We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hometel on Signal Hill
Ranked #8 of 23 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent location and great value!”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Fantastic location at the base of Signal Hill and only minutes walk from downtown. The staff were very friendly, and the price was excellent value for a clean, comfortable room, breakfast and phone calls. I agree with other comments that the breakfast area is very small, but this is only a minor issue. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Empyrerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    93
    23
    16
    5
See reviews for
22
89
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I was in St. John's on business for the month of March and was recommended to Hometel from a co-worker. When I called to inquire about monthly rates I spoke with Norma who was extremely friendly and helpful. She said the rate included breakfast, parking, wireless Internet and free long distance calling anywhere in North America. How great of a deal is that? Upon arriving I was given the rundown on where everything was, what time breakfast would be served and where to park. Continental breakfast consisted of juice, coffee, fresh muffins, breads, hot & cold cereal, boiled eggs and fresh fruit..... basically something for everyone. Since I flew home on the weekends I recommened Hometel to the guy sitting next to me on the plane going back to St. John's one Monday morning. He ended up cancelling his reservation at another hotel in the city and stayed at Hometel. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay while working in Newfoundland and would recommend it to anyone that needs a place for short term or long term stay. And did I mention how great the staff was? Always friendly, great with recommendations for food or entertainment or just enjoyable chit chat in the morning. Will definitely stay here again on my next trip to St. John's.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMCCOMBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I am thrilled with my stay at Hometel. Rooms are in brand 3 story townhouses. They are clean, well decorated, and beds are very comfortable. Bathrooms are spotless and closet space is big. Parking is free and so is wifi and telephone. Located next to Signal Hill, but a good 10 min walk from bars and cafes of downtown. Prices excellent and cannot say enough how clean, fresh, and trendy rooms are. WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2011

This place was a very warm and inviting stay for lone traveler looking to get a feel for St. John's during Christmas. Located at the base of Signal Hill, I was able to take in a lot of the sights that make the city so memorable. Beds and bedding were clean and soft. Rooms and common areas were absolutely spotless and a decorated Christmas tree was the perfect finishing touch for someone who would be traveling during the holidays. A small breakfast is prepared for you including muffins, toast, coffee and juice. As well, staff was friendly and very knowledgeable about what to see, where to go and how to truly experience St. John’s. One final surprise was that rooms were equipped with free internet and long distance; a rarity in any hotel these days.
Amazing spot to stay - will be returning with group very soon!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTrav3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

I booked the hotel on a combined Air Canada flight-hotel package -- got a remarkably low rate for the hotel. A great deal.
As to the hotel itself, I was quite impressed. It is a small three story hotel. The rooms are in great shape, the hotel is centrally located, the staff are responsive. Included with the price were a free breakfast (toast, muffins, cereal, hardboiled eggs, coffee, juice, etc), free internet, and free local and long distance phone calls -- the latter two set the hotel apart.
The building feels like an extended town hoast, with separate entrances to each three story setion -- be warned that there are no elevators.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breeze_of_wind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stayed for a week of both sightseeing, some business and a wedding - very friendly staff, we arrived early and got into our room no problem. Nice breakfast every day (it does get crowded when the rooms are full as they were at the end of the week), and constantly helping with ideas, directions, asking if things were good.
Certainly the room we had was fairly small but we were not in St Johns to sit in a hotel room. It can be somewhat noisy with traffic within each unit, maybe more carpeting or padding would help.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopherrmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, NB
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

A great alternative to the traditional hotel. The room was reasonably priced for what you receive. Bed was comfortable and linens clean. Not alot of room to move around the room as it contains just a bed, dresser and side tables. The breakfast was a couple of doors down at another building and was well stocked and fresh.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
556 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
379 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 22 in St. John's
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 22 in St. John's
685 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hometel on Signal Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hometel on Signal Hill

Property: Hometel on Signal Hill
Address: 10 St. Joseph's Lane, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1A 5V1, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hometel on Signal Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled safely downtown on historic Signal Hill - Newfoundland's # 1 Tourist attraction. Steps to Cathedrals, Theatres, Museums, Fine Restaurants, Shopping and St.John's Harbour. Flexible check-ins, luxurious bathrooms with extensive lighting, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, soaker tubs, hi-speed internet, computers and faxes, luxurious linens, scrumptious breakfast, free long distance. free local calls, free parking, air conditioning, ultimate cable 62 channels, in-room mini fridge, free daily local and national newspapers. Unbeatable off season rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hometel on Signal Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hometel On Signal Hill Hotel St. John`s
Hometel On Signal Hill Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing