We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business meeting”
Review of Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Capital Hotel
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
St. Johns, Newfoundland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“business meeting”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

To have a room set to your expectations is certainly what one would expect, but to find a room that was setup with everything and more is another. Having attendees in the room and with little to no distraction takes team work and that is just what the staff portrayed while in our meeting room. Anything that was asked for over and above was delivered promptly and with a smile. Snack time and lunch proved to be a crowd pleaser which certainly helps when you are conduction an all day meeting.

Room Tip: Ensure to have adaquate Signage to indicate your meeting room location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llaite, General Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
I am so glad to hear that the meeting room was set the way you wanted. I believe that we have assembled a staff that are truly interested in making our guests feel welcomed and they are without a doubt willing to go above and beyond to ensure that our guests requests have been meet. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    38
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
32
27
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Deer Lake, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel is located in a great location, on Kenmount Road. We stayed here on August 5th to the 8th. It is very close to a variety of good restaurant's and excellent shopping. The staff are very friendly and will assist to your needs in a professional manner. The room we stayed in was clean, had a king bed and fridge to keep your food or drinks cool. Parking is free and usually not a problem to find a space. The restaurant located on the main floor serves very good food at reasonable prices. Overall a nice hotel and at a reasonable rate. Oh, it is also pet friendly. I would recommend this hotel for your next stay in St. John's.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindell0460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llaite, Front Office Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you so much for giving us a great review! Our staff is always happy to assist any of our valued guests with anything they need. We have a well-trained housekeeping staff, and we are happy that you recognized that during your stay. Being pet-friendly is something we are proud of, we gladly welcome all guests to our property, even the four-legged furry ones!! We hope that any guests you may have reccomnded us to, will enjoy the hotel as you did. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very poor customer service and they weren't too busy. Had to wait too long to get the meal and then it barely warm. Couldn't get the servers attention to order more drinks. Then couldn't get anyone to give us a bill. Went up to the desk and one of the servers (not ours) rummaged around until they found our order. The service used to be better but this was really unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llaite, Front Office Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We are so sorry to hear you had a bad experience at Jack's, it sounds like a lot of areas were not up to par during your visit. I would love for you to come back and see that our restaurant really is a wonderful place to dine here in St. Johns. We are so used to hearing fantastic reviews of the food and service, so this comes as a complete surprise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramichi, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. There were no microwaves or fridges in the rooms. If you wanted a fridge you were put on a waiting list. The beds were terrible. I'm sure they are not even a full double sized bed. We had a grand total of TWO facecloths in our room. When I asked for more they gave us ONE more. Nothing was replenished in the room. We had no cups for the coffee or tea, no glasses for other drinks. The restaurant food was not only terrible, but it was also over priced. They charged me almost ten dollars for a quart of milk to take up to my room. Since we had no cups in our room and were in a hurry in the mornings I went to the restaurant for tea and coffee which cost $4.50. I thought a continental breakfast was pretty much standard nowadays. Not at the Capital where they charge something like eight bucks for a continental breakfast. The elevator kept breaking. Our toilet broke. We were there for nationals so there was a big group of us. At 3am one morning the headboard fell off and hit one of the ladies in the head. Two of our guys got stuck in the elevator and had to pry it open. The room itself was expensive. No pool, no hot tub. In short, I would rather pitch a tent in a parking lot than stay here again. Of course the staff is nice, they have to make up for everything else.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccluskeytara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llaite, Front Office Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your review, we regret hearing that you had such an unpleasant experience. I can assure you that the issues you mentioned are not something we deal with on any type of regular basis, so we were pretty surprised when we read this review.

In regards to the fridges in rooms, we are about to begin renovations to each guest room which will include having a fridge available in every room. I can assure you that every double bed in our guest rooms is a full sized double bed. We certainly don't often hear negative reviews involving our restaurant in the way of the quality of food or the price, we are constantly getting great reviews in that area, so we are sorry you didn't have the same experience as most of our guests. As for the elevator, toilet and headboard all breaking during your stay, that is definately a first and not something we have to deal with generally.

Thank you for complimenting the staff, it sounds like you had a very unpleasant time here, so we are happy that the staff was able to help, they strive to make every guest's stay a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This hotel has been well used and needs a refresh. The carpets are not particularly clean and the meeting room I used hadn't seen a vacuum in a while. The service for the meeting area was marginal and the food service equipment was also well worn.

Front desk staff were cool (as in not very warm).

The Fairfield across the street is a better bet.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llaite, Front Office Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience here at the Capital Hotel. We are pleased to inform you that we are starting renovations in the very near future. We strive to stay fresh and maintain a desireable place for both meeting space and guest rooms alike. It is very rare that we get a negative review regarding our food service for meetings or luncheons, so we do apologize that yours wasn't up to par. I hope you take the above information into consideration when booking your next event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Glasgow, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This hotel used to be a dive, but its been recently renovated and well worth the price. There is nothing fancy about it, but definately on par with the best westerns/holiday inn selects i've stayed at. Staff were very friendly and always greeted me when i walked in the hotel or passed by a room that they were cleaning. Only downside would be that there is no breakfast included so I had to go across the street to starbucks to start the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenflyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llaite, Front Office Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We appreciate the wonderful comments made in regards to our property. We have done some work over the last while and have lots more starting late fall this year. Our housekeepers work hard to ensure each room is impeccable while also providing the same level of friendliness offered by our front desk, dining room and lounge staff. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gander, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Excellent service.. Check in/out fast and easy.. Restaurant service excellent. Good food, nice clean rooms. Located walking distance to Avalon Mall, hardware stores, Walmart and grocery Store. Everything is perfect! :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophienewfoundland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llaite, Front Office Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for the great review!! We love nothing more than to exceed our guests expectations at every avenue of their stay with us. It seems you were pleased with your stay, and we hope you join us for a night or two again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Ramada St. John's
#9 of 22 in St. John's
530 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
387 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hotel

Property: Capital Hotel
Address: 208 Kenmount Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 3R2, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capital Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel St Johns
Capital Hotel Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing