We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No whales, but icebergs and great views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iceberg Quest Ocean Tours

Iceberg Quest Ocean Tours
Ranked #1 of 17 Tours in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join Newfoundland's award-winning boat tour Iceberg Quest as we depart from the heart of downtown St. John's. Walking distance from hotels and B&B's, our two hour fully narrated tour lets you experience Cape Spear, Cabot Tower, and Fort Amherst from the sea. Witness the world's largest concentration of humpback whales, watching as they thrust their massive 40 ton bodies into the air. Show times may vary! Steam through the passageway of 12,000 year old icebergs and view the elegant Atlantic Puffin. Both entertaining and educational, our narrated tour is fun for the whole family. Private charters and special packages available. Departing daily at 9:30am, 1:00pm, 4:00pm and 7:00pm, our tours offer traditional music, snacks and full bar service, and 'screech-ins'. We invite you to "Step aboard. Experience the WONDER!"
Ajax
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No whales, but icebergs and great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We got up close to the giant iceberg at Cape Spear. The team even fished out some chunks of it for us to touch and taste. Views of coast were amazing, and the crew was very friendly and knowledgeable. A great way to finish our trip to St. John's.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lockski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    58
    27
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
157 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Icebergs, Bergy Bits and Growlers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Walked to their Pier 6 kiosk behind The Keg restaurant from the nearby Delta Hotel in late May but it was always closed. Finally, on June 1st it was open at 1:00 PM and there was already a lineup to board the small vessel which looked like a two-level tugboat. Yes, the woman said, there was room but the cost was $67.50 and no, she did not take credit cards. So I forked over the cash and we chugged out of the harbour, past Cabot Tower on Signal Hill then, out The Narrows and onto the open ocean. Tours are weather dependent but this day was sunny and cold with mostly smooth seas. Still, a few people who had a full lunch before jumping on board became queasy with the pitch and roll of the boat. Crew were prepared with plastic bags containing crumpled newspaper. Luckily nobody needed them. There was not a full load of passengers so we could spread out with some staying up top while others hung onto the side rails or stayed inside the large windows on the main level where it was warmer. The captain provided commentary as crew sold refreshments inside. This was a great iceberg season and we had seen bergs off Signal Hill and Cape Spear on a land tour a few days before. Now we were up close and circling the large one with a central arch off Cape Spear. All digital cameras on board were in full operational mode. The color variations in the ice were amazing as were the hissing and sloshing sounds. We sailed on past Cape Spear (the easternmost point in North American according to the captain) then returned to the big berg. In our absence huge chunks had fallen off the arch and the surrounding waters were now full of many smaller bergy bits and clear ice called growlers. We carefully made our way through then started the return trip past some cliffs where birds were nesting although we did not see any. The crew then held a Screech-In ceremony where mainlanders could become Honorary Newfoundlanders by downing a shot of Screech (potent rum), reciting a tongue-twisting verse and kissing a cod. However, because of the moratorium on North Atlantic cod fishing (and the high ‘ick’ factor), they substituted a plush toy puffin called Peter for the dead fish. None of the ten inductees, who had each paid $10 for the experience, objected to the change. Back at the dock they received their official certificate of Newfie citizenship. We did not see any whales because, we were told, they come for the small fish called capelin and it was too early in the season. A good reason for a return trip! As we headed to the dock in St. John’s after about a three-hour cruise, the captain made this final poetic statement: “wind and waves may tip the boat but only you can tip the crew!” Sure, it was a lot of fun.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank xygb7dklt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you've never seen an iceberg up close, you will on this trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was there on business, so took the 4:00 PM tour (9:30, 1:00, 4:00 or 6:30). Thank goodness the weather was as clear as a bell, we started the tour with a 'berg that was just outside the entrance to the harbour. It stood about ten stories tall, so with 90% of the mass below the water, it was grounded on the seabed! It was also graced with beautiful blue streaks, where the snow and ice had melted and refrozen. So impressive! To be in a boat right beside the berg is the only way to truly see how massive these things are. It is truly awesome!
We went on to see another berg near the Cape even larger than the previous, at least in height. Then into the north Atlantic and saw several Humpback Whales with a baby as well! Again, just Awesome, especially since the whales were sounding right near the boat.......what an impressive beast!
I heartily recommend this tour if you ever get the chance.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

A perfect way to see the icebergs up close and even got a sight of a humpback whale a few 100 yards away from the boat....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 74frisky07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must! Brilliant trip all round!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent trip, my daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed every moment. The crew were so friendly and very professional.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Young766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iceberg Quest Ocean Tours also viewed

 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Iceberg Quest Ocean Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing