all we had to go on, there would be no chance of returning to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Defintiely do not book a smoking room - the ones we had were very inferior to the non-smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lovesthesun-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We found ourselves needing a hotel for two nights while a large convention was going on in the city, so didn't have a lot of options. This place was expensive considering the lack of amenities (pool, breakfast), but we did have a great view of the harbour so the location couldn't have been better. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. The parking was convenient and free. Lots of stores and restaurants within walking distance...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The restaurant has a decent view and a decent menu. The rooms are pretty good. If they'd update other standard amenities, they'd be one of the best in the city. Parking is crowded, and it can be a little difficult to swing in there from the Hill O'Chips in the winter. But this place is a nice little base for a visit to St. John's and area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buchans79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to St. John's. The hotel is clean, well kept, and the service was great. The property is located within walking distance from the harbour, downtown, George Street, and Signal Hill.

For a great bite to eat, cross the street to Caines Market. They have great home made traditional food at very cheap prices.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CdotM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This was a mixed trip of business and vacation. Overall the place wasn't the best, we had some issues which were an inconvenience and we got past it.

This was my first visit to this hotel and was due to unforeseen circumstances that I chose it. I had booked two rooms online, one for my family and one for the Mother-in-law. When I checked in I told the desk clerk that the other room would be checking in shortly as they were about 15 min behind us on highway. Come to find out later that when she arrived, they told her there was no room booked for her. It took the desk clerk 10 minutes to find the room, despite being given the exact name it was under. Then there was an issue with them not getting the seniors discount. Unsure what the problem or resolution was there so cant speak to that much.

Upon getting to our room we discovered the fridge I had pre-requested was there. We had a baby with us and needed to store milk, so that was a plus that they provided one. The rooms don't come with a fridge apparently... so heads up there. The rooms are smaller then most places which was most noticeable once you setup your luggage on the racks. It gets cramped in there fairly quick and we couldn't keep the stroller inside as there was no where to put it. Had to keep it in hallway until we went to bed. If we needed a cot, there would have been no place to set it up for sure. The room had a noticeable odor. I could not place the smell but my best guess was that it was due to an old room with poor ventilation and dirty AC unit. All providing for high humidity. We had to keep our window and door open for a few hours to vent the place. It was reported to the front desk, they indicated housekeeping would take care of it but when they showed up they gave us towels and indicated there was nothing really they can do about it. The Mother-in-laws room also smelled, however theirs almost seemed like it used to be a smoking room, or someone recently smoked ALOT in it. The carpet appeared dirty and had numerous stains, which may have contributed to the smell ( See photos ). Noteworthy was the fact that the lobby appeared to have a strong odor at times as well, similar to the rooms, so maybe they have an overall air quality problem. The air in the hotel always seemed humid and heavy.

On the plus side the beds were fairly comfy and we did sleep well. There was concerns about noise as this hotel overlooks a busy tug boat dock. It was noisy during the day but for the most part once 6 or 7 PM hit the place shut down.

The restaurant had great a breakfast and friendly staff. They are busy with non-hotel patrons for evenings but if you mention you are a guest they seem to make it a priority to get you in. "Reservations Recommended" according to front desk.

One problem we did encounter was that the bathroom sink kept leaking bad. When I investigated there was about 2 tubes of caulking on the bottom of sink so it was obvious it needed replacement. Hotel staff said "Yeah we got a load that need to be replaced so we will add it to the list". Travelling with a baby we had to wash and sanitize bottles and related gear so this became a pain. I had to either refill the sink every 2 minutes or place towels on floor to catch the water.

Wireless Internet from room was slower then what you may have at home, but not as bad as most hotels I have stayed in. I was on second floor and sometimes this is dependent on where they have routers placed to.

Its a good location if your interested in the downtown thing, great view of the harbor for sure. I don't think I would stay here again, better value for $180.00 a night elsewhere. But if your stuck for a place to stay it will get you by. I tried to snap some pictures from phone, they aren't the best quality but better then nothing.

Room Tip: If you need a fridge they have them and can be requested in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrevorMNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
624 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
352 reviews
Homeport Apartment Hotel
#12 of 24 in St. John's
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada St. John's
#10 of 24 in St. John's
551 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 24 in St. John's
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Harbourview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Harbourview

Address: 2 Hill o' Chips, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range: £61 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Harbourview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of downtown St. John's, the Quality Hotel Harbourview is the perfect place to wake up to the first sunrise in North America. Steps away from whale watching, shopping, walking trails, art galleries and nightlife, the Quality Hotel is the perfect place to begin the day. Enjoy fresh, local seafood at our onsite restaurant Rumpelstiltskin's or fit in a workout at our onsite fitness centre. Whether for business or pleasure, there's no better place to experience St. John's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Harbourview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn St Johns
Quality Hotel St Johns
Quality Hotel Harbourview Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing