We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Museum”

Railway Coastal Museum
Ranked #28 of 93 things to do in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Railway Coastal Museum is located at the site of the original Riverhead Train Station, built in 1903. In 2003 the building was re-purposed into a non-profit museum dedicated to interpreting the rich history of the Newfoundland Railway from its inception in the late 1800's to its closure in 1988, as well as the history of the provincial Coastal Boat Service.
Barrie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and i visited this museum on Regatta Day this year. We walked there from the Delta, very short distance. We were very impressed with all the history and information and found it all very interesting.! They did an excellent job of providing history on the provinces railway and shipping history. We spent close to 2 hours there. Small children however may not find it so interesting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank needingsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    17
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A big let down - expected more.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We visited the museum today with our 4 year old son who is a big fan of trains. I recognize that this place was built to provide interpretation into the province's railway history. However, I was very disappointed with the experience overall. Static displays and exhibits are no longer the way to go - this place needs an overhaul. Thank goodness I only paid $6 for the whole family through Groupon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Frances
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Boring”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This museum was boring. Nothing interactive, lots of signs saying not to touch anything. Expected a train or something we could climb into. There is a train across the street but you can't go into it or anything.

Went with kids 8 and 10 and there wasn't much for that age. Some Thomas trains for younger kids. That's about it.bpull.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopkinsbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Such an important part of Newfoundland history”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Railway and Coastal boat services linked isolated parts of Newfoundland. Located in the old railway station with a half car in its entire lenght to show dining, sleeper plus galley and the all important vital mail-service.
Very good interpretive panels, costumed figures in re-created scenes.
They have a model train village running, puppet shows for kids in the summer (3 times/week), a gift shop. Well worth a visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“interesting local history”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I love railways and have been to a couple railway museum. Newfoundland has a fascinating story to tell, building its own railway prior to entering confederation. Some of the exhibits, especially the cut-away train car showing activity in every section of a 1940's passenger train, are very interesting. The model railroad is really fun and fascinating, as they have built it to represent the geography of Newfoundland. I would rate this as only "good" thought (not quite "very good") due to the extreme amount of detail presented. The organizers are obviously extremely proud of their history, but for the outsider the extensive panels which detail all the people involved in decisions about whether or not to build, and the names of each coastal vessel, and the dates in which various things happened, are a bit too in depth. I would love some attention to the bigger picture - what is a narrow gauge railway, and why did they decide to go that route? There was a photo of them loading something onto the Nf cars - what work did the narrow gauge require in transfer points? What would have happened of the railway had not been built? What cargo was carried, and what did this contribute to the economy? Who designed the building? Overall, though, railway buffs will love this very interesting display of a unique railway system and the contribution it made to Newfoundland's history.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank path_in_a_snowy_wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Railway Coastal Museum also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Railway Coastal Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing