We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be overshadowed by Signal Hill!”

Fort Amherst Lighthouse
Ranked #28 of 93 things to do in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not to be overshadowed by Signal Hill!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I cycled out to the Fort Amherst Lighthouse for a spectacular view of Cape Spear, the coast line and the icebergs parked off shore. The view back to St John's and up to Signal Hill were breath taking. I would highly recommend a trip out here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolandIra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    10
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“amazing view”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We went here a few days ago to see the icebergs. Even without the icebergs it`s a great view and was a nice little walk as well :-)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nickie_anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not Much Here”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is an easy walk from the parking lot - about 1 K. On a nice day, there is a great view of the ocean and of Signal Hill. I would go to Cape Speare before I went here, though.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

It's a little out of the way, the lighthouse isin't open and we went on a windy, rainy day but it was still very cool. The walk out there is pretty nice, there is a great view of Signal Hill, and it's nice to walk around and take some pictures. There are a few trails you can walk along and it's nice to stand there and see the amazing views.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
351 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“An outport in the heart of the city!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The lighthouse wasn't open but we didn't care. We loved the walk out to the lighthouse. It was necessary to park about a 1/2 mile from the light house. As we walked to our left across the harbor was Signal Hill with all the houses that seem to be built into the hill. Cabot Tower stood majestically above it all. Behind us were all kinds of vessels in St. John's Harbor. In front of us in the tiny road was a cute little village, like an outport in the center of the city. Once we passed by the houses, we had to climb a hill to get to the lighthouse. Upon arriving at the top, we were rewarded with spectacular views of the ocean, the lighthouse, Signal Hill, and Cape Spear -- and behind us was the harbor with all its vessels.

It's like a summary of Newfoundland that can all be seen from this one spot.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bcnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Amherst Lighthouse also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Fort Amherst Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing