We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People who go the extra mile to help”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I can not say enough about the wonderful, helpful and compassionate staff that work in this hotel especially the reception staff. We had had a very bad experience with another hotel in St. John's and left quickly with no where to go and bitterly disappointed. The quality inn came to our rescue and just couldn't do enough to make our stay in St. John's a good experience. For friendliness, compassion and helpful staff you can go nowhere better. Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your great review of Quality Hotel, Harborview, St. John's. I was very pleased to learn you had recieved such great hospitality from our wonderful staff. We continuously strive to ensure all our valued guests are afforded the same excellent service. We truly value our patrons and we would be honored to have you stay with us again, should you be in the St. John's area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this Hotel.
My family was visiting and were staying at another Hotel in St. John's when we had to leave due to incredibly bad service.
The Quality Hotel took us in last minute and could not do enough to help us. They got all my family rooms together and found myself and my new husband a room for the night of our Blessing (the next night) at a very reasonable price. They even offered us a room to get ready in and offered to move our things incase the room we were due to stay in wasn't ready.
Katie and Jeremy on the front desk were so helpful and even went out of their way to buy us some flowers and jam in my wedding Blessing colours.
They didn't have to do anything like this and we were so touched.
The service was outstanding and the food next door hit the spot!
Thank you for everything you did for us!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraBC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

I am delighted you had such an incredibly pleasant stay with us at Quality Hotel, Harborview, St. John's. Congratulations on your recent marriage. It was great to hear our staff were able to make such an important occasion a little more special for you. We are always very proud of our staff here at the hotel....If you are ever in the St.John's area again, our staff would be more than happy to accommodate you. Thank you and, again, congratulations!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Staff were helpful and pleasant. The room was adequate for a one night stay but staying longer you might find it a bit small.within very easy walking distance of the downtown area and all it's restaurants. The beds were comfortable with a good supply of pillows.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view for interest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alreoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Quality Hotel, Harborview, St. John's. I was pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and had the oprrortunity to visit our beautiful downtown area. If you should return to the St. John's area, we would love to have you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This place is great for walking around downtown St. John's, the rooms are fine (if a bit small), and the service is great. It's a bit on the pricey side but not terribly out of line with what is available elsewhere in the downtown area. A better value can probably only be had at a B&B or hotel that is less conveniently located.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Director of Sales at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts, it sounds as though you thoroughly enjoyed your time at the Quality Hotel Harbourview St. John's. We are glad that our central downtown location suited your vacation well and allowed you to conveniently experience the wonderful sights and tastes of St. John's! Thank you for choosing our hotel, we hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel served us very well. We stayed a total of 5 nights there one at the beginning and 4 at the end. The harbour side room showed a very busy port but that was interesting and picturesque. We could walk to all the downtown attractions and drive to the rest. There is no parking in downtown so this was important. The hotel is not grand but the rooms were large enough, clean and the service was good. The price was outstanding for St. Johns. All in all this was great value and we would come back.

Room Tip: harbourside is busy but we would do that again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwaycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Director of Sales at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Hi Bwaycan,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts, it sounds as though you thoroughly enjoyed your time at the Quality Hotel Harbourview St. John's. We are glad that our central downtown location suited your vacation well and allowed you to conveniently experience the wonderful sights and tastes of St. John's! Thank you for choosing our hotel, we hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at the Quality Hotel for 7 nights. I highly recommend this hotel as it is reasonably priced, there is a good restaurant attached, the staff are friendly, the parking is free, you are right downtown St. John's, and it is clean.

We had a harborview room, and I would suggest booking one of these rooms. Such a beautiful view.

I only have 2 complaints. First, the bed in my room, Room 321, was terrible. It is very hard and difficult to sleep on. I would suggest management go up and see for yourselves. The second complaint is the hotel could use a bit of paint, especially room 321.

Having said those 2 complaints, it's still a fantastic place to say.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Director of Sales at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Hi Wendy,

Thank you for your honest and specific feedback. I will personally look into the beds and paint in room 321.

Your lovely comments about our staff and amentities are very much appreciated! It sounds as though you had a wonderful stay at our welcoming and clean hotel. We will pass along your comments to our phenomenal team and we look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,
Julie
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

free parking and fairly clean but had to pay a lot more to get a harbour view; did not find the front desk staff friendly at all; when asking for information, it felt we were putting the staff out. Bar was a nice area but expensive.

Room Tip: no pool or hot tub, really, only redeeming grace is it's location; expensive in restaurant and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crane54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Director of Sales at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Crane54,

Thank you for spending your time to give us straight and detailed feedback.

It is important to us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable at our hotel. That requires a helpful, friendly and very obliging service at any time. The behaviour of our employees admits of no excuse. It’s a shame that you felt like a bother to our staff. We will ventilate this topic with those responsible and figure out the problem. We thank you very much for your helpful and reasonable criticism.

It’s very pleasing that you remarked on our complimentary parking and location. We are also very happy that you noticed the cleanliness of the rooms.

We really hope you will give us a second chance to impress you.

Yours in Hospitality,
Juile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
348 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
622 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 24 in St. John's
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Homeport Apartment Hotel
#12 of 24 in St. John's
199 reviews
Comfort Inn Airport
#10 of 24 in St. John's
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Harbourview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Harbourview

Address: 2 Hill o' Chips, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range: £62 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Harbourview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of downtown St. John's, the Quality Hotel Harbourview is the perfect place to wake up to the first sunrise in North America. Steps away from whale watching, shopping, walking trails, art galleries and nightlife, the Quality Hotel is the perfect place to begin the day. Enjoy fresh, local seafood at our onsite restaurant Rumpelstiltskin's or fit in a workout at our onsite fitness centre. Whether for business or pleasure, there's no better place to experience St. John's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Harbourview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn St Johns
Quality Hotel St Johns
Quality Hotel Harbourview Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing