We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay on our first visit to Newfoundland and St. John's.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Murray Premises Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay on our first visit to Newfoundland and St. John's.”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I spent a couple of too short days at the Murray. We travel fairly often and I have been to all ten Provinces in Canada and many beach resorts, and can honestly say that our stay at the Murray was one of the best for many reasons! The staff at the front desk were so very helpful! They even stored our fresh catch of cod in their freezer and did so with a smile. Anything we asked about we found a willing staff member to help. We simply cannot say enough about our room and the beautiful old and historical feel along with total modern and complete facilities, bedding (great comfy beds) and the view of the harbour. Add that to the convenience of the location and we cannot say enough! Would definitely be back on our next visit and do recommend a stay at the Murray.
Thanks to all for making our stay special!
Karen and Ed
Calgary

Room Tip: The view of the harbour, the older part of the facility and the tub! Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy50-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Karen and Ed,
Thanks for your lovely comments regarding your stay at Murray Premises Hotel. Thank you for the comments regarding the staff, it is great to know you found them so helpful. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    159
    51
    14
    4
See reviews for
36
291
19
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
404 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I absolutely love this place. I've stayed here twice now and both times have been great. The staff is very nice but the hotel rooms are just beautiful. They are built from old wood and are just so warm feeling.
Each room comes with a fire place for the colder months and the rooms are larger then average hotel rooms. The showers also come with a jet tub that hits the spot after a hard night of partying on George St a block away.
I love this place and will always try to get in here first when looking for a hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GRWLR51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you feel Murray Premises Hotel is the nicest hotel around! Thanks so much for posting your comments. We look forward to your next stay!
Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was our first trip to St. John's (well, to Newfoundland), and what a great introduction to the place and the people. The staff were friendly and helpful, the place is located right smack downtown, within walking distance of Water Street shops and restaurants, and George Street bars and clubs. All we wanted was slightly better weather, but you can hardly lay that at the feet of the hostelry. :)

Our room was comfortable and clean, and there were plenty of electrical outlets, for charging our various devices. Breakfast was good, too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding Murray Premises Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and helpful. Hopefully your next trip we can order up some better weather!
Many thanks
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I am presently in the hotel. This place is a wee gem, handy for everything entertainment wise in St John's.
Just wish I was staying longer. The staff are great and the hotel spotless. I have a suite. It's pretty big, the bed was very comfortable and a very large en suite. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sclarkdundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for posting your comments on Murray Premises Hotel while still here! We are delighted you enjoyed our little "Gem" Hopefully we'll have the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.
Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at Murray Premises August 2014 while the George Street Festival was on. We found the room to be lovely and very quiet and the front desk staff upon our arrival was so very welcoming and accommodating. Since the hotel is situated right downtown at the harbour front we were able to walk to restaurants, pubs and many of the local attractions. We were greeted warmly at the breakfast room each morning by Os who filled us in on what was happening around town and what attractions he thought we might enjoy. Overall, our stay at Murray Premises was one we look back on as making our Newfoundland experience one we will remember always.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review on Murray Premises Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and have certainly passed on your comments about Os to him, thank you for the lovely comments.
Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Loved the quiet simplicity of this hotel. The room, comfy, well- appointed and interesting with fab ensuite bathroom: a step to the wharf and to Water Street: the easy arrangement for a whale watch trip to Witless Bay:
the competence of the staff. Excellent and first class without the pretension of the large chains. We highly recommend Murray Premises.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westloveseast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Murray Premises Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we'll have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.
Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our hotel room preserved the historic feeling of the original building. In fact, it took my breath away upon entering it for the first time. Yes, it was dark but I loved the woodwork, quiet, bathroom and view. Slept great! Super location for exploring both the waterfront and the night life and quaint streets of St. John's. Breakfast was just okay, the seating ought to be changed to open up the food area more. Front desk staff was helpful.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor ( there are elevators) for the wood beamed, vaulted ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding Murray Premises Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, hopefully we'll have the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.
Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#14 of 22 in St. John's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Premises Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Premises Hotel

Property: Murray Premises Hotel
Address: Murray Premises 5 Beck's Cove | Box 208, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Murray Premises Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown St. John's on the harbour front you'll find Murray Premises Hotel. Nestled in the heart of St. John's business district, close to all amenities - restaurants (2 independent located inside the hotel), shopping, night life and tourist attractions. Murray Premises Hotel is walking distance from Mile One Centre, St. John's Convention Centre, Historic Signal Hill, and the exciting night life of George Street. All guest rooms have luxury items such as electric fireplaces, oversized whirlpool tubs, and towel warmers. The Hotel's Executive Rooms offer guests luxury accommodations with two-person air massage tubs, full-body showers, stone fireplaces, and heated floors. All guests can enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast in our private lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Murray Premises Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Premises St Johns
Hotel Murray Premises
Murray Premises Hotel Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing