We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Historic Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murray Premises Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A charming hotel on the harbour that is close to everything! It is a lovely historic site turned into a 5 star hotel. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed, jacuzzi tube and large bathroom. It was also nice to have the fireplace. The continental breakfast was good. I would suggest a room facing the courtyard vs the road. There is no gym or pool.

Room Tip: face the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolandIra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding Murray Premises Hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the amenities we offer. Hopefully your travel plans will bring you back our way again soon.
Thanks again.
Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Historic and old world feel. Large traditional rooms. Free and good wifi connection. Adequate buffet breakfast. Ideal location for business and leisure needs. Will use again. Connected Gypsy tea room restaurant is excellent for food and service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments about Murray Premises Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and overall amenities. We look forward to your return.
Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Love the location, close to shopping and Restaurants. The waterfront view, rooms are fabulous especially the bathrooms! Fantastic place for staying in comfort while attending a concert, so handy Mile One and of course George Street. Porters and Front Desk Clerks are extremely knowledgable and friendly. Always have a great stay!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Darlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments about Murray Premises Hotel, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Guests do love our bathrooms...spacious with deluxe amenities such as heated towel warmers and spa showers certainly add to the experience.
We look forward to having you back again soon.
Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed over the Victoria Day weekend and couldn't have asked for a better weekend. Got to check-in early which was nice and all the staff were friendly and accommodating.
Amazing location right by the harbor and George/Water streets.

Nice large washroom with Jacuzzi tub and huge shower.
I wish we could've stayed longer.

Don't hesitate to stay here if you're visiting St. John's.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comments, we certainly appreciate you noting the staff at Murray Premises Hotel as being friendly and accommodating, we certainly try to be.
We're glad you enjoyed the location, we also love the location and working in the heart of downtown St. John's. Hopefully your travels will take you back our way soon.
Regards
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I had the pleasure of spending 4 days for a management meeting at the Murray Premises Hotel. There were 12 of us from across the country and each of us had our own rooms. Each room was unique, fabulous and large. The morning continental breakfast was fresh with plenty of food. The hotel staff went above and beyond to make sure that both individually and collectively we were taken care of. The hotel is located to all the great shops and restaurants. This was my first time to St. Johns but it will definitely not be my last.

Gerald- Ontario

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting these wonderful comments about Murray Premises Hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the lovely comments on our staff, I'll be sure to pass it on to them. I'm glad you enjoyed our breakfast, guests certainly seem to enjoy our fresh fruit and fresh scones and muffins delivered daily by a local bakery, along with our other menu items.
Hopefully your travels will take you back to St. John's soon and another visit to Murray Premises Hotel.
Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Work brought me to St. John's for the most part of 4 months, and the entire time I stayed at the Murray Premises. The Murray has a very home-like feel that you won't find at any other hotel, especially the big chains. The old wooden beams and architecture make it unique and cozy, and every room has its own character. I found the accommodations suited my needs quite well, especially for the long stay. The location is excellent, right in the heart of downtown and insanely close to the best places to eat. Its just a few steps from Water Street and George Street, with the waterfront on the other side. The staff was friendly and tended to my needs, especially Nikki Poole (Special Arrangements Manager). I will definitely return to St. John's for fun one day, and I will only be staying here.

Room Tip: Talk to the Special Arrangements Manager for your stay! There are a variety of rooms, all with diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments and your business. It's been great having you stay with us for the past 4 months, we are delighted you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. Hopefully you'll have the opportunity to find your way back to St. John's in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back with us.
Regards
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Book with confidence for a fantastic St.John's experience - whether for personal or business.

The Murray Premises Hotel is a quiet, quaint home away from home, located literally steps from great local culture and sight-seeing. (Not to mention those infamous George St watering holes). The hotel was a great fit for our company meetings, and all of us were impressed by its warm and welcoming staff.

Their guest rooms are unique - no two the same - typically featuring exposed brick, wooden posts/beams, and impressive showers. You'd be hard-pressed to find a boutique hotel in Canada with a larger average room size. Kudos to the cleaning staff for keeping those big rooms spotless.

If you're considering booking this hotel for personal or business purposes, you won't find a more convenient, accommodating, comfortable hotel than the Murray Premises.

Bravo to hotel manager Nikki Poole for her help this week.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveClarkeTMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I'm delighted your stay went well, thank you for noting our staff, especially our housekeeping staff and Nikki, I'll be sure to pass along your comments to them.
We look forward to your next stay.
Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 23 in St. John's
337 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 23 in St. John's
846 reviews
Downtown
Delta by Marriott St. John's Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 23 in St. John's
406 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Premises Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Premises Hotel

Address: Murray Premises 5 Beck's Cove | Box 208, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £109 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Murray Premises Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown St. John's on the harbour front you'll find Murray Premises Hotel. Nestled in the heart of St. John's business district, close to all amenities - restaurants (2 independent located inside the hotel), shopping, night life and tourist attractions. Murray Premises Hotel is walking distance from Mile One Centre, St. John's Convention Centre, Historic Signal Hill, and the exciting night life of George Street. All guest rooms have luxury items such as electric fireplaces, oversized whirlpool tubs, and towel warmers. The Hotel's Executive Rooms offer guests luxury accommodations with two-person air massage tubs, full-body showers, stone fireplaces, and heated floors. All guests can enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast in our private lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Murray Premises Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Premises St Johns
Hotel Murray Premises
Murray Premises Hotel Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing