We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel rocks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murray Premises Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Located right down town. Stay here and walk every where. This place has it all, excellent rooms, excellent cleaniness, awesome and helpful staff. The shower and bath rooms are huge in the room I stayed in and the breakfast is a good way to start your day. The patio bar during the summer months is an excellent venue to start the George Street shuffle. I will recommend this hotel to anyone who is coming to St.John's.

Ben H

Room Tip: rooms in the seperate section are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Ben
Thanks for the great review, we're so glad you like our little hotel and all it has to offer! We look forward to your next visit.
Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is my favorite hotel, when my children don`t travel with me, in St. John`s. It is a business travelers dream. Spacious, comfortable rooms with all the amenities. Rooms steeped in history and strategically placed in the beautiful downtown core of the oldest city in North America = an amazing experience. Rates are good also. Check them out, you will thank me!

Ian Davidson

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elevation02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Ian,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments, we are delighted you enjoy our hotel and all it offers. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great hotel. Room is very generous in size. Jacuzzi bath is fantastic after a long day. The continental breakfast is always served with a smile! Room is cleaned every day to a high standard. All the staff at reception greet us every day with a smile and hello and are very helpful with anything you need.

Hope to be back again soon

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grampianchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, I'll certainly pass along your comments to our wonderful staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotel sits right on the waterfront in St. John's harbour.
We could look right into the ships anchored for the night.
The hotel is close to shopping (1 block), great restaurants and entertainment.
The hotel beds are cosy with a fireplace in our room and a wonderful bathroom with walk-in shower.
The robe in the closet was a welcomed surprise.
Lots of room to work on the desk and plug-ins to charge everything.
The staff helped with a twinkle in their eyes - how nice.
I have to return in the future!

Room Tip: Get a room with the walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remerson36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and all aspects of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice. The first time was for 2 nights, the night before our wedding and the night of. I absolutely love this hotel it's beautiful. The staff are friendly and accommodating and they have a pretty descent continental breakfast.. Also, you are literally steps away from Water Street in downtown St. John's where there are tons of fabulous restaurants, great coffee shops and good shopping.
I would recommend this hotel for its location alone!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest ,
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for choosing us for your wedding night, we look forward to celebrating many more occasions with you... or even a get a way night.
Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

For a first time visit to St Johns, Murrays Premises has been welcoming, very friendly and helpful.The rooms are unique, warm and spacious with great bathroom facilities.
Its location is ideal for local shops, amenities and restaurants.
I love the room and also the guest computer room facilities which was ideal for business use.
The staff, Nikki and her team are efficient, helpful and professional. The reception staff provided a personal touch to all our requirements.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weerambolina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great comments. We are so glad we've made your first visit to St. John's an enjoyable one. Thank you for your comments on our staff, we're happy to make you feel at home.
Many thanks,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Murray Premises is absolutely tops. I have stayed at lots of hotels in St John's and across Canada. To me Murray Premises is the BEST. Each room is uniquely designed and each room is very clean and well appointed and many have a Jacuzzi .All of the staff are efficient, knowledgeable and very friendly. The complimentary breakfast offers a really good range of delicious and healthy hot and cold food. And the location is the heart of historic St Johns is unbeatable with wonderful shops and restaurants and the harbor just steps outside of the hotel .Travel is not always fun but on my frequent trips to St John's I can always count on a warm welcome and a truly comfortable stay at Murray Premises. Most of my travel is business but I have raved about this hotel to my wife and son and look forward to having them travel with me to stay at Murray Premises in St John's!!!!

Room Tip: Each room is unique. Ask for a Jacuzzi room and the friendly staff will do their best to find you on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful comments, we certainly appreciate your business, We find, with so many guests like you who stay with us frequently become part of the family. We hope we continue to earn your loyalty. Again, thank you for posting such wonderful comments, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 23 in St. John's
337 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 23 in St. John's
846 reviews
Downtown
Delta by Marriott St. John's Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 23 in St. John's
406 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Premises Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Premises Hotel

Address: Murray Premises 5 Beck's Cove | Box 208, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £108 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Murray Premises Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown St. John's on the harbour front you'll find Murray Premises Hotel. Nestled in the heart of St. John's business district, close to all amenities - restaurants (2 independent located inside the hotel), shopping, night life and tourist attractions. Murray Premises Hotel is walking distance from Mile One Centre, St. John's Convention Centre, Historic Signal Hill, and the exciting night life of George Street. All guest rooms have luxury items such as electric fireplaces, oversized whirlpool tubs, and towel warmers. The Hotel's Executive Rooms offer guests luxury accommodations with two-person air massage tubs, full-body showers, stone fireplaces, and heated floors. All guests can enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast in our private lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Murray Premises Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Premises St Johns
Hotel Murray Premises
Murray Premises Hotel Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing