We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The staff were very good and helpful, nothing was a problem.. When we arrived and went to our room discovered our view was the car park. We asked if we could change to a room with a view, got a harbour view and would definitely recommend anyone staying to get a harbour view it was fantastic. Rooms a little outdated but clean. Meals were good in the hotel and reasonably priced. Coffee and tea facilities in room. There is an ATM in hotel which was handy. Location good as it was just a short walk into town but it is on a steep hill, but then again St Johns is quiet hilly. The people in St Johns are the friendliest I have met even the motorists stop to let you cross. There is parking at the hotel which is handy as it is limited down town. I would recommend going on a tour to see the sights, we went on Legend tours the guide was very knowledgable and took us everywhere of interest. A bit disappointed that the boat tours were finished they stop 28 th sept. would have loved to go to see the whales.

Room Tip: Get a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela209953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your recent review of Quality Hotel, Harborview, St. John's. It was great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our staff are always striving to ensure our guests receive exceptional service. The harborview does provide a more esthetically pleasing view and I was pleased to know we were able to accommodate you. Parking can be frustrating in the downtown area, which is why we offer complimentary underground parking to all our guests. I'm sure you enjoyed all the sights and sounds St. John's had to offer. If you are in the area again, we would love to have you stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

The price was high (165$ a night), but that is actually normal for any hotel room in St John's, at any time. We travelled there at the end of September, and pretty much everything was booked. We were lucky to get 4 nights (Fri to Tues). The location is absolutely perfect. It is located right on the harbour, at the foot of Signal Hill, steps from Water street and Duckworth street (pubs and shops and restaurants) and a few minutes walk from famous George street. Yet, it was surprisingly quiet at night, because it is located in a corner, and we slept very well.
The staff at the reception desk was very nice and helpful. No complaints there! We saw many employees in our 4 night stay, and they were all very efficient and nice. They made us feel like it was important to not keep us waiting for anything.
The room was really big, and we had two queen beds, and everything was really good in the room. We didn't spend lots of time in the hotel room, because there SO much to see and do in and around town, but the times we were there, we enjoyed the tv (good channel selection), large bathroom, a nice large table on which we ate breakfast, etc (The only negative point is just that: breakfast is not included, not even continental breakfast. So we bought bread and peanut butter lol)
Overall, based on my experience, I really recommend this hotel for a good base to explore St John's!

Room Tip: A lot of other people recommended to ask for harbour view, but it is really not necessary, as the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your recent review of Quality Hotel, Harborview, St. John's. I was pleased to know you had such an enjoyable stay in our beautiful city. Being located in the heart of downtown, allows patrons to explore the various sights, sounds and events the area has to offer. Our rates are very comparable to other properties in this area. We pride ourselves on our exceptional "Newfoundland" hospitality. Our staff are always eager to give an extra effort for our guests. Because the Restaurant in the Hotel lobby is independently owned and operated, we are unable to offer continental breakfast. The Restaurant does offer a full breakfast menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The room was clean and comfortable although the decor was a little dated for the price. The cleaning staff (Annie) went above and beyond to try and make sure my room was scent free due to my allergies. It was wonderful to be able to have a parking space as St Johns does not have a lot of parking spots.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your recent review of Quality Hotel, Harborview, St. John's. I was pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We are continuously updating our premises to be in line with current standards. We pride ourselves on our exceptional housekeeping and reception services. it was nice you got to experience this firsthand! ...and yes, parking can certainly be a nightmare in downtown St. John's. We are pleased to offer complimentary underground parking to all our guests. Thank you for your recent stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I can not say enough about the wonderful, helpful and compassionate staff that work in this hotel especially the reception staff. We had had a very bad experience with another hotel in St. John's and left quickly with no where to go and bitterly disappointed. The quality inn came to our rescue and just couldn't do enough to make our stay in St. John's a good experience. For friendliness, compassion and helpful staff you can go nowhere better. Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your great review of Quality Hotel, Harborview, St. John's. I was very pleased to learn you had recieved such great hospitality from our wonderful staff. We continuously strive to ensure all our valued guests are afforded the same excellent service. We truly value our patrons and we would be honored to have you stay with us again, should you be in the St. John's area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this Hotel.
My family was visiting and were staying at another Hotel in St. John's when we had to leave due to incredibly bad service.
The Quality Hotel took us in last minute and could not do enough to help us. They got all my family rooms together and found myself and my new husband a room for the night of our Blessing (the next night) at a very reasonable price. They even offered us a room to get ready in and offered to move our things incase the room we were due to stay in wasn't ready.
Katie and Jeremy on the front desk were so helpful and even went out of their way to buy us some flowers and jam in my wedding Blessing colours.
They didn't have to do anything like this and we were so touched.
The service was outstanding and the food next door hit the spot!
Thank you for everything you did for us!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraBC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

I am delighted you had such an incredibly pleasant stay with us at Quality Hotel, Harborview, St. John's. Congratulations on your recent marriage. It was great to hear our staff were able to make such an important occasion a little more special for you. We are always very proud of our staff here at the hotel....If you are ever in the St.John's area again, our staff would be more than happy to accommodate you. Thank you and, again, congratulations!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Staff were helpful and pleasant. The room was adequate for a one night stay but staying longer you might find it a bit small.within very easy walking distance of the downtown area and all it's restaurants. The beds were comfortable with a good supply of pillows.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view for interest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alreoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Quality Hotel, Harborview, St. John's. I was pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and had the oprrortunity to visit our beautiful downtown area. If you should return to the St. John's area, we would love to have you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This place is great for walking around downtown St. John's, the rooms are fine (if a bit small), and the service is great. It's a bit on the pricey side but not terribly out of line with what is available elsewhere in the downtown area. A better value can probably only be had at a B&B or hotel that is less conveniently located.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Director of Sales at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts, it sounds as though you thoroughly enjoyed your time at the Quality Hotel Harbourview St. John's. We are glad that our central downtown location suited your vacation well and allowed you to conveniently experience the wonderful sights and tastes of St. John's! Thank you for choosing our hotel, we hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
344 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
621 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 24 in St. John's
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada St. John's
#11 of 24 in St. John's
547 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Monastery Spa & Suites
#22 of 24 in St. John's
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Harbourview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Harbourview

Address: 2 Hill o' Chips, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range: £67 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Harbourview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of downtown St. John's, the Quality Hotel Harbourview is the perfect place to wake up to the first sunrise in North America. Steps away from whale watching, shopping, walking trails, art galleries and nightlife, the Quality Hotel is the perfect place to begin the day. Enjoy fresh, local seafood at our onsite restaurant Rumpelstiltskin's or fit in a workout at our onsite fitness centre. Whether for business or pleasure, there's no better place to experience St. John's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Harbourview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn St Johns
Quality Hotel St Johns
Quality Hotel Harbourview Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing