We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Murray Premises Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our hotel room preserved the historic feeling of the original building. In fact, it took my breath away upon entering it for the first time. Yes, it was dark but I loved the woodwork, quiet, bathroom and view. Slept great! Super location for exploring both the waterfront and the night life and quaint streets of St. John's. Breakfast was just okay, the seating ought to be changed to open up the food area more. Front desk staff was helpful.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor ( there are elevators) for the wood beamed, vaulted ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding Murray Premises Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, hopefully we'll have the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.
Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    176
    54
    14
    4
See reviews for
37
325
20
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Best location, excellent parking, very large room (#216), very quiet even though close to Water street, best hotel bed I've slept in, good TV, WIFI works well, good access to street level, shower pressure a bit too strong, a bit worn, very clean, would stay here next time, quiet AC.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaway24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your wonderful comments on Murray Premises Hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lameque
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I having nothing but good things to say. Nice spacious room, loved the decor, staff very friendly, location can't get any better. You can walk and explore dowtown St John's from this hotel without having to drive. Surrounded by good restaurants. Overall, i highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poulegolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your wonderful comments, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Murray Premises Hotel and look forward to your next visit.
Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was my first time in St. Johns and picked Murray Premises because of good reviews on TA and the location. I will say, the location is what makes it. I was thrilled to be so close to so many bars/restaurants/sightseeing tours/must-see-spots. I also found it to be quite clean, and the staff friendly. This really is the best place to be situated to explore St. Johns. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the linens were nice. Another great perk, free bottles of water and a good sized refrigerator in the room.

Now for the cons. The room is very dark, and has a 1970's appeal. The colors...and carpet. I can imagine the room is really nice in the cold weather. I was there in July. The bathroom is really nice, but the shower pressure was too hard. I never say that! the shower head wasn't adjustable and was too firm. The breakfast was awful. I've had better at Motel 6. You'd think for the prices that they could come up with something a little better.

I plan to return to St. Johns next summer, and may stay again, just for the location and cleanliness. Not for the breakfast or room look.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahDanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments on Murray Premises Hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed the location and found the staff friendly and the hotel clean. I'm sorry you found the room dark, we are working on better lighting in some of our rooms. With regards to the breakfast, I certainly encourage you to contact me as we'd certainly appreciate suggestions on how to make things better. We serve a deluxe continental breakfast, we have fresh scones and muffins delivered each morning at 6:30 am from a local bakery, along with our selection of bagels, breads, cereals, yogurts, cheese, boiled eggs, juices, yogurts and a variety of fresh fruit along with a wonderful staff as host, it's usually a great start to the day.
Again, thank you for your comments and look forward to your next stay.
Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a deluxe jacquzi suite on 3rd floor. There was a tiny window in corner with a harbour view but was useless as there was no way to sit in front of window with how cramped it was with angeled ceilings plus there is the jack astors and keg building blocking the view. The room was dark and dungeon like, the furniture old and the decor outdated. We booked this room because it was suppose to be historic but it does not feel historic, just old and rundown. This hotel was one of the most expensive places to stay in downtown and yes it is a stones throw from george st but any of the hotels are really only a 5-15mins walk away or 7 dollar cab ride away. There was really no ameneties for this high priced room, no airport shuttle, nothing special in the room was provided, no gym, no value added. The staff really were not overally nice or helpful. I was celebrating my 40th birthday and my husband asked for them to have a small suprise in room waiting and they woudnt do anything. We tried to go for drinks on their restaurant patio and it wasclosed for a private group. We were booked to stay 4 nights and after 2 nights we canceled and moved to another hotel minutes away for 120 less a night, fitness area, kitchette, and shuttle to airport. I was heartbroken with what the murray premises had to offer and almost ruined my first trip to newfoundland.....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bernie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. As all of our rooms are different, I'm sorry we didn't offer to move you to another room. All of the furniture in the rooms are custom made maple furniture, our air massage tubs, towel warmers and complimentary breakfast are usually a nice treat for our guests. The architectural design of the building does give the sloped ceilings which adds character to the building. We're proud of the work done with this 168 year old building. Perhaps if there is another opportunity you can contact me personally to make your arrangements.
Again, thank you for your comments.
Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

They went out of their way to make sure we were happy. Rooms were large and clean. Bathrooms were big as ball fields.
Tremendously well located for touring. Go out the back door and you are in the heart of downtown St. John's. Across the street is the harbour.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment regarding Murray Premises Hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel is old and dated. They have done some nice updates but the single window is very small so lighting in the room is inadequate. The hotel is very well located across from the harbour and close to all the nightlife on George Street and shopping on Water Street. The staff were very nice and helpful and breakfast was adequate. Atmosphere is lacking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about Murray Premises Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed the location and breakfast. Thank you for noting that you found our staff nice and helpful. I'm sorry you found the hotel old and dated, we've certainly worked hard to turn a 168 year old building into a beautiful hotel. We try to maintain some of the old character of the building while trying to stay modern and fresh. We are constantly upgrading our guestrooms and amenities. Hopefully on your next visit you'll see some of our changes. Thanks again for your comments.
Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
301 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
777 reviews
Downtown
Delta by Marriott St. John's Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 22 in St. John's
399 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Premises Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Premises Hotel

Property: Murray Premises Hotel
Address: Murray Premises 5 Beck's Cove | Box 208, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Murray Premises Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown St. John's on the harbour front you'll find Murray Premises Hotel. Nestled in the heart of St. John's business district, close to all amenities - restaurants (2 independent located inside the hotel), shopping, night life and tourist attractions. Murray Premises Hotel is walking distance from Mile One Centre, St. John's Convention Centre, Historic Signal Hill, and the exciting night life of George Street. All guest rooms have luxury items such as electric fireplaces, oversized whirlpool tubs, and towel warmers. The Hotel's Executive Rooms offer guests luxury accommodations with two-person air massage tubs, full-body showers, stone fireplaces, and heated floors. All guests can enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast in our private lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Murray Premises Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Premises St Johns
Hotel Murray Premises
Murray Premises Hotel Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing