We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable beds, poor housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“comfortable beds, poor housekeeping”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our family stayed in 2 rooms for four nights. The hotel is fairly new, so the rooms and bathrooms are nicely decorated. Beds are really comfortable, lots of pillows. The morning breakfasts have a good selection, although 'gluten-free' is not accomodated.
It was really quiet. Our room faced out toward the motorway, but we didnt hear any traffic.
The housekeeping was poor. The bathtub had dirt rings, and we had never even used it for a bath, so it was from previous occupants -- that's just yucky. The sink was never washed out during our stay, spots remained on the tap and counters. The daily housekeeping was just making the beds and emptying the trash. Our family in the other room noticed the same thing.
If this hotel ups their game in the housekeeping dept, then it would be a terrific place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYTAPManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear farenough,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport.

Although we are happy that you were comfortable in our rooms, we are disappointed at the lack of service you received from our Housekeeping Department. These issues that you have mentioned have since been used to re-train each employee in our Housekeeping Department to ensure that all future guests receive the high standard cleaning that we expect.

Once again, we apologize for missing the mark during your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back when you visit St. John's again.

Sincerely,

Greg Ivany
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    96
    17
    14
    4
See reviews for
106
102
24
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My better 2/3 and myself stayed at this Hampton from July 18-22. On the positive side it had a good size room with comfortable beds. The staff as with most Newfoundlander are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is amongst the best I've ever had at a hotel of this ranking. There was a large variety of food and was well maintained by the staff. The negatives include the location which is convenient for the airport including complimentary shuttle. However it is about a $20.00 taxi ride to downtown St.John's. We had access to our son's car, however without transportation you are located in the suburbs far away from all of the sights and action in this wonderful city. Secondly, housekeeping failed to clean a spot outside our room door and also an area on the bathroom floor. These were obvious to us and we were surprised they were not promptly attended to. In summation, with a vehicle I would stay here again, however without independent transportation probably not.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank PaulTing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYTAPManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear PaulTing,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us on July 18-22.

We are happy to learn that you received superb customer service and breakfast during your stay, however we are disappointed to learn that the housekeeping service provided was less than expected. I assure you that we have taken actions to ensure that future guests do not experience this disappointment.

Once again we thank you for letting us know how we did, and look forward to your visit again in the future.

Warm regards,

Greg Ivany
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I booked in and stayed here for 4 nights recently. Very easy to get to from airport and minutes from really anything you need either locally or getting to other areas of the city. Super comfy beds and great morning breakfast!

Room Tip: Get a KING sized bed....always worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYTAPManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Lars,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the great amenities that we offer in and around our hotel.

We hope to see you again in the future when you visit the St. John's area.

Sincerely,

Greg Ivany
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel the night before flying out of St. John's. The reception desk attendant was very helpful to us and the shuttle bus driver to the airport in the morning was great! I found there were several things about the room that were annoying especially after a long day of travelling. The fan in the bathroom could not be turned off and made a loud noise that kept me awake. Even with the fan I could detect paint fumes. Everything in our room seemed to be geared to a very tall person - the shower was mounted so high that you couldn't adjust it and the hook on the back of the bathroom door was unreachable. The elevator especially for a new building seemed very shaky and was slow to respond. It was certainly a plus being so close to the airport but I would not automatically book here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank llu9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYTAPManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear IIu9,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy that our staff provided great customer service during your visit, however we are disappointed that your room fell below expectations. We have a number of different types of rooms, and we would have been happy to change you to a room type that you would have been more comfortable in.

We sincerely hope that you will return to the Hampton Inn & Suites again when you visit St. John's.

Warm regards,

Greg Ivany
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

friendly staff, clean and nice rooms, free breakfast can't go wrong with that. comes with free shuttle to and from the airport. highly recommended! its a little too far from downtown saint johns but its not that bad. the location is amazing regardless close to shops and restaurants and minutes to YYT airport

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Benjohn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYTAPManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear BenJohn,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport.

We are happy that you enjoy staying at our hotel when you visit St. John's, we love having you here as part of our extended family!

Sincerely,

Greg Ivany
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Arrived the night before our flight left from St. John's. Clean rooms with comfortable beds and within walking distances of restaurants and other shopping. Breakfast is unhurried and pleasant. Not much more you can ask for in this price range.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACanadianguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYTAPManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear ACanadianguy,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all of the amenities that we offer. It is wonderful that you were able to explore the many shops and restaurants located in our neighborhood as well.

We hope to see you again soon when you return to St. John's.

Warm regards,

Greg Ivany
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I cannot say enough about the staff! From check-in, to the ladies taking care of the breakfast area to the housekeeping staff - everyone was friendly & helpful. Our room was clean & comfortable! The pillows were perfect. The free wifi was a nice surprise! We enjoyed breakfast each morning...there was a nice variety to choose from each morning, but our hands down favorite was the WAFFLES! Hampton Inn is our new favorite!

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor facing the main road. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosaSmith1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYTAPManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear RosaSmith1965,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport.

We are thrilled that you had such a great experience at our new hotel. We train our staff to provide exceptional service to each and every guest and we are glad that you were no exception.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you visit St. John's again.

Sincerely,

Greg Ivany
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 22 in St. John's
266 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 22 in St. John's
685 reviews
Comfort Inn Airport
#10 of 22 in St. John's
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport
Address: 411 Stavanger Dr, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1A 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton St. John's Airport Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing