We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok place but a little tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Harbourview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok place but a little tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Generally it was a good place, the staff are nice, helpful friendly. The hallway and rooms look a bit tired. Parking lot is large so there was lots of parking available, Caution** Only there was a weird cement curb on the way down from one level to the out level of the parking lot, that sticks out. Can't see it so you may run it over. The hotel restaurant was pretty good too. we had a harbor view it was ok. You can see and sometimes hear the action down on the docks though.

Room Tip: harbor view it was ok, but if you are a light sleeper try to get the city view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterloo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am glad to hear that you did get a harbor view room as these rooms are generally the first to go. I am glad to say that we will be renovating all our rooms, hallways and also our lobby early in the new year. With these renovations the hotel will have a modern look and feel to it.

Once again I would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again and experience our newly renovated rooms.

Management and staff
Quality Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    162
    106
    26
    9
See reviews for
50
131
41
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I thought we could easily get accommodation in St. John's in off-season (middle of October) as we had been successful 'winging it' through Newfoundland. Boy, were we wrong! When we arrived in Newfoundland all the B & B's were booked. We decided to try The Quality Hotel. They had room for us on one night, but not the next. Geraldine and Anne then spent over half an hour phoning around until they finally found us two nights at Rendell Shea Manor. (Excellent and well priced. See my review on it.)

I cannot begin to describe how helpful Geraldine and Anne were. They actually found us another B & B before Rendell Shea Manor, but it was rather expensive, so they kept phoning around, They were determined to help us and, in addition, had a great sense of humour. If this is any indication of the overall service at The Quality Hotel, I can highly recommend it. Also, two friends of mine stayed there this fall and were very pleased with their harbour view room. By the way, you get the best deal by booking ahead, on-line. Next time we will do that!

Room Tip: Apparently, according to our friends, a harbour view room is very interesting as you can watch the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyfulTaveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Quality Hotel, Harborview, St. John's. Although you were not able to stay with us, it was great to hear you still had a positive experience. Our reception staff are always striving to ensure our guests (or even potential guests!) are pleased with the service they receive. If you are travelling this way again, please feel free to call the hotel directly and we will do our best to accommodate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

The staff were very good and helpful, nothing was a problem.. When we arrived and went to our room discovered our view was the car park. We asked if we could change to a room with a view, got a harbour view and would definitely recommend anyone staying to get a harbour view it was fantastic. Rooms a little outdated but clean. Meals were good in the hotel and reasonably priced. Coffee and tea facilities in room. There is an ATM in hotel which was handy. Location good as it was just a short walk into town but it is on a steep hill, but then again St Johns is quiet hilly. The people in St Johns are the friendliest I have met even the motorists stop to let you cross. There is parking at the hotel which is handy as it is limited down town. I would recommend going on a tour to see the sights, we went on Legend tours the guide was very knowledgable and took us everywhere of interest. A bit disappointed that the boat tours were finished they stop 28 th sept. would have loved to go to see the whales.

Room Tip: Get a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela209953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Quality Hotel, Harborview, St. John's. It was great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our staff are always striving to ensure our guests receive exceptional service. The harborview does provide a more esthetically pleasing view and I was pleased to know we were able to accommodate you. Parking can be frustrating in the downtown area, which is why we offer complimentary underground parking to all our guests. I'm sure you enjoyed all the sights and sounds St. John's had to offer. If you are in the area again, we would love to have you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

The price was high (165$ a night), but that is actually normal for any hotel room in St John's, at any time. We travelled there at the end of September, and pretty much everything was booked. We were lucky to get 4 nights (Fri to Tues). The location is absolutely perfect. It is located right on the harbour, at the foot of Signal Hill, steps from Water street and Duckworth street (pubs and shops and restaurants) and a few minutes walk from famous George street. Yet, it was surprisingly quiet at night, because it is located in a corner, and we slept very well.
The staff at the reception desk was very nice and helpful. No complaints there! We saw many employees in our 4 night stay, and they were all very efficient and nice. They made us feel like it was important to not keep us waiting for anything.
The room was really big, and we had two queen beds, and everything was really good in the room. We didn't spend lots of time in the hotel room, because there SO much to see and do in and around town, but the times we were there, we enjoyed the tv (good channel selection), large bathroom, a nice large table on which we ate breakfast, etc (The only negative point is just that: breakfast is not included, not even continental breakfast. So we bought bread and peanut butter lol)
Overall, based on my experience, I really recommend this hotel for a good base to explore St John's!

Room Tip: A lot of other people recommended to ask for harbour view, but it is really not necessary, as the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Quality Hotel, Harborview, St. John's. I was pleased to know you had such an enjoyable stay in our beautiful city. Being located in the heart of downtown, allows patrons to explore the various sights, sounds and events the area has to offer. Our rates are very comparable to other properties in this area. We pride ourselves on our exceptional "Newfoundland" hospitality. Our staff are always eager to give an extra effort for our guests. Because the Restaurant in the Hotel lobby is independently owned and operated, we are unable to offer continental breakfast. The Restaurant does offer a full breakfast menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The room was clean and comfortable although the decor was a little dated for the price. The cleaning staff (Annie) went above and beyond to try and make sure my room was scent free due to my allergies. It was wonderful to be able to have a parking space as St Johns does not have a lot of parking spots.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Quality Hotel, Harborview, St. John's. I was pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We are continuously updating our premises to be in line with current standards. We pride ourselves on our exceptional housekeeping and reception services. it was nice you got to experience this firsthand! ...and yes, parking can certainly be a nightmare in downtown St. John's. We are pleased to offer complimentary underground parking to all our guests. Thank you for your recent stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I can not say enough about the wonderful, helpful and compassionate staff that work in this hotel especially the reception staff. We had had a very bad experience with another hotel in St. John's and left quickly with no where to go and bitterly disappointed. The quality inn came to our rescue and just couldn't do enough to make our stay in St. John's a good experience. For friendliness, compassion and helpful staff you can go nowhere better. Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your great review of Quality Hotel, Harborview, St. John's. I was very pleased to learn you had recieved such great hospitality from our wonderful staff. We continuously strive to ensure all our valued guests are afforded the same excellent service. We truly value our patrons and we would be honored to have you stay with us again, should you be in the St. John's area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this Hotel.
My family was visiting and were staying at another Hotel in St. John's when we had to leave due to incredibly bad service.
The Quality Hotel took us in last minute and could not do enough to help us. They got all my family rooms together and found myself and my new husband a room for the night of our Blessing (the next night) at a very reasonable price. They even offered us a room to get ready in and offered to move our things incase the room we were due to stay in wasn't ready.
Katie and Jeremy on the front desk were so helpful and even went out of their way to buy us some flowers and jam in my wedding Blessing colours.
They didn't have to do anything like this and we were so touched.
The service was outstanding and the food next door hit the spot!
Thank you for everything you did for us!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraBC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
I am delighted you had such an incredibly pleasant stay with us at Quality Hotel, Harborview, St. John's. Congratulations on your recent marriage. It was great to hear our staff were able to make such an important occasion a little more special for you. We are always very proud of our staff here at the hotel....If you are ever in the St.John's area again, our staff would be more than happy to accommodate you. Thank you and, again, congratulations!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 24 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Downtown
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#7 of 24 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Harbourview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Harbourview

Property: Quality Hotel Harbourview
Address: 2 Hill O'Chips, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Harbourview 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of downtown St. John's, the Quality Hotel Harbourview is the perfect place to wake up to the first sunrise in North America. Steps away from whale watching, shopping, walking trails, art galleries and nightlife, the Quality Hotel is the perfect place to begin the day. Enjoy fresh, local seafood at our onsite restaurant Rumpelstiltskin's or fit in a workout at our onsite fitness centre. Whether for business or pleasure, there's no better place to experience St. John's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Harbourview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn St Johns
Quality Hotel St Johns
Quality Hotel Harbourview Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing