We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”
Review of Super 8 St Johns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 St Johns
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TracyMacDonald, General Manager at Super 8 St Johns, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

My flight out was delayed by weather. The front staff was great in helping me make the changes I need to cover the changes. I found the breakfast area cramped, but that was likely a result of the renovations. I will have to try again when it's done. Room was a bit noisy, but near the pool so understandable.My biggest issue was with the TV remotes. They were not working well the whole stay. Front desk staff mentioned it has been an issue since the power outages in January. Might want to get those replaced along with the receivers on the back of the TV's themselves..

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool area which would be rooms ending 01-05.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munseahawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Been to this location several times and is by far one of the better places to stay in St. John's. Staff are great and are quite accommodating to say the least. Very clean and up kept, especially for a Super 8, you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Very close to the airport but also close to major arteries around town (Prince Philip, Outer Ring Road/TCH, Torbay Road, Just a few mins north of down town etc) so travelling to and from is not a hindrance.

Nothing negative to say other than parking can sometimes be a bit tight, the overflow is a little inconvenient but they seem to be working on that.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Room was very small and I could not get the heat adjusted properly so it made it uncomfortable.

The worse part of it was that the walls and floors seem to be thin, so I heard people walking around in the room above me late into the night and early the next morning. This has to be one of the worse hotels I have stayed in in a long time for poor noise level, and I stay in hotels about 85 nights a year.

Also, I thought the price was high compared to other places in St. John's.

Room Tip: If you stay here ask for a room on the top floor to try and avoid some of the noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler06232009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyMacDonald, General Manager at Super 8 St Johns, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest, Please accept my apologies that your stay was inconvenienced by noise during your stay. Thank you for providing the suggestion of staying on the fourth floor to future guests who might be sensitive to noise levels. We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Harvey H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TracyMacDonald, General Manager at Super 8 St Johns, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Brandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TracyMacDonald, General Manager at Super 8 St Johns, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Devon K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Holiday Inn St. Johns
#18 of 23 in St. John's
214 reviews
Comfort Inn Airport
#9 of 23 in St. John's
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada St. John's
#10 of 23 in St. John's
543 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 23 in St. John's
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 St Johns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 St Johns

Address: 175 Higgins Line, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 4N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. John's
#4 Business Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £87 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Super 8 St Johns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 80 guestrooms to choose from, including junior suites, Jacuzzi suites and kid’s suites, check in and check out Super 8 Motel St. John’s. We’re the first choice where most travelers stay for hotels and motels in St. John’s, NL. Why? It could be our great rooms, featuring super comfortable beds, modern furnishings, mini-fridge and microwave. Perhaps it’s our free Super Start breakfast or complimentary high-speed Internet access. Maybe it’s our shimmering indoor heated pool with waterslide, water mushroom and hot tub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 St Johns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight St. John's
Super 8 St. John's
St. John's Super 8
St. John's Super Eight
Super 8 St Johns Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing