We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy beds, pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfy beds, pleasant stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked this only two days in advance and were so pleased with our choice. Comfy beds, clean bathroom and a decent breakfast. Would stay again. Staff was very helpful when discussing our sightseeing desires.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYTAPManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear CdnJulie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites St. John's Airport. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our staff were able to assist you with planning your sightseeing adventures.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Greg Ivany
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    92
    17
    14
    4
See reviews for
104
99
24
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This brand new Hampton Inn opened in December 2013. It is about 5 minutes from the airport and 10 minutes from downtown. It was custom-designed, so the rooms are spacious and stylish. Three suites are located at each end of the hallway. The hotel has five floors. The staff was friendly and helpful -- offered good restaurant ideas for dinner. A generous breakfast is included with each night's stay. Lots of free parking in front of the hotel, including about a dozen premium spaces for HHonors Diamond members.

Our flight from Newark was cancelled due to the plane's mechanical problems, as well as bad weather in St. John's. The hotel staff graciously accepted the cancellation of that night's stay at 5pm. We only stayed for two nights, but definitely want to return to this outstanding Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYTAPManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Merrily L,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your experience at our new hotel. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again when you visit the St. John's area.

Sincerely,

Greg Ivany
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with family. The hotel is fairly new, located near the airport, Trans-Canada Highway, and lots of retail stores. Room was spacious. But we continually experienced staff members who clearly didn't want to be there. It started at checkin where, after we waited in line for 10 minutes, the desk agent tried to push us to the back of the checkin line while simultaneously threatening that he was running out of rooms. Very rude. The cleaning staff did not do a very good job, either, forgetting to throw away the trash or clean the bathroom well. Finally, Heather (who was responsible for breakfast) had a terrible attitude. Breakfast goes until 10am. At 20 minutes before 10am, they were running out of lots of food and drinks. At 10 minutes before 10am I knocked on the door and Heather was there just talking to a colleague. I informed her of the situation. Her response was, "Breakfast is over in 5 minutes". Then she gave me attitude. Very rude, and disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aqualoaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYTAPManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear aqualoaf,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, and we apologize for your negative experience.

We take your feedback very seriously, and the service issues that you experienced have already been addressed. As you can see from our many positive reviews regarding customer service, we strive to exceed expectations and provide consistently high levels of service, and we apologize for missing the mark during your visit.

We hope to have you as a guest again in the near future, so that we can show you the exceptional service that we strive for.

Sincerely,

Greg Ivany
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

New property. Nice, clean rooms. Good elevator availability. Average Internet speed. Close to Airport and only a short walk to lots of shopping and eating. Good water pressure. Fairly quiet room, although obnoxious loud talkers in the hallway were easily heard. Room key card lasted all week without having to be reloaded. Good availability of complimentary coffee, fruit, water, mints in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYTAPManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Brent,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton In & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience with us, and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Greg Ivany
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
726 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We missed our flight, so we got in very late, but it was no problem. Note the hotel doesn't have a shuttle - they have a contract with a local taxi company and pick up the tab. The hotel is very close to the airport and just off the main highway, which worked out well for us. It's about 10 - 15 minutes to downtown, so you must have a rental car if you want to spend a lot of time in town or touring the countryside. The room was nice, with modern furniture. The bed was very big, and with all the other furniture (fridge, chair, desk, nightstands) there wasn't much room for a dresser. Only two drawers, but that was fine for us. We only tried the breakfast on the third day as we got in so late the first two nights. My wife liked the oatmeal and scrambled eggs. I'm not much of a breakfast eater, so a couple pieces of sausage was enough for me. The staff here were very friendly and helpful. The workout room was nice - 3 treadmills, an elliptical, a bike, free weights, and one weight machine. All the aerobic equipment had tv screens embedded, so you could choose your own show to watch (bring headphones). The pool looked nice, but I didn't see a hot tub. The Internet worked great - no problems there at all. The rooms were fairly quiet, even with many kids running up and down the halls on the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larryd6578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYTAPManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear larryd6578,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we are pleased to read your feedback.

We do apologize that our beautiful Mercedes 15 passenger Airport Shuttle Bus was unavailable to you during your arrival into the airport, but we are glad that we could still cover your transportation needs during your visit.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Greg Ivany
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night then two nights a few days later. We arrived very late from Los Angeles due to a missed connection in Toronto. We called the hotel from Toronto and they were very helpful and not fazed by our late arrival. When we arrived at St John's airport, the hotel shuttle was waiting for us. Was a very welcome sight at 1.30AM! Hotel was usual Hampton Inn standard, clean, comfortable, good size room. Location is about 10 minutes from downtown St John's, out in the suburbs. No restaurant in the hotel but restaurants close by - Boston Pizza is right next door and very good, also the ubiquitous Tim Horton's across the road. Close to a mall with Walmart and Target, and of course close to the airport

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzzieinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYTAPManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear OzzieinLA,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport. We are happy to have been successful in exceeding your expectations during your visit, and we are glad that you had the opportunity to take advantage of the many great amenities in our neighborhood. Boston Pizza next door also delivers right to our guest rooms at no additional charge, which is a great feature for those rainy or relaxation days.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Greg Ivany
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed for 4 nights without a car: hotel was very clean, staff were professional and friendly, and the room had everything we needed (fridge, microwave, ironing board and hair dryer). Breakfast each morning was great. Did not get a chance to use the pool, but it looked very clean. Also, there were laundry facilities, which is something that every hotel should have. Our only issue was that it was about a $20 cab ride each way to downtown (perhaps in the future they will offer a subsidized shuttle), however there was a bus stop right outside.

Would reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lockski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYTAPManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Lockski,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your great experience at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are glad to have exceeded your expectations with our high valued on site amenities such as our guest laundry room, as well as having microwaves and fridges in each of our well appointed rooms and suites.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you visit St. John's.

Warm regards,

Greg Ivany
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport
Address: 411 Stavanger Dr, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1A 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton St. John's Airport Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing