We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fit the bill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homeport Apartment Hotel
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Ottawa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fit the bill”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed in two separate suites with 3 other couples for a wedding in August. The units were clean, beds comfortable, and offered everything we needed. There is a Sobey's Grocery and liquor store about one block away, and a Tim Horton's across the street-so very convenient. With a less than $10 cab ride downtown, this was a budget friendly way to enjoy St.John's in tourism season.

Our only complaints--it was unusually warm the weekend we were in St.John's and the units only had fans, no a/c. I'm sure that's not usually a problem. Also, units at the front of the building were noiser with traffic sounds.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsWeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    47
    25
    9
    18
See reviews for
55
21
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

This is a very basic Apartment Style Suite. Our suite is clean but on the older side. Has a kitchen, living room bathroom and 2 bedrooms.

Internet is an Ethernet jack at the front door. So bring a long cable with you. If you want wireless you might want to bring your own router with you. But again you will need a long cable to get from the wall jack to a spot on near power.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ch3w13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stay in a one bedroom suite for 7 nights. There was all what we need: equipped kitchen, TV, internet, spacious living room, little dining area and spacious bedroom.
The staff was helpful. The location is good. It is near to the dowtown and near to the bus and supermarkets.
The suite was clean but it was very old. We didn't like the old blanket on our bed.
The suite was too hot. It is not air conditioned and the windows are little. And it was not a good idea to open window because we were near to the street. There was too many cars and so the noise was important.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite for 2 nights and couldn't fault it. Very comfortable and spacious. They even provided a percolator and ground coffee. On our last morning I asked for a late checkout as my husband had been ill during the night. We got an extension at no extra cost. The cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful - much better than anything we have come across in the UK. We would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The Good: (1) Some recent renovations like crown moulding or baseboards and fresh paint help to spruce up this otherwise visibly aged complex, (2) Spacious master bedroom and general living space, (3) Lots of parking and central to the city.

The Bad: (1) NO A/C or fan/cooling unit! Two floor fans are provided but are far from the answer. If staying here during a heat spell – beware of extreme heat! (2) Lots of noises. The floors creek, voices from other units carry, closing of doors are heard, (3) No elevators for those in need.

The Ugly: (1) Dated and dingy upholstery on the sofas and chairs in the main living area, (2) Countertops in kitchen renovated but cupboards still very difficult and ill equipped with cooking/ kitchen gear, (3) Lingering odours.

Room Tip: Anywhere on the top floor so to minimize overhead noise and closing of entrance door on main level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blair155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

It is greatto stay somewhere when I am travelling that feels like a home istead of the usual hotel, especially when I am going to be away for more than 2 nights. Each little apt has its own kitchen, little dining area and living room. The rooms are always spotless when I am there and I cannot say enough about how great the staff are. While the place looks like an apt building instead of a traditional hotel, in a way, that is what it serves as! I can walk to Tim Hortons, the Grocery Store, or small restuarants, just by walking out the front door! When you stay here, you are not going to get the boutique experience, because it is not a boutique hotel,, but if you are looking for a little home away form home. or a place to stay with a family that is affordable, then I recommend this place.

Room Tip: I stay here on every trip to St. John's...I prefer to stay in the building where the main office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepywillow49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Hillview Terrace got us through a difficult time between homes. We had our two large dogs and a cat with us so our options were quite limited.
We were given one of the pet-friendly suites in the basement floor of the building - which is very convenient when with dogs. It was fairly quiet.
The suite itself was not done up as nicely as some of the non-pet-friendly suites but it suited our needs. The 1 bedroom suite only had a double bed which takes some getting used to for two people.
It is a small apartment and we were glad to get into our home but it got us through 3 weeks.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahbackinNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
2.5 mi away
Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown
2.2 mi away
The Guv'nor Inn
The Guv'nor Inn
#19 of 22 in St. John's
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Johns
Holiday Inn St. Johns
#17 of 22 in St. John's
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport
3.7 mi away
Ramada St. John's
Ramada St. John's
#8 of 22 in St. John's
518 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeport Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeport Apartment Hotel

Property: Homeport Apartment Hotel
Address: 3 Wadland Cres | Building 4A, Suite 202, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1A 2J5, Canada (Formerly Hillview Terrace Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Homeport Apartment Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homeport Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview Terrace Hotel St. John`s
Homeport Apartment Hotel Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing